The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in provision (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50205-throw-provision.html)

AKOFL Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:06am

Throw in provision
 
No room on the side line so you move the defender (B1) back to give the thrower (A1) some space. After the throw in begins A1 attempts to complete the throw just inside the boundry line to A3. B1 moves back in to his original position to defend. Is this legal.

newera21 Sun Dec 07, 2008 02:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 556012)
No room on the side line so you move the defender (B1) back to give the thrower (A1) some space. After the throw in begins A1 attempts to complete the throw just inside the boundry line to A3. B1 moves back in to his original position to defend. Is this legal.

The restraining line you imposed would be 3 feet inside the boundary line and it becomes the boundary line DURING A THROW-IN ON THAT END OR SIDE OF THE COURT. Thus, B1 should not be allowed to come any closer than 3 feet to the permanent boundary line. And A1 can be anywhere behind the imposed restraining line as long as they stay on or over the designated spot, if it indeed was a designated spot throw-in.

AKOFL Sun Dec 07, 2008 03:14am

7.6.4 situ d The b part.

Adam Sun Dec 07, 2008 08:22am

Looks to me like A3 moved outside the restraining line; this is illegal and a throwin violation on A. By the time B1 moved out there, it was likely a dead ball already.

Caesar's Ghost Sun Dec 07, 2008 08:35am

There used to be a case where A moved into the restraining area in that case B is allowed to follow. Maybe thats the case you referenced. Seems to be (or was) legal

bob jenkins Sun Dec 07, 2008 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 556025)
7.6.4 situ d The b part.


Right. So you knew the answer to your question before you posted it? I don't get it.

BillyMac Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:33pm

For Coaches, And Fanboys, Without Casebooks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 556025)
7.6.4 situ d The b part.

7.6.4 SITUATION D: The sideline is very near the spectators leaving little space out of bounds for A1 to make a throw-in. As a result, the administering official has directed B1 to move back a step to give the thrower some room: (a) as soon as the ball is handed or bounced to A1, B1 moves right back to the boundary line in front of A1; or (b) A1 attempts to complete the throw-in just inside the boundary line and B1 moves to his/her original position in order to defend. RULING: In (a), it is a violation by B1 and will also result in a warning for Team B which is reported to the scorer and to the head coach. Any subsequent delay-of-game situation or noncompliance with the verbal order will result in a technical foul charged to Team B. In (b), B1 is expected to stay back one step unless the throwin is attempted between this area and the boundary line. No violation in this case as B1 is allowed to defend the area if the throw-in is attempted there. (10-1-5c)

Adam Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:36pm

My bad, I forgot there's a difference between a marked restraining line and an "imaginary" restraining line. A marked restraining line becomes the boundary line, and A3 would violate by stepping between the restraining line and the OOB line.

AKOFL Sun Dec 07, 2008 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 556033)
Right. So you knew the answer to your question before you posted it? I don't get it.

The case play seamed to conflict with the rule 1 2 2 under court and equipt. I was looking for feed back to see if anyone had noticed it also. Is this a provision for if their is no actual line. if so where is that refference. Didn't mean to sound like I was setting a trap.

AKOFL Sun Dec 07, 2008 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556060)
My bad, I forgot there's a difference between a marked restraining line and an "imaginary" restraining line. A marked restraining line becomes the boundary line, and A3 would violate by stepping between the restraining line and the OOB line.

So if this is true can the thrower step into this area while making his throw in?

BillyMac Sun Dec 07, 2008 01:49pm

Imaginary Playing Court ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 556071)
So if this is true can the thrower step into this area while making his throw in?

I would think, yes, assuming that he's not stepping onto the playing court on the other side of the imaginary restraining line. I would also think that he could step on the imaginary restraining line.

Wasn't this covered in a recent episode of "South Park"?

Adam Sun Dec 07, 2008 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 556071)
So if this is true can the thrower step into this area while making his throw in?

Yes, the whole point is to give the thrower three feet of "breathing room."

BillyMac Sun Dec 07, 2008 02:27pm

Is It Under Rule 1-Court And Equipment ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556076)
The whole point is to give the thrower three feet of "breathing room."

I can't find breathing room in Rule 4-Definitions. Citation please.

Adam Sun Dec 07, 2008 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 556081)
I can't find breathing room in Rule 4-Definitions. Citation please.

1-2-2. "Breathing room" is my phrase, the concept is the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1