The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What do you have... Strange play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50318-what-do-you-have-strange-play.html)

Juulie Downs Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 557941)
6-1-2b: The ball becomes live when on a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.

4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal.

Thinking about how I"ve called this in the past, and the OP, I'd say the ball was probably "available" when the foul happened. However, whose judgment counts? If the new trail (on the endline) hasn't yet started the count, maybe he thinks it wasn't "available". So is it his opinion or mine?

just another ref Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 557958)
Thinking about how I"ve called this in the past, and the OP, I'd say the ball was probably "available" when the foul happened. However, whose judgment counts? If the new trail (on the endline) hasn't yet started the count, maybe he thinks it wasn't "available". So is it his opinion or mine?


If you called the foul, I would say it's yours.

Juulie Downs Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 557959)
If you called the foul, I would say it's yours.

Hmmm.....

Gonna have to think about that a little. So I call it personal. P comes in and says, "Ball wasn't available yet, it's a T". Or we've got a double whistle, with P signalling the T. Is this just standard team disagreement? Someone gives, the other one takes it to the table?

just another ref Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 557960)
Hmmm.....

Gonna have to think about that a little. So I call it personal. P comes in and says, "Ball wasn't available yet, it's a T". Or we've got a double whistle, with P signalling the T. Is this just standard team disagreement? Someone gives, the other one takes it to the table?

If you call a personal, he has no authority to set aside your call. Double whistle disagreement, according to all the blarge people, I guess you have to charge both.

Skarecrow Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 557962)
If you call a personal, he has no authority to set aside your call. Double whistle disagreement, according to all the blarge people, I guess you have to charge both.

I am new to this board as you can tell from the number of postings, but I have to tell you, that here in Utah, we'd get slaughtered as refs if we dared to call a "blarge." That's like two cars crashing in the intersection...one has to be red and the other green...can't both be guilty of a foul on the same play.....at least, not in Northern Utah....

Juulie Downs Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 557962)
If you call a personal, he has no authority to set aside your call. Double whistle disagreement, according to all the blarge people, I guess you have to charge both.

That's ridiculous. Can't call the same player for BOTH a personal AND a technical on the same play!! This isn't like a blarge at all. It's like a double whistle with one ref calling PC and the other a travel.

just another ref Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skarecrow (Post 557963)
I am new to this board as you can tell from the number of postings, but I have to tell you, that here in Utah, we'd get slaughtered as refs if we dared to call a "blarge." That's like two cars crashing in the intersection...one has to be red and the other green...can't both be guilty of a foul on the same play.....at least, not in Northern Utah....

You're preaching to the choir here, my friend.

BillyMac Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:45pm

The Beehive State ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Skarecrow (Post 557963)
I am new to this board as you can tell from the number of postings, but I have to tell you, that here in Utah, we'd get slaughtered as refs if we dared to call a "blarge." That's like two cars crashing in the intersection...one has to be red and the other green...can't both be guilty of a foul on the same play.....at least, not in Northern Utah....

So in Northern Utah, when the lead blows his whistle, puts up a fist, puts his hand behind his head, and calls, "Player control", and at exactly the same time, the trail blows his whistle, puts up a fist, puts both hands on his hips, and calls, "Block", what do you do, by rule, next? And no fair answering that double whistles should have been covered in pregame, because even if it was, it happened, and now you have to deal with it, as NFHS rules dictate.

Skarecrow Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 557968)
So in Northern Utah, when the lead blows his whistle, puts up a fist, puts his hand behind his head, and calls, "Player control", and at exactly the same time, the trail blows his whistle, puts up a fist, puts both hands on his hips, and calls, "Block", what do you do, by rule, next? And no fair answering that double whistles should have been covered in pregame, because even if it was, it happened, and now you have to deal with it, as NFHS rules dictate.

Reality....Pregame, we discuss the "blarge" and the double whistle, and after we quickly eyeball each other, the Trail will normally defer to the Lead, since the play is coming at him....and not show his foul signal....therefore, there might be a double whistle, but only one foul shown to the teams and the fans...Isn't it true that only one of them is wrong? You can't really have a block if the B Player has a LGP....If he moved into place too late, bang him with the block....My opinion, but again we don't "blarge" in my neck of the woods....

Skarecrow Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 557966)
You're preaching to the choir here, my friend.

Whew!!!! Thank you.....

Juulie Downs Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:52pm

But the blarge is completely irrelevant to the OP.

Skarecrow Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 557972)
But the blarge is completely irrelevant to the OP.

You're right...I agree, but an interim post made reference to the blarge....so I interjected...sorry about that....

BillyMac Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:59pm

In A Perfect World, In An Imperfect world ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Skarecrow (Post 557970)
Reality....Pregame, we discuss the "blarge" and the double whistle, and after we quickly eyeball each other, the Trail will normally defer to the Lead, since the play is coming at him....and not show his foul signal....therefore, there might be a double whistle, but only one foul shown to the teams and the fans...Isn't it true that only one of them is wrong? You can't really have a block if the B Player has a LGP....If he moved into place too late, bang him with the block....My opinion, but again we don't "blarge" in my neck of the woods....

Almost everything you've stated is true. A good pregame, and an awareness that your partner also blew his whistle, and the patience to avoid preliminary signals, and to make eye contact, will all lead to the an avoidance of the blarge call. But you still haven't answered my question. You have two rookie officials working a freshman game, the lead and trail both blow their whistles at the same time, but due to the noise of the crowd, don't realize that two whistles have been blown. They also have eight players between them which prevents them from having eye contact with each other. Both present preliminary signals, one block, one charge, after which they realize that they haven't done what they talked about in pregame. What happens next, by rule, in Northern Utah?

Juulie Downs Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skarecrow (Post 557973)
You're right...I agree, but an interim post made reference to the blarge....so I interjected...sorry about that....

So what about my double whistle scenario? Since new trail is the one who's supposed to count, does his T stand? Or the personal by the center who thinks the ball is available, but isn't looking for the count?

Skarecrow Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 557975)
So what about my double whistle scenario? Since new trail is the one who's supposed to count, does his T stand? Or the personal by the center who thinks the ball is available, but isn't looking for the count?

My opinion only, but the two must talk it out--quickly--and the new Trail with the count would win out....his count, his call....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1