The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Blarge alert!!! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50090-blarge-alert.html)

Nevadaref Sun Nov 30, 2008 08:44pm

Blarge alert!!!
 
Gonzaga v Tennessee
4:48 on the clock in the first half. Gonzaga guard driving down the outside of the FT lane.

Jim Burr (L) signals a block, the C (I don't know who he is) signals a PC.

The play was in the C's primary, but I believe that Burr made the correct decision.

A double personal foul was called and Gonzaga kept the ball on the POI.

derwil Sun Nov 30, 2008 09:22pm

Thank goodness for ESPN360.com
 
Looked like a block to me. Looked like C was too high (at the 3 point arc) and may have not had a good angle.

Announcers said that Gonzaga kept the ball on AP???? Is this different in NCAA vs. HS or did the announcers kick it? Shoulda been POI.

zeedonk Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:11pm

I watched the game and saw the play too... So riddle me this, how did we get to a double foul? Is this the resolution when there is a double whistle and the officials can't agree? If so, I suppose I can live with that, but if there is another reason, you'll have to sell me...

Z

Nevadaref Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zeedonk (Post 554166)
I watched the game and saw the play too... So riddle me this, how did we get to a double foul? Is this the resolution when there is a double whistle and the officials can't agree? If so, I suppose I can live with that, but if there is another reason, you'll have to sell me...

Z

The reason is quite simple.

The NCAA RULE is the same as the NFHS RULE. If two officials signal conflicting fouls on a play, then the resolution is a double foul.

wrwom Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:32pm

Video
 
I was watching the game and through the magic of DVR grab the play. Here it is, the slow motion starts about 29 seconds into the video. Since I am very new to this I won't offer an opinion, but I would love to follow the discussion on why this is a block or charge.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/FV8FpzV1Z7Y&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/FV8FpzV1Z7Y&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

just another ref Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:38pm

Block. Doesn't look that close to me.

JRutledge Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:50pm

It looks like a PC Foul to me, but that being said guys from the East Coast like to just signal fouls without much or any of a stop clock signal. The ball did come from the Center's side. The CCA told officials to let the Lead take all fouls to the basket if there was a dispute. It is clear Jim Burr did not follow the manual on this directive with a stop clock signal. Oh well, that is why he is working on National Television and I am not. :D

Peace

Rich Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554178)
Block. Doesn't look that close to me.

Me either. Definitely a block.

Nevadaref Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:59pm

Excellent job, wrwom. Thanks for posting the video. Perhaps you would be kind enough to detail the steps you undertook in order to do so. That would be a great help to some of us less savvy computer users. :)

As for the play, it is my opinion that the defender did not obtain his spot on the floor prior to his opponent going airborne. Instead he slid in front of and under him after the dribbler picked up the ball and both of his feet left the floor.

The defender did establish LGP and is allowed to move laterally to continue to maintain that guarding position, but he can't do so AFTER the opponent becomes airborne. At that time, he must hold the spot that he has obtained. He may, of course, turn or duck to absorb or lessen the contact.

Furthermore, IMO this play was the C's to get right or wrong as it was well within his primary. The L should not have given a preliminary signal as the play was outside of his primary and his partner had a whistle. This is what happens when the officials do not adhere to proper mechanics.

eyezen Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:03pm

Though this is in the C's PCA -

blow and hold, blow and hold, blow and hold especially knowing who your partner is (Burr) and knowing he's probably going to come out strong with a call on a play like this

just another ref Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554169)
The reason is quite simple.

The NCAA RULE is the same as the NFHS RULE. If two officials signal conflicting fouls on a play, then the resolution is a double foul.

Does NCAA have a case play for this?

fullor30 Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:08pm

H & R..............................block

wrwom Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:15pm

Thanks Nevedaref for posting the detailed explanation, as a newbie I was missing the airborne player part of this play. I kept thinking that the Tenn Player had LGP and was moving obliquely, but missed the part about the airborne player. It is difficult to tell for sure from the angles on the video when the offensive player became airborne in relation to the slide, but I now understand the reason some are seeing this as a block.

