The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wrong team inbounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50697-wrong-team-inbounds.html)

just another ref Sun Jan 04, 2009 07:06pm

Wrong team inbounds
 
This is one of those that we all know is wrong, but it sure looks right when you see it happen. Black knocked the ball out. Everybody knew it. Official called it and signaled correctly. Then, the next thing we know, black has the ball, dribbling past white's bench. This, as you might expect, brought a reaction from white's coach. "Whoa, wait a minute! It's our ball!" Official blew the whistle, went back to the end line, and gave the ball back to white. Most rules, I at least understand the theory, but this one? If this is caught before there is a change in team control, why would this not be a good one to add to the correctable error list.

Also, for those who wouldn't T the guy for being in the middle of the court trying to get his timeout, "because of our mistake," I imagine you would often get the opportunity to call one here. Would you also pass on this one?

Nevadaref Sun Jan 04, 2009 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 564347)
This is one of those that we all know is wrong, but it sure looks right when you see it happen. Black knocked the ball out. Everybody knew it. Official called it and signaled correctly. Then, the next thing we know, black has the ball, dribbling past white's bench. This, as you might expect, brought a reaction from white's coach. "Whoa, wait a minute! It's our ball!" Official blew the whistle, went back to the end line, and gave the ball back to white. Most rules, I at least understand the theory, but this one? If this is caught before there is a change in team control, why would this not be a good one to add to the correctable error list.

Also, for those who wouldn't T the guy for being in the middle of the court trying to get his timeout, "because of our mistake," I imagine you would often get the opportunity to call one here. Would you also pass on this one?

Sorry, coach. :(:o We screwed up, but can't fix it now.

THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE
*7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The
administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1’s disposal. B1 completes the
throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be
made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends.


Would you T the opposing coach for complaining, if he knew the rule and was aware that you were screwing his team?

just another ref Sun Jan 04, 2009 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 564349)

Would you T the opposing coach for complaining, if he knew the rule and was aware that you were screwing his team?


There are many different forms of "complaining."

derwil Sun Jan 04, 2009 07:59pm

We all complain about Nevada but he hasn't T'ed us up yet......

Yet. :D

Nevadaref Sun Jan 04, 2009 08:04pm

Ok, that does it.
Whack! :D

just another ref Sun Jan 04, 2009 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 564349)
Sorry, coach. :(:o We screwed up, but can't fix it now.

THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE
*7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The
administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1’s disposal. B1 completes the
throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be
made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends.


Would you T the opposing coach for complaining, if he knew the rule and was aware that you were screwing his team?

Dangerous to guess about what coaches do or do not know, but I'm betting that most do not know this rule. With that in mind, if our job was to keep the peace, and "bend the rules" when necessary to do so, (BUT IT ISN'T) I think the safe play is to give it back to white.

In the OP, I did not notice any reaction from black's coach.

Adam Sun Jan 04, 2009 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 564347)
Also, for those who wouldn't T the guy for being in the middle of the court trying to get his timeout, "because of our mistake," I imagine you would often get the opportunity to call one here. Would you also pass on this one?

I would T the coach in the play you're discussing, but I'm also going to give the coach a little leeway here.

This one gets prevented by communication between officials.

Also, right or wrong, I don't like the rule on this one either. Then again, I've never made this mistake (that I know of).

A Pennsylvania Coach Mon Jan 05, 2009 07:28am

Once when I coaching I sent in a sub between two free throws. We made the second and the sub, who must not have had her head in the game, grabbed the ball and took it out. An opponent was there too but she decided she was wrong so she backed off. We threw it in to a senior who knew which end was which, and she SHOT AND MISSED TWICE before the officials realized something was wrong. They whistled it and gave it back to our opponents.

Is anyone saying they would, in the above situation having recognized the problem at the same time as the officials in my game, let the play go and watch us continue to shoot and maybe even score?

bob jenkins Mon Jan 05, 2009 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 564550)
Once when I coaching I sent in a sub between two free throws. We made the second and the sub, who must not have had her head in the game, grabbed the ball and took it out. An opponent was there too but she decided she was wrong so she backed off. We threw it in to a senior who knew which end was which, and she SHOT AND MISSED TWICE before the officials realized something was wrong. They whistled it and gave it back to our opponents.

Is anyone saying they would, in the above situation having recognized the problem at the same time as the officials in my game, let the play go and watch us continue to shoot and maybe even score?


Having the wrong team inbound the ball after a basket is different from having the wrong team inbound the ball after a violation (or foul). On one it's too late to correct; on the other it isn't.

A Pennsylvania Coach Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 564563)
Having the wrong team inbound the ball after a basket is different from having the wrong team inbound the ball after a violation (or foul). On one it's too late to correct; on the other it isn't.

That is a fair difference between the two situations. Now I've got to ask the next question: When would it be too late to correct the situation I described? If one of the first two shot attempts went in, could those points come off the board?

mbyron Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 564579)
That is a fair difference between the two situations. Now I've got to ask the next question: When would it be too late to correct the situation I described? If one of the first two shot attempts went in, could those points come off the board?

Awarding an unmerited free throw is a correctable error. Fix it within the usual time-frame for correctable errors, including removing points from unmerited free-throws..

Adam Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 564591)
Awarding an unmerited free throw is a correctable error. Fix it within the usual time-frame for correctable errors, including removing points from unmerited free-throws..

He's not talking about a free throw. :)

just another ref Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:44pm

10.1.8

rwest Mon Jan 05, 2009 01:20pm

Huh?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 564563)
Having the wrong team inbound the ball after a basket is different from having the wrong team inbound the ball after a violation (or foul). On one it's too late to correct; on the other it isn't.

This isn't a correctable error. Once the inbounds is completed, I don't know of any rule that allows us to correct it, whether its from a foul, violation or made basket. If you have a rule reference, I'd like to have it so I could read it and improve my understanding.

just another ref Mon Jan 05, 2009 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 564654)
this isn't a correctable error. Once the inbounds is completed, i don't know of any rule that allows us to correct it, whether its from a foul, violation or made basket. If you have a rule reference, i'd like to have it so i could read it and improve my understanding.

10.1.8

BillyMac Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:19pm

For Coaches, And Fanboys, Without Casebooks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 564696)
10.1.8

just another ref: Good citation.

*10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situationif it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 10-1-5d)

deecee Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 564789)
just another ref: Good citation.

*10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situationif it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 10-1-5d)

Yes but it does not apply to the OP as the last line is specific that this only APPLIES in this specific case.

But I would not take this back as once the ball is in play we cannot fix it. I will also give the coach a bit more rope than I might normally as I clearly kicked it and I will allow him to vent a bit extra within reason. This has never happened to me and I dont plan on it. But in times when I have screwed up and a coach asks me I tell him that I think I kicked it. If it really hurt him a lot then he will let me know that he's upset, and none have ever crossed the line. But the admission of fault usually is taken with an understanding tone from coaches. Of course I only screw up once! I try and be honest with coaches whenever I can but thats just me personally and I DONT expect the same in return from them.

rwest Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:28pm

I learned something new today!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 564789)
just another ref: Good citation.

*10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situationif it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 10-1-5d)


Thanks for posting this. I was going to have to wait until I got home to look this up.

Adam Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 564793)
Yes but it does not apply to the OP as the last line is specific that this only APPLIES in this specific case.

Maybe, but it does answer a very specific question from this thread.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1