The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inadvertant Whistle - What to do? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50689-inadvertant-whistle-what-do.html)

referee99 Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:12pm

Inadvertant Whistle - What to do?
 
2 man crew, I'm lead away from table.
Player A1 receives pass in the post, turns to shoot, jumps to shoot, but realizes that B2 will block their shot. Player A1 immediately has that body language of "oh crap, I'm done for", but BEFORE they alight with the ball, someone (B1 or B2?) reaches in from below and pops the ball out of A1's hands. Unfortunately for me, my whistle apparently went off anticipating A1's return to the floor and the traveling violation.

So, I'm standing on the endline with hand raised. Partner is moving towards the other end (thinking travel -- as, I imagine, everyone in the gym was thinking too) and I'm just standing there sorting out what to do.

So, I had an inadvertent whistle with Team Control by Team A. Team A ball -- endline. I now know this, but no one else in the building does. How to communicate to partner & coaches what we have? Step out to free throw line extended and yell? Caucus with partner and switch, giving me a chance to communicate with coaches? Get ball in play as quickly as possible and communicate later? Just call the traveling violation and look for a make-up call? :eek::eek:

I'll tell you I felt about a thousand miles from the table. So, looking for a good communication technique on IW.

shishstripes Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:44pm

Better to take away the confusion of what you're doing and why. Get with your partner and explain to the coaches like one of your suggestions. I might even yell "Inadvertent whistle, white is still in team control, white ball," and point to the location.

Make-up call, no way...Two wrongs do not make a right.

Be patient and see the whole play.

ma_ref Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 564203)
So, I had an inadvertent whistle with Team Control by Team A. Team A ball -- endline. I now know this

Actually, you kicked this one, too. You said some player knocked the ball loose, which immediately preceeded your inadvertant whistle. Loose ball means you go to the arrow in this situation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 564203)
Just call the traveling violation and look for a make-up call?

This is probably the worst thing you could do. 2 wrongs don't make a right. Get together with your partner, tell him/her what you have. Then call both coaches together, explain your situation, and move on.

referee99 Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ma_ref (Post 564222)
Actually, you kicked this one, too. You said some player knocked the ball loose, which immediately preceeded your inadvertant whistle. Loose ball means you go to the arrow in this situation.


This is probably the worst thing you could do. 2 wrongs don't make a right. Get together with your partner, tell him/her what you have. Then call both coaches together, explain your situation, and move on.

I would debate you on the Team Control issue. Team B never gained it. Team A never lost it.

I was hoping the double eek :eek::eek: in the OP would suggest I was being facetious. No make-up calls.

referee99 Sun Jan 04, 2009 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 564217)
Better to take away the confusion of what you're doing and why. Get with your partner and explain to the coaches like one of your suggestions. I might even yell "Inadvertent whistle, white is still in team control, white ball," and point to the location.

I did the step out and yell, but I felt like both benches were still confused. Didn't have a sense of resolution.

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 564217)
Be patient and see the whole play.

Rinse and repeat. I have since changed whistles. Last one seemed prone to going off early.

ma_ref Sun Jan 04, 2009 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 564225)
I would debate you on the Team Control issue. Team B never gained it. Team A never lost it.

Looking at my rule book I think you're correct. Obviously an IW isn't ideal, but it just seems like arrow in this situation is more appropriate rather than team B getting hosed for making a good defensive play.

eyezen Sun Jan 04, 2009 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ma_ref (Post 564222)
Actually, you kicked this one, too. You said some player knocked the ball loose, which immediately preceded your inadvertent whistle. Loose ball means you go to the arrow in this situation.

Looks like ma_ref is the one doing the kicking.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ma_ref (Post 564232)
Looking at my rule book I think you're correct. Obviously an IW isn't ideal, but it just seems like arrow in this situation is more appropriate rather than team B getting hosed for making a good defensive play.

So you're going to set aside what you just read in the rule book and do your own thing?

refnrev Sun Jan 04, 2009 03:18pm

Tap your chest a few times and say loudly inadvertent whistle while facing the table and coaches. They'll get the message. ("My bad!") But don't cover it up with a made up violation.

mutantducky Sun Jan 04, 2009 03:51pm

Can subs be let in after the inadvertent whistle? little blurb in the paper today about NCAA WCC refs getting suspended for allowing them in the final minute which isn't allowed.

bob jenkins Sun Jan 04, 2009 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 564285)
Can subs be let in after the inadvertent whistle? little blurb in the paper today about NCAA WCC refs getting suspended for allowing them in the final minute which isn't allowed.

In FED, the subs are allowed anytime the ball is dead and the clock is stopped. Not true in NCAA.

eyezen Sun Jan 04, 2009 04:20pm

Yes in Fed, no in NCAA in the last 59.9 3-4-6-a

Adam Sun Jan 04, 2009 05:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ma_ref (Post 564232)
Looking at my rule book I think you're correct. Obviously an IW isn't ideal, but it just seems like arrow in this situation is more appropriate rather than team B getting hosed for making a good defensive play.

Go with what the rule says, please.

ma_ref Sun Jan 04, 2009 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 564243)
So you're going to set aside what you just read in the rule book and do your own thing?

No that's not what I said. I looked at the rule book for the correct rule. What seems like the correct thing to do and what is the correct thing to do are often 2 very different things, as is this case.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 04, 2009 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ma_ref (Post 564314)
No that's not what I said. I looked at the rule book for the correct rule. What seems like the correct thing to do and what is the correct thing to do are often 2 very different things, as is this case.

What seems correct is only a problem for those who don't know the rule. To everyone else what is actually correct seems correct. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1