As far as getting the video I just happened to have the game on and I have digital cable with a DVR so it records what is currently being watch to allow you to pause it and rewind it. Honestly I was reading the forum and not really watching the game closely when I saw your Blarge alert post, so I backed up the DVR and recorded the play to my DVD recorder. I replayed it a couple of times and then replayed it at slow speed while recording it to the dvd. I then took the dvd into a video editing program, edited it to get just the play, and had the video editor output a file i could upload to YouTube.

The details would vary depending upon your hardware, for example I think some DVRs will allow you to directly move the file to a computer without burning it to the DVD first.

referee99 Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:21pm

First impression (from the upper camera) was PC, but seeing the lead's angle I thought a clear block -- the bent right knee shows defender clearly sliding over....

but more importantly... what is your configuration at home that allows you to slice and dice the braodcast... put it up on youtube and publish??? How long did that take you, start to finish, wrwom??

edit -- oh, never mind, seems like others were wowed with the quick post up of video too! thanks!

zm1283 Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:22pm

Block.

Nevadaref Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554189)
Does NCAA have a case play for this?

Yes, but it contains some fuzzy wording.

A.R. 172.
A1 drives to the basket and:
(1) The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a
block; or
(2) The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.

RULING: This is uncharacteristic of a double personal foul where
one official adjudicates the obviously committed fouls against two opponents.
(Men) In (1) and (2), the two officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously. In (1), the ball shall be awarded to Team A,
the team in control, at the point of interruption with no reset of the
shot clock.
(Rule 2-11.7.f, 7-4.1.d and 7-5.8)
In (2), the two officials disagree as to whether there was a charge
or a block, however, the ball was released by A1. Although there is
no team control while a ball is in flight, when the goal is successful,
play shall resume at the point of interruption by awarding the ball to
Team B, the team not credited with the score, at the end line with the
privilege to run the end line. When the try is not successful, play shall
resume at the point of interruption with the use of the alternating
possession arrow and a reset of the shot clock. (Rule 7-5.9)
(Women) In (1) and (2), when the officials signal simultaneously,
they shall get together and agree to give the call to the official who
had the play originate in his/her primary. When the officials disagree
that the fouls occurred simultaneously, they shall determine which
foul occurred first. Once a decision is reached, that foul is reported to
the official scorer and the appropriate penalty is assessed.
(Rule 4-9, 4-10, 4-29 and 4-35.1)

Rich Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 554187)
Though this is in the C's PCA -

blow and hold, blow and hold, blow and hold especially knowing who your partner is (Burr) and knowing he's probably going to come out strong with a call on a play like this

Looking at the video, the C is very high up -- above the top of the key, it appears.

Perhaps if the C made the right call and Burr the wrong call rather than vice versa, I'd feel more strongly about it.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The NCAA RULE is the same as the NFHS RULE. If two officials signal conflicting fouls on a play, then the resolution is a double foul.




Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554199)

A.R. 172.
A1 drives to the basket and:
(1) The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a
block; or
(2) The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.

RULING: This is uncharacteristic of a double personal foul where
one official adjudicates the obviously committed fouls against two opponents.
(Men) In (1) and (2), the two officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously. In (1), the ball shall be awarded to Team A,
the team in control, at the point of interruption with no reset of the
shot clock.
(Rule 2-11.7.f, 7-4.1.d and 7-5.8)
In (2), the two officials disagree as to whether there was a charge
or a block, however, the ball was released by A1. Although there is
no team control while a ball is in flight, when the goal is successful,
play shall resume at the point of interruption by awarding the ball to
Team B, the team not credited with the score, at the end line with the
privilege to run the end line. When the try is not successful, play shall
resume at the point of interruption with the use of the alternating
possession arrow and a reset of the shot clock. (Rule 7-5.9)

This case play has things in common with the NFHS play but also goes into more detail about one thing which I think is significant.

"The officials disagree."

