The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inquiring minds part 2 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49988-inquiring-minds-part-2-a.html)

BillyMac Sat Nov 22, 2008 12:49pm

Who You Gonna Call ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 552469)
Luckily, in the 8 years I've been doing HS ball, no one has ever dribbled a throw in I was administering. Not sure what I would have done.

That's why we have the Mythbusters.

Back In The Saddle Sat Nov 22, 2008 12:59pm

Here's a little stronger ammo, I think, to the dribbling while OOB for a throw-in question:

NFHS 6-1-1 "The game and each extra period shall be started by a jump ball in the center restraining circle. After any subsequent dead ball, the only way to get the ball live is to resume play by a jump ball in the center restraining circle, by a throw-in or by a free throw. The dribble and traveling rules are not in effect in these situations."

NFHS Basketball Rules Fundamentals, #5 "5. Neither the dribble nor traveling rule operates during the jump ball, throw-in or free throw. "

BillyMac Sat Nov 22, 2008 01:03pm

Is This What They Mean By An Esteemed Member ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 552474)
NFHS 6-1-1 and NFHS Basketball Rules Fundamentals, #5

Great citations. Just what we would expect from a Forum member with almost 4000 posts, who is also a Mythbuster.

Bad Zebra Sat Nov 22, 2008 01:43pm

Very enlightening posts gentlemen. I can say I truly learned something new today.

However...That still doesn't resolve the case from the OP. Would placing the ball on the floor fall under the rules concerning dribbling or traveling?

Vinski Sat Nov 22, 2008 03:42pm

From what I can tell the rules don’t say a thing about it being illegal for A1 to place the ball on the floor once the ball is at the thrower’s disposal. However, it does say that a defender cannot cross the boundary line and further more may not contact the ball. If the defender does cross the line, then we have a delay of game warning or a T if this is the second delay. If the defender also contacts the ball (in the possession of the thrower or not) we also have a technical foul.

A player shall not:
10-3-11 . . . Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3.

Adam Sat Nov 22, 2008 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 552469)
Well...there we have it. Seems the Fed allowed this case to fly in the face of it's own rule. Luckily, in the 8 years I've been doing HS ball, no one has ever dribbled a throw in I was administering. Not sure what I would have done...

With regard to the OP then, we need to debate whether placing a ball OB is materially different than bouncing it. Doesn't seem like a rule book is going to help here. Headache seems to be coming back.

What rule? The rule says a throwin pass may not touch the floor OOB before going IB. Placing the ball on the floor or dribbling it do not equal a throwin pass, therefore it's not against any rule.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 552478)
Very enlightening posts gentlemen. I can say I truly learned something new today.

However...That still doesn't resolve the case from the OP. Would placing the ball on the floor fall under the rules concerning dribbling or traveling?

It's neither. There is no such thing as a dribble or travel during a throwin. A1 may do a jitterbug or a dribbling demonstration during the throwin (or both) so long as he releases the throwin pass within 5 seconds.

Back In The Saddle Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vinski (Post 552487)
From what I can tell the rules don’t say a thing about it being illegal

Thank you. Somebody else who gets it.

mbyron Sun Nov 23, 2008 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 552507)
A1 may do a jitterbug or a dribbling demonstration during the throwin (or both) so long as he releases the throwin pass within 5 seconds.

Could you post a video of this, please? :cool:

Kelvin green Sun Nov 23, 2008 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 552469)
Well...there we have it. Seems the Fed allowed this case to fly in the face of it's own rule. Luckily, in the 8 years I've been doing HS ball, no one has ever dribbled a throw in I was administering. Not sure what I would have done...

With regard to the OP then, we need to debate whether placing a ball OB is materially different than bouncing it. Doesn't seem like a rule book is going to help here. Headache seems to be coming back.


I dont think it is as muddled as it appears....I have mdified thre rule with the definitions...

Rule 9-2-2: The ball shall be thrown, batted, or rolled by another player by the thrower directly into the court from out of bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (in bounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. The opeartive word is pass

If he aint passing and drbbling and traveling dont apply during a throw-in, it must be legal.... If it's not prohibited, it is allowed.
i

Adam Sun Nov 23, 2008 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 552562)
Could you post a video of this, please? :cool:

Negative Ghost Rider.

mbyron Sun Nov 23, 2008 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 552602)
Negative Ghost Rider.

What's a negative ghost? :confused:

BillyMac Sun Nov 23, 2008 04:28pm

I'm Positive ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 552642)
What's a negative ghost?

Why would you find this confusing. It's the opposite of a positive ghost.

Two atoms are walking down the street and they run into each other. One says to the other, "Are you all right?". "No, I lost an electron!". "Are you sure?". "I'm positive!".

Hey. I'm a chemist. That's the best I can do. No one can compete with Mark Padgett.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1