The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free throw violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49819-free-throw-violation.html)

rpadgett46231 Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:03am

Free throw violation
 
A1 is the free throw shooter- B1 is the defense occupying a lane space. B1 steps into the lane early- A1 shoots- completely misses the rim-
My question- is does A1 get to shoot again- this is the 2nd shot of 2.

Thanks

jritchie Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rpadgett46231 (Post 550006)
A1 is the free throw shooter- B1 is the defense occupying a lane space. B1 steps into the lane early- A1 shoots- completely misses the rim-
My question- is does A1 get to shoot again- this is the 2nd shot of 2.

Thanks


Double violation, unless you say that because of B1 stepping in, A1 was disconcerted and was caused to shoot the airball, then they would get the 2nd shot over! And they would have a good argument for it too!

rpadgett46231 Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:09am

Free Violation
 
So your saying since its a double violation- you go to the Alternating Possession??

tjones1 Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:11am

If all B1 did was step into the lane early, I've got a double violation. Go AP.

jritchie Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:12am

yes, if you don't say the shooter was disconcerted and allow them to shoot again, Arrow!

tjones1 Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rpadgett46231 (Post 550009)
So your saying since its a double violation- you go to the Alternating Possession??


Exactly.

CoachP Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:36am

This is where you would have to judge if A1 was disconcerted. It's (the OP)worded that you have B1 stepping into the lane THEN A1 shooting. Could be/may not be disconcertion...you decide.

But, normally, the ball is in the air when the B1's of the world violate, trying to time the "hit on the rim/backboard". That's double violation and AP

Coach Bill Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:09pm

So, you'd call a violation on B-1, if he stepped in right when the ball was going to touch the rim, but happened to fall a hair short?

jdw3018 Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 550029)
So, you'd call a violation on B-1, if he stepped in right when the ball was going to touch the rim, but happened to fall a hair short?

If B-1 stepped in after the ball had clearly missed, then it's not a violation because the FT was over.

So, in your scenario, no violation.

CoachP Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 550029)
So, you'd call a violation on B-1, if he stepped in right when the ball was going to touch the rim, but happened to fall a hair short?

Bill, you and I should both know an official can't possibly see both of those happen at the same time!!:D

tjones1 Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 550053)
If B-1 stepped in after the ball had clearly missed, then it's not a violation because the FT was over.

So, in your scenario, no violation.

It isn't exact... but this is a case play.

I believe the play in the case book the shooter steps on the line and then B commits a violation.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 12, 2008 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 550056)
It isn't exact... but this is a case play.

I believe the play in the case book the shooter steps on the line and then B commits a violation.

9.1.3 Sit H

tjones1 Wed Nov 12, 2008 08:56pm

That's it...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 550183)
9.1.3 Sit H


Thanks, Nevada! I was away from my books when I posted.

refnrev Wed Nov 12, 2008 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 550055)
Bill, you and I should both know an official can't possibly see both of those happen at the same time!!:D

_______________

No because two different officials are watching for each of those things.:p

CoachP Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev (Post 550197)
_______________

No because two different officials are watching for each of those things.:p

Then who decides which happens first?;)

newera21 Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:41pm

Following is a NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretation from 1995-96. It sort of fits this situation but not exactly:

SITUATION #17: A1 is preparing to attempt the first of two free throws. B1, who is occupying a marked lane space, fakes as if to enter the lane prematurely. A1 releases the ball but it does not strike the ring or enter the basket.

RULING: The violation for faking applies only to players along the lane and only if an opponent enters the lane early because of the fake. However, in this situation the administering official may judge that the fake disconcerted A1. If disconcertion is called, the violation by A1 is disregarded and a substitute throw is awarded. If disconcertion is not ruled, A1's violation cancels the first attempt and the second attempt is awarded. (9-1-3,4, Penalty 3)

I have the remaining interps from 95-96, but am not sure how to post them.

CoachP Thu Nov 13, 2008 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by newera21 (Post 550324)
Following is a NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretation from 1995-96. It sort of fits this situation but not exactly:

SITUATION #17: A1 is preparing to attempt the first of two free throws. B1, who is occupying a marked lane space, fakes as if to enter the lane prematurely. A2 releases the ball but it does not strike the ring or enter the basket.

RULING: The violation for faking applies only to players along the lane and only if an opponent enters the lane early because of the fake. However, in this situation the administering official may judge that the fake disconcerted A1. If disconcertion is called, the violation by A1 is disregarded and a substitute throw is awarded. If disconcertion is not ruled, A1's violation cancels the first attempt and the second attempt is awarded. (9-1-3,4, Penalty 3)

I have the remaining interps from 95-96, but am not sure how to post them.


Technical foul on A2 for knowingly shooting A1's FT.

refnrev Thu Nov 13, 2008 01:40pm

That all depends upon who has the fastest whistle!:) Just kidding.

M&M Guy Thu Nov 13, 2008 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 550332)
Technical foul on A2 for knowingly shooting A1's FT.

<font>:)</font>


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1