Obviously, this is the case originally, but if the officials can confer and one can convince the other of the proper call, there would no longer be a disagreement, and no need for the double foul call. Also, I think it is significant that the word signal does not appear in either play.

canuckrefguy Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:49am

B-l-o-c-k
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wrwom (Post 554176)
I was watching the game and through the magic of DVR grab the play. Here it is, the slow motion starts about 29 seconds into the video. Since I am very new to this I won't offer an opinion, but I would love to follow the discussion on why this is a block or charge.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/FV8FpzV1Z7Y&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/FV8FpzV1Z7Y&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Not even close.

Also Burr's call, as it was a secondary defender.

Agree that C was in poor position - he likely did not have a good look at how late the defender was.

JRutledge Mon Dec 01, 2008 01:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554208)
This case play has things in common with the NFHS play but also goes into more detail about one thing which I think is significant.

"The officials disagree."

Obviously, this is the case originally, but if the officials can confer and one can convince the other of the proper call, there would no longer be a disagreement, and no need for the double foul call. Also, I think it is significant that the word signal does not appear in either play.

I honestly think it is assumed that if you made a call, you signaled the type of foul. You really have not called anything until you signal anyway.

Peace

Nevadaref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554208)
This case play has things in common with the NFHS play but also goes into more detail about one thing which I think is significant.

"The officials disagree."

Obviously, this is the case originally, but if the officials can confer and one can convince the other of the proper call, there would no longer be a disagreement, and no need for the double foul call. Also, I think it is significant that the word signal does not appear in either play.

1. I used the word "signal" specifically for you. ;) I knew that you would state your opinion about there being a difference between signalling a foul and calling a foul. The truth is that there isn't one. The NCAA rules writers use those words interchangeably.

2. The reason that I wrote that the wording was fuzzy is because I believe that this instance of "disagree" is an error and should read "agree" instead: "(Men) In (1) and (2), the two officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously."

3. How this play was handled by Jim Burr, who is one of the best in the business and has been for some time, should serve as conclusive proof to you of how it is to be done at the NCAAM and NFHS levels. I included the NCAAW ruling from the AR as well, so that you would know that what you espouse is actually the NCAAW ruling and definitely different.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 554223)
[1]Not even close.

[2]Also Burr's call, as it was a secondary defender.

[3]Agree that C was in poor position - he likely did not have a good look at how late the defender was.

1. I think it is a close call. The defender is obviously moving to his right at the time of contact, but that would be of absolutely no consequence had the dribbler still had a foot on the floor. There is no requirement that the defender be still or stationary. The correctness of the call hinges upon the offensive player going airborne and exactly when.

2. It was indeed a secondary defender, but this defender comes from outside of the lane and is moving towards the middle of the court. That's clearly the C's primary coverage area. The Lead should not be watching this defender. This is the opposite of what we normally see when the secondary defender is coming from the middle or weakside, out of the Lead's PCA, and trying to help with a drive on the C's side. So this was still the C's call, even though the crash involved a secondary defender.

3. The C does seem to get too high and possibly straight-lined as he ends up looking at the dribbler's back. It is difficult to see the defender move to his right AFTER the offensive player goes airborne from that angle. That is probably why the C deemed this a PC foul. Angles are of critical importance.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 554224)
I honestly think it is assumed that if you made a call, you signaled the type of foul.

Peace

This is true, but this is not the point. The point is, does a preliminary signal absolutely obligate one to make a certain call. I see nothing which indicates this. Others here seem to indicate that the two officials making opposite preliminary signals necessitates the double foul call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Prelim signals are to be handled with a double foul

Quote:

Originally Posted by walter
If you have prelims, in NFHS, you have to penalize both.

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Of course, the best way to avoid that situation is for the primary official to make the call, or for the two officials to not give a preliminary signal before making eye contact to determine who will sell the call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If two officials signal conflicting fouls on a play, then the resolution is a double foul.

So, you guys correct me if I am wrong. Are you saying that if you are positive it is a blocking foul, but have not made the block signal, but you do have a fist up, and the other guy signals PC, it is ok to walk away from the call, but if you have made the block signal, you will report a double foul?
Also, if the other guy sees your signal, says "My bad," and walks away, what would you do then?

