The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I blew one last night.. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49948-i-blew-one-last-night.html)

bob jenkins Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 551698)
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.


Agreed -- but if it was a pass, then A1 had to be holding the ball, however briefly.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:48pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Ch1town http://forum.officiating.com/images/...s/viewpost.gif
When A2 taps it, where's the location of the ball?

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 551666)
Inbounds. :)

That's an inside joke! ;)

Wait, we aren't supposed to be making jokes on the forum anymore or having any fun whatsoever.

All_Heart Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 551698)
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.

This is a good way to test for player control! I never heard or thought of it this way. Thanks, Scrapper :)

refnrev Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness (Post 551653)
Throw in at the division line...A1 throws in to A2 in front court, doesn't catch it, just taps it back to A1 in the backcourt, I toot...Backcourt violation...No one in the whole gym knew I blew it, including my partner, My thinking is there was never any team control in the frontcourt off the throw-in, so therefore no backcourt violaton..am I correct ??

__________________________________

I'm not sure you blew it. I'd have to see it, but if the tap you mentioned qualified as a pass....then you have a violation. From what you've posted I'm leaning that way.

ODJ Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:57pm

CB 9-9-3 supports violation. Throw-in ends when legally touched. A2 touched ball with FC status. A1 grabs it in BC.

CoachP Wed Nov 19, 2008 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 551727)
CB 9-9-3 supports violation. Throw-in ends when legally touched. A2 touched ball with FC status. A1 grabs it in BC.

Almost,..... don't forget, you still have to have team control mixed in there before a BC violation can occur.
.

CoachP Wed Nov 19, 2008 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 551665)
If it was a "controlled tap" (and I know that's not a defined term), then I'd also have a violation. If A2 fumbled tha ball, or it was a bad pass and A2 was just abtting it away from a defensive player, etc., then the play would be legal.

Now we could go back to the ol' A1 offensive rebound "controlled tap" that ends up untouched in the BC until A2 touches. We'd have to apply the same?

I agree with others it's looks funny, smells bad, but legal.

IMO

A Pennsylvania Coach Wed Nov 19, 2008 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 551698)
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.

So if an offensive player is fouled while tapping back a missed shot, you would not award free throw(s)?

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 19, 2008 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 551736)
So if an offensive player is fouled while tapping back a missed shot, you would not award free throw(s)?

That is not correct. NFHS 4-1-1 specifically says that a player who jumps and taps the ball toward the goal is an airborne shooter.

One of our most basic definitions is that a player is in control of the ball when s/he is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Period. That's the only 2 ways to have player control. Batting or tapping the ball does NOT establish player control. Therefore, there is no such thing as a "controlled tap".

CoachP Wed Nov 19, 2008 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 551736)
So if an offensive player is fouled while tapping back a missed shot, you would not award free throw(s)?

Isn't a "tap" a "try" as long as you are attempting to make a basket?

Scrapper beat me....

A Pennsylvania Coach Wed Nov 19, 2008 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 551737)
That is not correct. NFHS 4-1-1 specifically says that a player who jumps and taps the ball toward the goal is an airborne shooter.

One of our most basic definitions is that a player is in control of the ball when s/he is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Period. That's the only 2 ways to have player control. Batting or tapping the ball does NOT establish player control. Therefore, there is no such thing as a "controlled tap".


Actually 4-1-1 says "has tapped (past tense) the ball and has not returned to the floor." Either way, that play isn't quite the same. 4-12-1 says "holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds." So I guess it comes down to your definition of holding a ball. I'd call it a gray area. One could say that controlling the ball to tap it is "holding" it, even if just for a moment. The opposite could be argued as well.

Mark Padgett Wed Nov 19, 2008 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 551740)
A One could say that controlling the ball to tap it is "holding" it, even if just for a moment.

And one would be wrong. The ball would have to "come to rest" in the hand even for a split second for it to be considered being "held".

Remember - there's a huge difference between "holding" a keg and "tapping" a keg. ;)

fullor30 Wed Nov 19, 2008 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 551738)
Isn't a "tap" a "try" as long as you are attempting to make a basket?

Scrapper beat me....

And you both beat me........

fiasco Wed Nov 19, 2008 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by a4caster (Post 551704)
But you know the funny thing with this play is the inverse, for lack of a better term. If team A has the ball in the FC, basic play, and a pass is deflected by B into the BC, A can legally retrieve the ball. Make sure I'm right on that first.
By using the discussion above, B never had team control, yet we are allowing A to retain possession. Yet a tap on a throw-in doesn't have the same restrictions. Anyone else see the contradiction in this rule?
Just my mid-morning ramblings (lack of sleep and no coffee yet)

If you allow B to tap it into the backcourt then not allow A to touch it while it is in their backcourt, you're penalizing A big time.

B taps it into the backcourt and then they are legally the only ones allowed to touch it. Major advantage. That's what the rules are for, to take away advantages like that and make the game FAIR.

mick Wed Nov 19, 2008 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 551698)
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.

I agree. Controlled tap be damned !
Rebounder taps a missed shot to backcourt and teammate retrieves the ball. ...Start the 10 second count.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1