The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 23, 2002, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally posted by rburn22281
2 Questions:

1. Guy is fouled with .5 Secs left before half. Shooting one and one. I cleared the lane. Is that a bad call?

2. Shooter on a fast break. Defensive player slaps his hand. I immediately blow my whistle. While players momentum takes them out of bounds, offensive player throws the ball in the back of the defensive player. I call a Technical on offensive player. Any comments will help.

I did learn one thing though. I am retiring from adult men league officiating.

s/f

1. As others have said, it is not the correct call. Why? Because the ball becomes playable if A1 (the shooter) misses the first shot when it touches/or is touched by a player. An A team member could get the rebound and sink a basket before the horn sounds. Same holds for the second shot of a 1 + 1. It is conceivable, but not probable, that B could score off of the missed shot.


2. Don’t get caught in the hand is part of the ball trap. The hand is only part of the ball if the ball is touching the hand. This takes place mostly when A1 is shooting or is holding the ball. On a dribble make darn sure that the ball and A1 hand is in contact when B1 hits A1 hand. Think of the advantage B1 would gain if he/she were allowed to whack A1’s hand away from path the returning ball because “The hand is part of the ball.”

2.1 Without seeing the play I am not sure what you are saying. Is the throwing back of the ball and the momentum out of bounds all part of the same play? Or, did the player gain possession of the ball (a one play/situation) and then throw it into the back of the other player. (A two play/situation)

If the going out of bounds and the throwing/flinging/scooping/batting the ball back onto the court is all part of the one play/situation AND you do not feel that A1 tried to hit B1 the I would have a “No Call”

The key for me is the intent of the throw. Was it a deliberate action? In the 2-play/situation scenario it most likely was, if so, a T is warranted. BUT if not, I would have a no call. Plus, a game management problem.

[Edited by RecRef on May 23rd, 2002 at 03:40 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1