Raymond Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:24am

It was definitely a block but it was clearly in the C's primary.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554227)
1. I think it is a close call. The defender is obviously moving to his right at the time of contact, but that would be of absolutely no consequence had the dribbler still had a foot on the floor.


It would be of no consequence if the guy had established LGP prior to the contact, but to my eye this guy has not.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554228)
So, you guys correct me if I am wrong. Are you saying that if you are positive it is a blocking foul, but have not made the block signal, but you do have a fist up, and the other guy signals PC, it is ok to walk away from the call, but if you have made the block signal, you will report a double foul?
Also, if the other guy sees your signal, says "My bad," and walks away, what would you do then?

Yep, that is exactly how it works.
Only one signal is given, then it is okay for only one type of foul to be reported. If two signals are given, then two fouls must be reported and the result is a double foul.
Neither official is permitted to simply drop his signal and walk away. If an official did that, then a coach would definitely have a right to get upset.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554232)
Yep, that is exactly how it works.
Only one signal is given, then it is okay for only one type of foul to be reported. If two signals are given, then two fouls must be reported and the result is a double foul.

If the second official has his fist up, this is not a signal?

Nevadaref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554231)
It would be of no consequence if the guy had established LGP prior to the contact, but to my eye this guy has not.

Seriously? :eek:

You don't believe that the defender ever had two feet on the floor and his torso facing the opponent at any time prior to the contact?

You may want to check the video again because I have to strongly disagree.

btaylor64 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:35am

First of all it is a block. Player doesn't beat the alighted offensive player to the spot. This is where i don't like "takes it in the torso" philosophy. It is a decent, middle of the road philosophy if you ask me. There are way too many instances where a guy takes it in the torso and it should NOT be a charge.

Secondly, is most everybody saying that it would be a charge had he just tried to dribble past the defender instead of jump stop past him?

dahoopref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:40am

This is good stuff.

Was there a block/charge player earlier in the game? If there was, perhaps one of the officials was trying to call a similar foul on a play with similar consequence on that side of the court.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 554235)
First of all it is a block. Player doesn't beat the alighted offensive player to the spot. This is where i don't like "takes it in the torso" philosophy. It is a decent, middle of the road philosophy if you ask me. There are way too many instances where a guy takes it in the torso and it should NOT be a charge.

Great, time for our dose of pro philosophy. :rolleyes:

Let me make it short and quick for everyone: FAVOR THE OFFENSE. :eek:

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 554235)
Secondly, is most everybody saying that it would be a charge had he just tried to dribble past the defender instead of jump stop past him?

Not only are people here saying that, but that's what the NFHS and NCAA rules books both say.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554234)
Seriously? :eek:

You don't believe that the defender ever had two feet on the floor and his torso facing the opponent at any time prior to the contact?

You may want to check the video again because I have to strongly disagree.

Defender was leaning several degrees backward as he slid into the guys path.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554239)
Defender was leaning several degrees backward as he slid into the guys path.

What if he were leaning several degrees forward?

I must be missing your point. Do you think that verticality has some bearing on establishing initial LGP?

JRutledge Mon Dec 01, 2008 03:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554228)
This is true, but this is not the point. The point is, does a preliminary signal absolutely obligate one to make a certain call. I see nothing which indicates this. Others here seem to indicate that the two officials making opposite preliminary signals necessitates the double foul call.

You may not, but I think that is trying to pick nits.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554228)
So, you guys correct me if I am wrong. Are you saying that if you are positive it is a blocking foul, but have not made the block signal, but you do have a fist up, and the other guy signals PC, it is ok to walk away from the call, but if you have made the block signal, you will report a double foul?
Also, if the other guy sees your signal, says "My bad," and walks away, what would you do then?

If an official has not signaled anything, than it means little or nothing unless the calling official wants to consider the information. If we use that logic, what if we both have a foul and one thinks it is flagrant and the other thinks it is just intentional? We cannot call both just because. We have to pick one. In this case the rules state if both have signaled/called, then you cannot take either of them back. I do not see anyone interpreting the rules that way other than what you have stated. If it means that much to you I guess you could get into a debate with someone on the floor. I would suggest that you do not do that at that level. You might be the only one feeling that way, because the rules are meant to be the same as the NF interpretation.

