![]() |
Inbounding violation
When a team a is on offense, and team b knocks the ball out of bounds on the baseline, team a obviously gets the opportunity to inbound the ball on the baseline. is it legal for team a to lob the ball to a player in the back court without receiving an over and back violation
|
Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
Quote:
To understand the basis for the answer, you have to call the Mythbusters: During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established. |
Quote:
NCAA - yes. NBA - no. That is probably why you have some confusion on this issue. |
If they can do it from the sidleine, why couldn't they do it from the endline?
(and, how do you quote a post?) |
It's As Easy As Pie ...
Quote:
Good luck. Have fun. Try to spell things properly (use the spell check) and try to use proper grammar. We have a "Proper Spelling Guy", and "Proper Grammar Guy", who are ambush predators, just looking for any opportunity to keep our Forum free of incorrect spelling, and poor grammar. If you're an official, try to use proper language. Improper language would include examples such as: a player calling timeout (a request), a foul for over the back (a push), etc. Rule citations use hyphens (4-4-1), while casebook citations use periods (10.3.4). Sometimes we're tougher on fellow officials than we are on coaches, and fanboys. |
Is This A Rhetorical Question ???
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55am. |