The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Baseline Throw In Hits Net... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50017-baseline-throw-hits-net.html)

Coltdoggs Mon Nov 24, 2008 03:21pm

Baseline Throw In Hits Net...
 
I know that if the throw in hits the backside of the backboard, that is OOB.

Had a throw in yesterday that hit the net....I let it go thinking that it was ok but it made me wonder cause I've not seen that in 8 years of officiating.

Rich Mon Nov 24, 2008 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs (Post 552857)
I know that if the throw in hits the backside of the backboard, that is OOB.

Had a throw in yesterday that hit the net....I let it go thinking that it was ok but it made me wonder cause I've not seen that in 8 years of officiating.

Really?

It's legal.

Coltdoggs Mon Nov 24, 2008 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 552858)
Really?

It's legal.

Yes...first time the inbound pass from baseline clipped the net in my 8 years of calling games.

M&M Guy Mon Nov 24, 2008 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs (Post 552860)
Yes...first time the inbound pass from baseline clipped the net in my 8 years of calling games.

Ahh...but what is the call if the throw-in had hit the rim, and landed in-bounds, instead of the net?

Lotto Mon Nov 24, 2008 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 552862)
Ahh...but what is the call if the throw-in had hit the rim, and landed in-bounds, instead of the net?

Also legal.

just another ref Mon Nov 24, 2008 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs (Post 552857)
I know that if the throw in hits the backside of the backboard, that is OOB.

Had a throw in yesterday that hit the net....I let it go thinking that it was ok but it made me wonder cause I've not seen that in 8 years of officiating.

Why would it not be OK? Is the net OOB?:)

M&M Guy Mon Nov 24, 2008 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 552866)
Also legal.

Ok, but what if the ball hit the rim, then touched the net (from the inside), continued through the basket, and landed in-bounds?

just another ref Mon Nov 24, 2008 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 552869)
Ok, but what if the ball hit the rim, then touched the net (from the inside), continued through the basket, and landed in-bounds?


one word: impossible

M&M Guy Mon Nov 24, 2008 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 552870)
one word: impossible

I actually see that happen many times during a game, don't you? (Except for the throw-in part...)

just another ref Mon Nov 24, 2008 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 552871)
I actually see that happen many times during a game, don't you? (Except for the throw-in part...)


I was actually picturing the ball entering the basket from the bottom. I have called this violation once in 20+ years.

M&M Guy Mon Nov 24, 2008 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 552873)
I was actually picturing the ball entering the basket from the bottom.

Ah, I get you now. Perhaps I wasn't clear enough on the direction of the ball; I was picturing it hitting the rim, then falling through from above.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 552873)
I have called this violation once in 20+ years.

I, too, have only called it once.

Anyway, the point of my incessant questions was to try to point out to our buddy Coltdoggs that he probably was probably thinking in the back of his mind that there's something wrong with touching the net during a throw-in, but the real violation would be if the ball goes untouched through the basket during a throw-in (9-2-7).

SamIAm Mon Nov 24, 2008 05:20pm

As long as were in the neighborhood -

What if the throw-in lodges betwixed the rim and backboard?

Adam Mon Nov 24, 2008 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 552877)
As long as were in the neighborhood -

What if the throw-in lodges betwixed the rim and backboard?

Has the thrower met his obligations in 9-2, specifically 9-2-8? :D

Camron Rust Mon Nov 24, 2008 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 552877)
As long as were in the neighborhood -

What if the throw-in lodges betwixed the rim and backboard?

Are you talking about the backboard the rim is attached to or the other backboard? :D Becasue, if it is the other backboard, that means we've got bigger problems!!!! :eek:

referee99 Mon Nov 24, 2008 08:31pm

Vocabulary
 
Just cuz I'm in a buried in the book, 'precise language' mood....

Baseline = 'End line'
Rim = 'Basket' which consists of the 'Ring' and 'Flange' and/or 'Braces'.

No offense to anyone. I just wish I could stop calling it 'the key'!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1