Peace

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 03:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554240)
What if he were leaning several degrees forward?

I must be missing your point. Do you think that verticality has some bearing on establishing initial LGP?

I'm saying that if you are leaning back, as this guy was, your torso is not facing the opponent. More like facing the ceiling.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 03:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 554241)
We have to pick one. In this case the rules state if both have signaled/called, then you cannot take either of them back.

These two words are not synonyms. Nevada said that the two terms are used interchangeably in the NCAA books. I'd like to see an example of this.

JRutledge Mon Dec 01, 2008 04:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554247)
These two words are not synonyms. Nevada said that the two terms are used interchangeably in the NCAA books. I'd like to see an example of this.

And if the wording is not to you liking, then what are you going to do? It is not going to change the interpretation of the rule. ;)

Peace

Nevadaref Mon Dec 01, 2008 05:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554243)
I'm saying that if you are leaning back, as this guy was, your torso is not facing the opponent. More like facing the ceiling.

:eek:

mbyron Mon Dec 01, 2008 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554240)
Do you think that verticality has some bearing on establishing initial LGP?

No, but isn't there a distance requirement? I mean, it's not LGP when a defender stands under the basket facing a dribbler who is in his own back court, right? (Genuine question here, not being a smartazz)

jdw3018 Mon Dec 01, 2008 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554243)
I'm saying that if you are leaning back, as this guy was, your torso is not facing the opponent. More like facing the ceiling.

Holy carp.

jdw3018 Mon Dec 01, 2008 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 554254)
No, but isn't there a distance requirement?

Technically, no. A player can establish legal guarding position by actively guarding an opponent (which means meeting the criteria for LGP of two feet initially on the floor, torso facing opponent, etc), but there is no distance requirement.

The only time distance enters the discussion is in determining if there is a closely guarded situation.

IREFU2 Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wrwom (Post 554176)
I was watching the game and through the magic of DVR grab the play. Here it is, the slow motion starts about 29 seconds into the video. Since I am very new to this I won't offer an opinion, but I would love to follow the discussion on why this is a block or charge.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/FV8FpzV1Z7Y&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/FV8FpzV1Z7Y&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Block all the way, no LGP.

Adam Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554243)
I'm saying that if you are leaning back, as this guy was, your torso is not facing the opponent. More like facing the ceiling.

Once LGP is established, you do not need to continue facing the opponent to maintain it.

jdw3018 Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2 (Post 554292)
Block all the way, no LGP.

Agree it's a block. Disagree on LGP. The defender had LGP...but LGP doesn't allow you to slide under an airborne player.

btaylor64 Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554238)
Great, time for our dose of pro philosophy. :rolleyes:

Let me make it short and quick for everyone: FAVOR THE OFFENSE. :eek:



Not only are people here saying that, but that's what the NFHS and NCAA rules books both say.

So a defender can just slide underneath a moving and/or dribbling opponent and as long as he is somewhat in front of him its an offensive foul? That just doesn't make good sense to me. Sorry.

GoodwillRef Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:07pm

Officials: Jim Burr, Doug Shows, Bryan Kersey
Technical fouls: TENNESSEE VOLUNTEERS-None. GONZAGA BULLDOGS-None.
Attendance: 3914
Score by Periods 1st 2nd Total
TENNESSEE VOLUNTEERS.......... 31 43 - 74
GONZAGA BULLDOGS.............. 35 48 - 83

Pretty darn good crew.

jdw3018 Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 554323)
So a defender can just slide underneath a moving and/or dribbling opponent and as long as he is somewhat in front of him its an offensive foul? That just doesn't make good sense to me. Sorry.

If the defender has LGP, then yes. It's a basic of officiating basketball.

Edited to clarify - you're "slide underneath" comment is not a quality one. If the defender can get to a position where the contact is in the torso, then obviously he "slid" there before the offensive player got there. And if that happens, it's a PC foul if the defender had established LGP.

