The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Fumble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50561-fumble.html)

Adam Fri Dec 26, 2008 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 561867)
That's his way of letting you know that text message format is not popular/accepted by some of the more anal members here. FYI.

Fixed it for you.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 561864)
That's the key ... he can't get it if the officials judges it to be a pass - only if it was a fumble.

If he does get it and the official judges it to be a pass - what is the violation called?

Double/illegal dribble. 7.1.1 Situation D.

mbyron Sat Dec 27, 2008 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 561888)
My keyboard really caused me problems Christmas day. Everytime I tried to type (input) an a, e, i, o, or u, the keyboard would stick and I'd end up with five or six of those letters all strung together. I took my keyboard into the local computer tech today, and he diagnosed it as "irritable vowel syndrome." He fixed it.
Sorry. :D

Could also have been any one of the Slavic languages. ;)

BillyMac Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:12pm

For Coaches, And Fanboys, Without Casebooks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 561914)
Double/illegal dribble. 7.1.1 Situation D.

7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)

Johnny Ringo Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:18pm

Returning in bounds: One foot in NFHS and two feet in NCAA ... is this correct?

Nevadaref Sat Dec 27, 2008 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 561989)
Returning in bounds: One foot in NFHS and two feet in NCAA ... is this correct?

No.

Johnny Ringo Sun Dec 28, 2008 01:49am

Ok then .... what part was true and what part was false?

JugglingReferee Sun Dec 28, 2008 01:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 561952)
Could also have been any one of the Slavic languages. ;)

Hey! I resemble that remark!

mbyron Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 562060)
Ok then .... what part was true and what part was false?

Inbounds player: something in and nothing out. Doesn't have to be a foot in either case (in or out).

Adam Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 562077)
Inbounds player: something in and nothing out. Doesn't have to be a foot in either case (in or out).

And never has to be two feet.

BillyMac Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:38am

One Ponytail Out, Or One Pigtail Out ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 562077)
Inbounds player: something in and nothing out. Doesn't have to be a foot in either case (in or out).

Moderately off topic, but this reminded me of a play I had yesterday. A few girls on the ground, near the endline, going for loose ball. As lead, I'm watching for a foul, a travel, or a held ball, when one of the players grabbing for the ball has her long ponytail brush out of bounds. Easy call. A few parents who were sitting in line with the endline questioned me during a timeout. They had no problem with my explanation that the ponytail is a part of the player's body, and in the case of two pigtails, only one pigtail needs to be out of bounds for the player to be out of bounds.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:05pm

2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: A1 recovers a loose ball on the playing court near the sideline, with his/her body entirely in bounds. However, A1's head is hovering out of bounds and his/her hair (which is in a long ponytail) is touching the floor, out of bounds. RULING: A1 is called for the out-of-bounds violation. (7-1-1; 7-1-2; 9-3-1)

BillyMac Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:21pm

That's Amazing ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 562111)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Less than thirty minutes to find an interpretation that's three years old.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:23pm

Sorry, I didn't see your post until 9AM PST. :D

BillyMac Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:35pm

Spring Ahead, Fall Back; Or Spring Back, Fall Ahead ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 562120)
Sorry, I didn't see your post until 9AM PST.

So you answered my post before I made it? You're good, but not that good. I guess I'm confused. That cross the International Date Line, ten-second count situation, gives me a headache every time it comes up. Let's see, the Sun comes up in the East, and winds curve to the right in the Northern Hemisphere, and moss grows on the North side of trees, but a rolling stone gathers no moss, and now all of Indiana uses daylight saving time, and there are twenty-nine days in February in a leap year, and ... Forget it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1