The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Press Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50232-press-situation.html)

Ignats75 Mon Dec 08, 2008 03:24pm

Press Situation
 
Three Person. Girls NFHS Varsity.

Press is on.

A1 is dribbling up the sideline about top of the three point circle extended. B1 takes a legal guarding position on a bang-bang play. T begins to call offensvie charge. L comes up from far baseline and emphatically calls block. (C is flirting with coed in stands....not really but he was not involved)

Your reactions? Should T be hacked off at L? Is it L's call? (I actually know the answer to that question) I know how I would feel if I was T. I wonder what all you esteemed collegues would feel.

The play happened in front of B's bench and they were none too happy to say the least. I happened to be watching the game. I know two of the three officials (The T & C), and one is inexperienced, but the other is very experienced. I did not know the L. Just curious what others reactions to that would be.

btaylor64 Mon Dec 08, 2008 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75 (Post 556421)
Three Person. Girls NFHS Varsity.

Press is on.

A1 is dribbling up the sideline about top of the three point circle extended. B1 takes a legal guarding position on a bang-bang play. T begins to call offensvie charge. L comes up from far baseline and emphatically calls block. (C is flirting with coed in stands....not really but he was not involved)

Your reactions? Should T be hacked off at L? Is it L's call?

The T should go whack the L's head off. No way should he come get that from that far unless it is murder in the 1st degree and no one has anything.

Adam Mon Dec 08, 2008 03:28pm

I can't imagine why L would take this in 3 person. As T you have a couple of options.

1. Let L take it. Talk in the locker room to find out what he saw from 75 feet away that made him take a call right out from underneath you.

2. Come out strong with the PC and go with the double foul. A may get to keep the ball here, but at least A1 doesn't get off scott free on this. To me, this is the preferred option here if you can think quickly enough.

Bad Zebra Mon Dec 08, 2008 03:31pm

The way it's described, T has plenty of reason to be pi$$ed. L comes all the way across C's area and makes that call? Better have a pretty darn good reason (if there is one that exists). Second, why isn't C there? If T needed help, that's where the second whistle should have come from. T has a right to be torqued at him/her also.

mick Mon Dec 08, 2008 03:48pm

[quote=Snaqwells;556423]I can't imagine why L would take this in 3 person. As T you have a couple of options.

1. Let L take it. Talk in the locker room to find out what he saw from 75 feet away that made him take a call right out from underneath you.

2. Come out strong with the PC and go with the double foul. A may get to keep the ball here, but at least A1 doesn't get off scott free on this. To me, this is the preferred option here if you can think quickly enough.[/quote]

I like it.

ma_ref Mon Dec 08, 2008 03:54pm

I'm assuming you mean full court press, and the ball is in the back court when the contact occurs? If so, I agree with previous poster that the L's head gets whacked off.

As for the immediate remedy, I'd get together with L and say wtf? And unless he saw something that you were completely, unquestionably, 110% blinded to, it's the T's call. If he takes that call, then he just totally cut you off at the legs in front of the coaches, and they realize it. To them, it makes you appear weak (not true), and it makes him look like he doesn't know what he's doing (true), and any opportunistic coach is going to seize on that.

After the game, I'd ask them why on Earth they blew the whistle on that play. If the answer isn't satisfactory, then a call to the assignor may be necessary. I don't like to criticize other officials unless they ask for critiquing, but that official has no business working 3 person crews if they're gonna make calls like that. Poor officiating like that is also a bad reflection on the assignor that put officials on the floor, and I know most, if not all, of the assignors I work for would want to know about it. Better the assignor hears it from you, before a PO'd AD or coach.

fwiw, C might also deserve a whack if they're that far out of the play and didn't hang back some, unless it's truly just a 1 on 1 matchup coming up the floor on the T's side.

Adam Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 556436)
I like it.

I should add, if I go with #2, we're still having that locker room chat later.

Ignats75 Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:19pm

I suppose a call to the assignor would be in order except I have a couple of different horses in that race.