Scrapper1 Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:18pm

Not coincidentally, I'm sure, this was forwarded to me by my D3 association:

Quote:

I attended 2 games in person and watched numerous games on TV from Thursday through Sunday evening. Please pass along the following observations to officials who work in your leagues.

1. On a BLARGE, where one official signals a block and the other official clearly signals a player control foul, the ball is awarded to the team in control, and there is NO RESET of the shot clock.
This play is covered in the 2009 case book on page 69, A.R. 172. Please note, that this play differs from a BLARGE involving a block and a charge (player A has released the ball for a try and runs over a defender).
My last thought on this play is that the mechanics book clearly states that the Lead has primary coverage for this play (p. 42) BUT, it would be a benefit to the C if the Lead would raise a fist in the air as he signals the foul so that the C can see that the Lead has a call on the play.

2. I see too many instances where we are not allowing the shooter to finish a try he started, and instead, we are ruling "no try", that the foul occurred before the try started. See Rule book p. 84, Section 69, Art. 3, for a review of when a try starts.

3. Much better job of managing time outs.

4. I am working on posting additional plays on eofficials.com . They ought to be "up" by Wednesday or Thursday.


John W. Adams

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 554293)
Once LGP is established, you do not need to continue facing the opponent to maintain it.

4-23-1: "Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."


In the play at hand, what I see is the defender leaning backward as he slides into the path of the dribbler. At contact, the defender's feet are straddling the offensive player. As far as I'm concerned, this defender did not "get there first,"
and this would have been a block whether the dribbler had gone airborne or not.

jdw3018 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554355)
4-23-1: "Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."


In the play at hand, what I see is the defender leaning backward as he slides into the path of the dribbler. At contact, the defender's feet are straddling the offensive player. As far as I'm concerned, this defender did not "get there first,"
and this would have been a block whether the dribbler had gone airborne or not.

I'm still trying to figure out how the defender could be contacted in the torso if he didn't get there first? Is there a rule against leaning backwards? Is that when an offensive player puts his leg between a defensive players legs (hence, causing the defensive player to "straddle" the offensive player) that it constituted illegal activity on the defender's part?

He got there first. The problem was that he wasn't there when A1 went airborne.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 554356)
I'm still trying to figure out how the defender could be contacted in the torso if he didn't get there first? Is there a rule against leaning backwards? Is that when an offensive player puts his leg between a defensive players legs (hence, causing the defensive player to "straddle" the offensive player) that it constituted illegal activity on the defender's part?

He got there first. The problem was that he wasn't there when A1 went airborne.

4-45-6: A defender may not "belly up" or use the lower part of the body or arms to cause contact outside his/her vertical plane which is a foul.

Sounds a lot like a description of this play to me.

jdw3018 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554360)
4-45-6: A defender may not "belly up" or use the lower part of the body or arms to cause contact outside his/her vertical plane which is a foul.

Sounds a lot like a description of this play to me.

I guess we're seeing different plays. The defender doesn't belly up at all - but rather leans backwards. Those are different things.

rockyroad Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:48pm

"Bellying up" and leaning backwards to avoid taking a shot in the face are two entirely differnt things and in no way should be used to judge whether a collision is a block or a PC foul. There is no restriction on leaning backwards when one is about to get run over.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 554374)
There is no restriction on leaning backwards when one is about to get run over.

True if he had been there waiting for the contact. That was not the case here.
A position on the court reaches from floor to ceiling. At contact of this play, I do not see that this defender had established a spot in the path of the dribbler.

rockyroad Mon Dec 01, 2008 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554391)
True if he had been there waiting for the contact. That was not the case here.
A position on the court reaches from floor to ceiling. At contact of this play, I do not see that this defender had established a spot in the path of the dribbler.

That would be why pretty much everyone on this topic has said it was a block. Not because the defender was leaning back, but because he wasn't there in time.

The C called a PC (in my opinion) because this was a secondary defender jumping in there and the C didn't get a good look at the whole thing...

