The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 05:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
I can see that angle, but also we could say we know that the ball is still live during the shot and no TC at this point. At the moment the ball is dead, made basket by A allowd B to become entitled Satifying part b. of 4-36-2

However one could also say that once the new throw in begins ball is live, no TC,then whistle for the foul and ball is dead with no TC?

Guys, I'm arguing just as much with myself on this one.
You're right, the made basket is the entitlement.

"During a throwin"....

Never mind.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You're right, the made basket is the entitlement.

"During a throwin"....

Never mind.
Never mind what?

I'm trying to learn here.

"Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods. b) A free throw or throw in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

The first part of B tells me how (In OP the throw in was interupted during a throw in, so we restart with a throw in, nothing more nothing less)

The second part tells who if there is entitlement. I am making the case that A's entitlement is over once the ball becomes live.

Last edited by eyezen; Tue Jan 06, 2009 at 05:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 05:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Never mind what?
I quit. I'll let you argue with yourself. I have a game to go to.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
The second part tells who if there is entitlement. I am making the case that A's entitlement is over once the ball becomes live.
A's entitlement doesn't end until the throw-in ends (legally or by A's violation). They're entitled to a throw-in, not merely to a live ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1