1) I didn't disclose it at the beginning because it really has no bearing in the play, but B1 was my darling daughter, who now thinks I'm just another cog in the Evil Empire of the Loyal Order of Zebras. Unfortunately, many parents know who I am, so I have to keep my mouth shut. Nothing good would come from me even discussing the play with them.

2) Each conference has its own assignor. I have never worked for the gentleman who assigns that conference. Its too political there for my taste. But with 18 schools in the conference, its a huge opportunity that I have chosen to bypass. I really have no desire to make waves there in the chance that once Julie graduate, i might wend up getting some assignments from him.

You know, people think its strange that I don't block out all the nights that my daughter plays to watch her, and this is why. I am constantly put in tough situations because the parents around me are constantly badgering me about preceived bad calls. Its so distracting that I don't enjoy it. I hear comments that hack me off. I see officials not hustling the way I would want an official to hustle for MY daughter dammit. :D.. The coach has made the team DVD's available for me to view for the games I miss and I leave it to her Mom and older brother and sister to go watch. But I do feel conflicted at times.

Ignats75 Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:21pm

Quote:

fwiw, C might also deserve a whack if they're that far out of the play and didn't hang back some, unless it's truly just a 1 on 1 matchup coming up the floor on the T's side
In fairness, C was all the way over on the far sideline, and the play literaally happened on the near sideline to the benches. He was really no closer than the L. On top of that, he is a very inexperienced official doing his first year of varsity and probably would never think to get involved.

ma_ref Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75 (Post 556456)
I suppose a call to the assignor would be in order except I have a couple of different horses in that race.

1) I didn't disclose it at the beginning because it really has no bearing in the play, but B1 was my darling daughter, who now thinks I'm just another cog in the evil empire of the Loyal Order of Zebras. Unfortunately, many parents know who I am, so I have to keep my mouth shut. Nothing good would come from me even discussing the play with them.

You're right that it doesn't have bearing on the play, but if this is a varsity contest, you definitely shouldn't be working your own daughter's game, unless your region is short on officials. Way too many potential headaches to deal with, and I'm not talking about the ones at home.

Ignats75 Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ma_ref (Post 556459)
You're right that it doesn't have bearing on the play, but if this is a varsity contest, you definitely shouldn't be working your own daughter's game, unless your region is short on officials. Way too many potential headaches to deal with, and I'm not talking about the ones at home.


I wasn't. I was in the stands. I thought that was clear in the OP. I would never work one of her Varsity games. I had to hand back two varsity assingments this year because I found out her team was the visitors. Summer ball, now THATs a different story. In fact, she hates when her AAU team ends up on my court. :D.. The first whistle is ALWAYS on her. :D

Camron Rust Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:30pm

FWIW, I saw more or less the same thing occur in the Miami vs. Kentucky game this last Saturday....

Fullcourt press. Lead comes from way out of the picture to call a foul in the PAINT in the backcourt. The C and the T had the play covered very well and couldn't have been in better positions. In rewatching the play I simply couldn't not find what he called a foul for....certainly nothing so obvious that he had to get from 50'+ away...he should have trusted his partners.

The same official was calling stuff way out of his primary on several occassions. Seemed like he just wanted to appear like he was "better" than the rest by "covering" for them a little too much.

According to the box score, the officials were Joe Lindsay, Mike Nance, and Tony Greene. I have no idea which one it was.

Raymond Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 556462)

The same official was calling stuff way out of his primary on several occassions. Seemed like he just wanted to appear like he was "better" than the rest by "covering" for them a little too much.

According to the box score, the officials were Joe Lindsay, Mike Nance, and Tony Greene. I have no idea which one it was.

I doubt very seriously it was Tony Greene.

Adam Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75 (Post 556457)
In fairness, C was all the way over on the far sideline, and the play literaally happened on the near sideline to the benches. He was really no closer than the L. On top of that, he is a very inexperienced official doing his first year of varsity and probably would never think to get involved.

Sounds like the L needs some more experience as well.

Ignats75 Mon Dec 08, 2008 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556472)
Sounds like the L needs some more experience as well.

Sadly, Although I don't know him, I believe he was the most experienced of the three.:eek:

Adam Mon Dec 08, 2008 07:30pm

:(

socalreff Mon Dec 08, 2008 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 556462)
FWIW, I saw more or less the same thing occur in the Miami vs. Kentucky game this last Saturday....