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 554404)
That would be why pretty much everyone on this topic has said it was a block. Not because the defender was leaning back, but because he wasn't there in time.

Agreed. I'm saying that leaning back is an attempt to distort the appearance of getting there in time. Someone earlier objected to the use of this description, but, yes, he "slid under him" to some degree.

icallfouls Mon Dec 01, 2008 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 554223)
Not even close.

Also Burr's call, as it was a secondary defender.

Agree that C was in poor position - he likely did not have a good look at how late the defender was.

I am a little late to this party, but the defender came out of the C's primary and the L (Burr) was working strong side. He "pinched the paint" as the officials are told to do and made a call that is more of a secondary call for the L.

Now having said all that, I think he was the one that got it right. Kid had LGP, slid (huge base...no longer in position).

rockyroad Mon Dec 01, 2008 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 554422)
Agreed. I'm saying that leaning back is an attempt to distort the appearance of getting there in time. Someone earlier objected to the use of this description, but, yes, he "slid under him" to some degree.

I like "slid under" better than "leaning back"...one is not legal, and one is.

just another ref Mon Dec 01, 2008 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 554429)
I like "slid under" better than "leaning back"...one is not legal, and one is.

I would say one is a part of the other. The defender leans back in order to slide under.

Raymond Mon Dec 01, 2008 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 554426)
Now having said all that, I think he was the one that got it right. Kid had LGP, slid (huge base...no longer in position).

This is what I saw. He stuck his right knee out causing contact. In fact, looking at it again I don't think he ever established LGP.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 02, 2008 01:06am

"My last thought on this play is that the mechanics book clearly states that the Lead has primary coverage for this play (p. 42)"--John W. Adams

It would also be nice if Mr. Adams would clarify this mechanic. There is NO WAY that the Lead has primary coverage on a drive to the basket from the Center's side. When the crash is clearly on the Center's side, it has to be his call. Mr. Adams should state that the Lead has primary coverage on a drive to the basket when it comes down the middle of the lane. Basically what they are trying to do is give it to the Lead when the play is on the dividing line and in a gray area. It is absurb to think that the Lead should have primary coverage for a crash which takes place on the block outside the FT lane line on the Center's side.

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 02, 2008 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554539)
When the crash is clearly on the Center's side, it has to be his call. Mr. Adams should state that the Lead has primary coverage on a drive to the basket when it comes down the middle of the lane. Basically what they are trying to do is give it to the Lead when the play is on the dividing line and in a gray area.

Actually, that is not my understanding. It was stressed at our pre-season clinics that the Lead has everything in the lane. It doesn't matter which side of the basket it's on. If it's coming to the basket, then once it gets inside the lane, the Lead has first crack.

Quote:

It is absurb to think that the Lead should have primary coverage for a crash which takes place on the block outside the FT lane line on the Center's side.
I agree with this, and this was the other part of what was stressed at the clinics. Inside the lane, it's the Lead; but the opposite block is still the C.

RookieDude Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:52am

Dick Cartmel (5 Final Four Appearances) was at our local meeting last night.

He talked about this very play. He stated that he just received a memo, about Blarges, probably as a result of this play.

I actually asked him if he would get together with the other official and determine either a block or a charge....and not go with the dreaded blarge.

He said he couldn't do that...they are so scrutinized by video etc. that there is simply no way to change the "call" once they have "signaled" the foul.

He also said, as previously stated here, that they are moving more toward having the L take these calls, that are coming at them down the lane.
Dick didn't get real specific with that comment...but, I am sure it goes more along the lines of what Navadaref was stating.

Good meeting...with a lot of good information from an experienced D1 official.

rockyroad Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 554539)
"My last thought on this play is that the mechanics book clearly states that the Lead has primary coverage for this play (p. 42)"--John W. Adams

It would also be nice if Mr. Adams would clarify this mechanic. There is NO WAY that the Lead has primary coverage on a drive to the basket from the Center's side. When the crash is clearly on the Center's side, it has to be his call. Mr. Adams should state that the Lead has primary coverage on a drive to the basket when it comes down the middle of the lane. Basically what they are trying to do is give it to the Lead when the play is on the dividing line and in a gray area. It is absurb to think that the Lead should have primary coverage for a crash which takes place on the block outside the FT lane line on the Center's side.

