The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
A new one on me yesteday...

Happened yesterday, HS wreck ball...I am lead, shot goes up, caroms off the rim right to my partner who is at 3 point line, and not sure why, but he catches the ball.!!!!! Everyone stops for a second...looks at him.....and then he drops the ball to the ground and we play on. Should I have blown it dead and gone to the arrow?? I was dumbfounded.

I would have moved, but he is kind of new and he said his instinct was to catch it from all the years of playing. I suggested he try to work on that one pronto....lol
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 08:04am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidMadness View Post
Happened yesterday, HS wreck ball...I am lead, shot goes up, caroms off the rim right to my partner who is at 3 point line, and not sure why, but he catches the ball.!!!!! Everyone stops for a second...looks at him.....and then he drops the ball to the ground and we play on. Should I have blown it dead and gone to the arrow?? I was dumbfounded.

I would have moved, but he is kind of new and he said his instinct was to catch it from all the years of playing. I suggested he try to work on that one pronto....lol

Going to the arrow makes sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post

Going to the arrow makes sense to me.
I say going to the bar after makes sense, and your partner is definitely buying.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 08:19am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidMadness View Post
Happened yesterday, HS wreck ball...I am lead, shot goes up, caroms off the rim right to my partner who is at 3 point line, and not sure why, but he catches the ball.!!!!! Everyone stops for a second...looks at him.....and then he drops the ball to the ground and we play on. Should I have blown it dead and gone to the arrow?? I was dumbfounded.

I would have moved, but he is kind of new and he said his instinct was to catch it from all the years of playing. I suggested he try to work on that one pronto....lol
Pick the two players who are closest to him when he caught the ball, and on opposite teams, and have a mid-court jump ball between them at for possession.

In all seriousness, using the arrow is the way to go once the official gains possession. It's the only fair way to go, I think.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Pick the two players who are closest to him when he caught the ball, and on opposite teams, and have a mid-court jump ball between them at for possession.

In all seriousness, using the arrow is the way to go once the official gains possession. It's the only fair way to go, I think.
What if the 2 players were A1 and A2?

Too funny, OP!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 08:38am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Pick the two players who are closest to him when he caught the ball, and on opposite teams, and have a mid-court jump ball between them at for possession.

In all seriousness, using the arrow is the way to go once the official gains possession. It's the only fair way to go, I think.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
What if the 2 players were A1 and A2?

Too funny, OP!
I thought of that!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
I thought of that!
Ha, missed it! No more playing on the net while trying to work for me today!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 135
I've seen it twice...

I've had two partners catch a ball passed directly to him and deflected right to him, both as sheer reflex actions. One partner killed the play and gave a throw in to the team last in control. One killed it and went to the AP arrow.

During the first (8th grade), we were being observed, and the observer told partner to drop the ball, move away and continue play because we are part of the court, and we wouldn't blow the whistle if the ball bounced off of us...

During the second, (adult) I gave my .02 based on the first, and partner went with the AP b/c he felt it was unfair to return possession when there was no possession upon his catch.... nobody argued the decision. I didn't press it any further.

I like the "drop it and play on" theory, unless I blow the whistle. Then I think that unless one team would clearly have regained possession, we go to the arrow via inadvertent whistle.

Z
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1