Fullcourt press. Lead comes from way out of the picture to call a foul in the PAINT in the backcourt. The C and the T had the play covered very well and couldn't have been in better positions. In rewatching the play I simply couldn't not find what he called a foul for....certainly nothing so obvious that he had to get from 50'+ away...he should have trusted his partners.

The same official was calling stuff way out of his primary on several occassions. Seemed like he just wanted to appear like he was "better" than the rest by "covering" for them a little too much.

According to the box score, the officials were Joe Lindsay, Mike Nance, and Tony Greene. I have no idea which one it was.

Watch any NCAA Mens game on TV and chart how many calls the lead calls out of his primary. Minimum is 5 or 6 per game.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 08, 2008 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalreff (Post 556500)
Watch any NCAA Mens game on TV and chart how many calls the lead calls out of his primary. Minimum is 5 or 6 per game.

Fine....but not on something in the backcourt paint unless it is flagrant!!!!

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 556436)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556423)
2. Come out strong with the PC and go with the double foul. A may get to keep the ball here, but at least A1 doesn't get off scott free on this. To me, this is the preferred option here if you can think quickly enough.

I like it.

I'm sure this is just a matter of taste, but I think this option looks worse than simply missing the call. Now it looks like, not only did we miss a call, but we're getting into a pissing contest about it on the court. You got a block?!?!?! Well, screw that, I got a charge!!

I think -- and I can't be 100% sure, I guess -- that I would rather say to the coach, "We may have kicked that one, Coach. We'll talk about it in the locker room," than "He kicked that one, Coach. So I made the opposite call to even it out a little."

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 556614)
I'm sure this is just a matter of taste, but I think this option looks worse than simply missing the call. Now it looks like, not only did we miss a call, but we're getting into a pissing contest about it on the court. You got a block?!?!?! Well, screw that, I got a charge!!

I think -- and I can't be 100% sure, I guess -- that I would rather say to the coach, "We may have kicked that one, Coach. We'll talk about it in the locker room," than "He kicked that one, Coach. So I made the opposite call to even it out a little."

I do not have an assignor that tells me to pass in order to appease.

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 556614)
I'm sure this is just a matter of taste, but I think this option looks worse than simply missing the call. Now it looks like, not only did we miss a call, but we're getting into a pissing contest about it on the court. You got a block?!?!?! Well, screw that, I got a charge!!

I think -- and I can't be 100% sure, I guess -- that I would rather say to the coach, "We may have kicked that one, Coach. We'll talk about it in the locker room," than "He kicked that one, Coach. So I made the opposite call to even it out a little."

I don't see it as a pissing contest as much as an insistence that we get the right call. Make it look like a blarge, if you can, as it doesn't look like a pissing contest that way

OHBBREF Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:21am

Crawl in a hole
 
IMHO this is a crew killer,

It sounds like the issue starts with pre-game, I would like to know what was discussed regarding the press in pregame.

You have a Lead that (HTBT to be sure) that possibly abbandoned his front court matchups to go get a Block call over 45' away.

You have a Slot who was flirting with the MILF in the front row or what ever they were doing.

This is a clear sign of poor coverage and a lack of trust between partners.

I like the idea of coming out with a Blarge but no matter what happens on the floor the Trail has a right to be upset with both the Lead and Slot, and there should be a lot of post game discussion about how the crew got in this postition.

I have a question - I will make the assumption that the inexperienced guy was the lead - were there any other signs that this official was a ball watcher before or after this incident. There may have been a point where this might have been foreseeable.

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 556625)
I do not have an assignor that tells me to pass in order to appease.

I suppose that's one way to look at it. I don't see it as appeasement.

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 556651)
IMHO this is a crew killer,

It sounds like the issue starts with pre-game, I would like to know what was discussed regarding the press in pregame.

You have a Lead that (HTBT to be sure) that possibly abbandoned his front court matchups to go get a Block call over 45' away.

You have a Slot who was flirting with the MILF in the front row or what ever they were doing.