It wasn't the primary defender who jumped in there - it was a secondary defender, and so it was the L's call to make.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 554600)
He also said, as previously stated here, that they are moving more toward having the L take these calls, that are coming at them down the lane.

For some reason, it seems easier to hold the signal as T or C than it is to hold the signal as L. My guess is that this has a lot to do with who takes the call.

rockyroad Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 554619)
For some reason, it seems easier to hold the signal as T or C than it is to hold the signal as L. My guess is that this has a lot to do with who takes the call.

Good point, Bob - and one that is part of my pre-game conference. We always talk about the outside officials being "slow to show" on drives to the basket. Just to try to head off any of these "blarge" situations.

Rich Thu Dec 04, 2008 08:43am

This morning's 60 Seconds on Officiating (how did I get on that list, anyway) covers the blarge.

Here's the only interesting comment in that article (to me, anyway):

"In a three person crew, mechanics differ on the level. While NFHS/IAABO mechanics still allow the CENTER to officiate their half of the paint ... and CCA mechanics encourage the LEAD to take all block-charges in the paint."

GoodwillRef Thu Dec 04, 2008 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 555295)
This morning's 60 Seconds on Officiating (how did I get on that list, anyway) covers the blarge.

Here's the only interesting comment in that article (to me, anyway):

"In a three person crew, mechanics differ on the level. While NFHS/IAABO mechanics still allow the CENTER to officiate their half of the paint ... and CCA mechanics encourage the LEAD to take all block-charges in the paint."

It seems to me that it was easier to change the CCA manual than it was to change the mindset of the officials. Similar to the men going tableside for "one" season and then going back to opposite table after calling fouls.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 05, 2008 06:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 554605)
It wasn't the primary defender who jumped in there - it was a secondary defender, and so it was the L's call to make.

From where did that secondary defender come? In which official's primary was this defender during the play?

Nevadaref Fri Dec 05, 2008 06:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 554564)
Actually, that is not my understanding. It was stressed at our pre-season clinics that the Lead has everything in the lane. It doesn't matter which side of the basket it's on. If it's coming to the basket, then once it gets inside the lane, the Lead has first crack.

I agree with this, and this was the other part of what was stressed at the clinics. Inside the lane, it's the Lead; but the opposite block is still the C.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 555295)
This morning's 60 Seconds on Officiating (how did I get on that list, anyway) covers the blarge.

Here's the only interesting comment in that article (to me, anyway):

"In a three person crew, mechanics differ on the level. While NFHS/IAABO mechanics still allow the CENTER to officiate their half of the paint ... and CCA mechanics encourage the LEAD to take all block-charges in the paint."

The same was covered in the meeting that I attended. We looked at each other and all said, "Huh? Nah, they can't really mean it that way. They just phrased it poorly when writing it."

If the NCAA is really saying that it wants the Lead official to call on the other half of the lane through those big bodies, then they simply haven't thought this one through very well. That's such a poor idea.

PS I am amused by the comment by Goodwillref! :D

rockyroad Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 555587)
From where did that secondary defender come? In which official's primary was this defender during the play?

From the stands???

The defender came from the C's primary, but the dribbler had also entered the C's primary and that became his most competitive match-up, thus making the other defender a secondary defender, and the crash becomes the L's call. It ain't that hard...

icallfouls Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 555587)
From where did that secondary defender come? In which official's primary was this defender during the play?

Its not that hard to see that the defender was coming frm the C's primary. The dribbler was coming from the T's and into the C's primary. The C now has primary responsibility for the dribbler and his defender coming around the screen (the screen action up top was also the C's primary). The defender coming to give help is now the responsibility of the L.

You said it yourself, according the our new directive, the L is responsible for plays coming toward them. The L made the call, and if the C had been "slow to show" (usually covered in pregame), then this might not have been a BLARGE situation.

It seems clear cut.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1