![]() |
A1 EITHER PASSES HIGH (OFF DRIBBLE) OR SHOOTS HIGH. BALL HITS BACK BOARD (NO RIM), COMING BACK TO HIM WITHOUT HITTING FLOOR. A1 CONTINUES DRIBBLE AND PUTS IN A LAYUP. I CALLED DOUBLE DRIBBLE. ISN'T THE BACKBOARD PART OF THE FLOOR???
|
I don't have my rule book in front of me, but I believe that the shot attempt ends the dribble. That would be a hard one to sell!!!
|
This seems to fall into the same category as rebounding your own airball, only less controversial. If the referee determines that it was a legitimate shot attempt, it should not be a double dribble. If it appears to be a pass off the backboard gone awry, it is a double dribble. The interpretation of what the player was doing should be the key in this situation.
|
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hawks Coach on 02-27-2000 10:16 PM
This seems to fall into the same category as rebounding your own airball, only less controversial. If the referee determines that it was a legitimate shot attempt, it should not be a double dribble. If it appears to be a pass off the backboard gone awry, it is a double dribble. The interpretation of what the player was doing should be the key in this situation.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> It would seem that way, but it's not true. The ball contacting the backboard is the same as hitting the floor, except that hiotting your own backboard is *not* the start of a dribble. So, in this case, no violation, no judgment needed. See case 4.15.4C, especially part (c). |
I agree with Jenkins. According to rule book it is only a violation if you dribble, then throw it off the opponents backboard (obviously when you are in backcourt), then catch it and dribble it again. In the situation you described there is no violation.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am. |