This is a clear sign of poor coverage and a lack of trust between partners.

I like the idea of coming out with a Blarge but no matter what happens on the floor the Trail has a right to be upset with both the Lead and Slot, and there should be a lot of post game discussion about how the crew got in this postition.

I have a question - I will make the assumption that the inexperienced guy was the lead - were there any other signs that this official was a ball watcher before or after this incident. There may have been a point where this might have been foreseeable.

What in God's name did the C do wrong? T had the call, L came in and stole it from 75 feet away (ball wasn't halfway through backcourt yet). What's teh C's role here?

Read the rest of the thread, the L was the most experienced.

rockyroad Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:52pm

First off, I very rarely (can't remember the last time) get hacked off at my partners when they call something, even if it's in front of me. I just don't take it as them trying to grandstand or show me up. I assume they saw something they felt needed to be called. We would definitely discuss it in the locker room, but there wouldn't be any anger involved. It's ridiculous to get angry about something like this - we all have brain farts every now and then, so why not just assume your partner had a brain fart and move on.

Secondly, I am not going with a blarge on this one. If the upset coach asks me, I will simply say "I don't know Coach, but here comes Snaqs. You can ask him.":D

Third - I'm not calling an assignor over this play. It really isn't that egregious of a mistake. No rule was set aside or misapplied. A partner called out of his primary in front of me. If I call the assignor about that, I look like a little whiner. Not needed.

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 556688)
Secondly, I am not going with a blarge on this one. If the upset coach asks me, I will simply say "I don't know Coach, but here comes Snaqs. You can ask him.":D

When he does ask me, I'll be sure to keep my answer short.

OHBBREF Tue Dec 09, 2008 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556682)
What in God's name did the C do wrong? T had the call, L came in and stole it from 75 feet away (ball wasn't halfway through backcourt yet). What's teh C's role here?

Read the rest of the thread, the L was the most experienced.

I didn't see the line about the L being the more experienced -
but the C if they were participating could possibly have offered an opinion on what occured and that might have given them the opportunity to get it right.

Although this guy probably would have stuck to his call from what I can gather from the post.

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 556771)
I didn't see the line about the L being the more experienced -
but the C if they were participating could possibly have offered an opinion on what occured and that might have given them the opportunity to get it right.

Although this guy probably would have stuck to his call from what I can gather from the post.

I agree. If he's coming that far and prelims that fast, the only decision is (per Snaqs) do we call the PC or give A a free pass.

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2008 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 556771)
I didn't see the line about the L being the more experienced -
but the C if they were participating could possibly have offered an opinion on what occured and that might have given them the opportunity to get it right.

Although this guy probably would have stuck to his call from what I can gather from the post.

Frankly, I don't see how the C can do anything here; if he's doing his job he probably didn't even see the play.

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 09, 2008 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 556688)
Secondly, I am not going with a blarge on this one. If the upset coach asks me, I will simply say "I don't know Coach, but here comes Snaqs. You can ask him.":D

Does this make rocky another appeaser? :(

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 556784)
Does this make rocky another appeaser? :(

http://www.clicksmilies.com/s1106/la...smiley-016.gif
The point I was trying to make was that some assignors want that brown blarge stuff avoided if at all possible, and if that is whatthey want they have to be appeased. I really don't consider the coach's feeling applicable here.

The original poster implied the Trail was dead on the play and knew what he had (and was in front of everyone else that knew what the Trail had).
So, the Trail had to do something.

If Trail does not call the charge on his own, he is giving a terribly unfair advantage to the offense. If the Trail does not call the charge because he was told (by his assignor?) to not make a call contrary to a partner's preliminary signal in order to avoid the blarge, then he is appeasing the assignor (which may be quite necessary*) and is not using all the rules to the best of his ability.

* - the assignor may ask his officials to avoid the double foul, in this instance, so that his customers will not be asking him how his trained personnel can see two different things on the same play.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 10, 2008 09:17am

Ah, I understand you better now. Thanks. :)

rockyroad Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 556784)
Does this make rocky another appeaser? :(

Nope...I'm a little short on appeasement!:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1