The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Whistle Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50021-double-whistle-situation.html)

Nevadaref Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 553126)
There are shared primary areas, though. There's even one area shared by three officials that can (and does) lead to a triple whistle.

You should check the current NFHS Officials Manual. The dual coverage area was dropped a couple of years ago.

TravelinMan Wed Nov 26, 2008 09:07am

So what does the rest of the forum think about pre-gaming blarge this way. i.e., primary responsibility. This is the way they addressed blarge in NY and NC. I'd have a very difficult time selling a double foul. I would rather avoid the blarge AT ALL COSTS. Jack BTW Wish everybody a Happy Thanksgiving. This forum has helped me so much in improving as an official.

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 26, 2008 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TravelinMan (Post 553366)
I'd have a very difficult time selling a double foul.

Why? :confused:

Quote:

I would rather avoid the blarge AT ALL COSTS.
Why? :confused:

TravelinMan Wed Nov 26, 2008 09:29am

Scrapper -

I am of the opinion that you can't have both a charge and a block on the same play. It is either one or the other. That is why I try to avoid it at all costs. It's kinda like a crocogator. That's an animal with the upper body of a crocodile and the lower body of an alligator. It's the meanest animal alive. You would be too if you couldn't take a S***!

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TravelinMan (Post 553376)
I am of the opinion that you can't have both a charge and a block on the same play. It is either one or the other.

While I am of the same opinion as you, the rules (case plays) tell us EXPLICITLY that when officials give differing signals, you assess both as a double foul. It doesn't matter at all whether I am of this OPINION or not.

And as for selling it, it's amazingly easy. You just start the sentence by saying, "Coach, BY RULE. . ."

mick Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 553388)
While I am of the same opinion as you, the rules (case plays) tell us EXPLICITLY that when officials give differing signals, you assess both as a double foul. It doesn't matter at all whether I am of this OPINION or not.

And as for selling it, it's amazingly easy. You just start the sentence by saying, "Coach, BY RULE. . ."

Nice!
Thanks.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 553312)
Question: Why do we form an angry mob about a backcourt interpretation but defend this issue with its direct contradiction?

Let me put my pitchfork and torch down for minute and try to explain it. ;)

The backcourt interp we yell and scream about is just wrong from a rules standpoint. It is an (apparent) mistake by the NFHS. We'll jump up and down about it all day long, then actually go out and make that call at night, because that's what we're supposed to do. (And, of course, grumble while giving the signal...)

The blarge call is essentially a mistake by the officials. If the officials are doing their job properly, the primary official will be making the call. But what happens when two officials make conflicting calls about the same play? The case play tells us what to do - we have to report both fouls. It's not that the NFHS is telling us that both a charge and a block can actually happen at the same time, they're just telling us how to handle the situation where two officials have disagreed (for however short a time) on a call. I believe I read at one point the reason behind this is the theory that no official has the right to over-rule another's call. If everyone sees an official call a charge, then another official comes in and says, "It's in my primary - it's a block!", then that second official has seemingly over-ruled the first.

To me, it's no different than what happens when an official blows the whistle on a TO request when that team isn't entitled to a TO - you still grant the TO anyway.

In both cases, it's an official's mistake in some way, and the rules tell us what to do in those cases. I don't happen to agree - I would rather do it the way the NCAA-W handle it by the two officials coming together and coming out with one call. But, we don't get that option in NFHS rules. We can grumble about it all day long, then go out and make sure we get the call right in the first place so this never comes into play.

walter Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 553388)
While I am of the same opinion as you, the rules (case plays) tell us EXPLICITLY that when officials give differing signals, you assess both as a double foul. It doesn't matter at all whether I am of this OPINION or not.

And as for selling it, it's amazingly easy. You just start the sentence by saying, "Coach, BY RULE. . ."

I had this twice last season (yikes!!!) in two different games. I was working with the same official who just refuses to refrain from giving preliminary signals whether it is in his primary or not and it got us in trouble on two bang, bang, got it sell it calls in my primary (lead). Regardless, I got both coaches together and did just what Scrapper suggested, "Coaches, by rule, we have a double foul situation..." In both games (one a playoff game), the coaches accepted the explanantion and we went on from POI. I pregame this every time no matter the level of game or experience of partner(s). This one official just refuses and gives a prelim on every call.

TravelinMan Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:34am

Scrapper, M&M - good explanation, thanks. I will add that to my pregame.

TravelinMan Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:36am

Walter, thanks. Will add that (hold up on prelim signal) to my pre-game as well.

eyezen Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TravelinMan (Post 553399)
Walter, thanks. Will add that (hold up on prelim signal) to my pre-game as well.

Yes, its called "blow and hold" and its one of the best tools you can have in your toolbag.

CoachP Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by walter (Post 553394)
I had this twice last season (yikes!!!) in two different games. I was working with the same official who just refuses to refrain from giving preliminary signals whether it is in his primary or not and it got us in trouble on two bang, bang, got it sell it calls in my primary (lead). Regardless, I got both coaches together and did just what Scrapper suggested, "Coaches, by rule, we have a double foul situation..." In both games (one a playoff game), the coaches accepted the explanantion and we went on from POI. I pregame this every time no matter the level of game or experience of partner(s). This one official just refuses and gives a prelim on every call.

I thought double foul (and Double T)= arrow?

Smitty Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 553427)
I thought double foul (and Double T)= arrow?

POI (which might be arrow, might not)

CoachP Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 553429)
POI (which might be arrow, might not)

So what's the POI on the infamous blarge? Lead has a PC and C has a block?

M&M Guy Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 553431)
So what's the POI on the infamous blarge? Lead has a PC and C has a block?

Rule 4-36. If there was team control, then ball is given to the team last in control at the time of the double foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1