![]() |
LGP Under the Basket?
I'm not aware that there's any restriction from obtaining LGP under the basket, is there? If defender B-1 is under the basket and A-1 releases a shot and subsequently charges into B-1, that's still a PC foul, right? NBA's a different story, but NFHS there's no difference. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
|
No correction to be made.
|
What about for NCAA?
I keep hearing commentators (I know, I know :rolleyes:) comment on how there was no foul called because the defender was underneath the basket. |
In OP, it says he released the shot and then charged. Does the basket count?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the shooter has landed before he charges into the defender, then at most it's a common foul, count the basket and possibly shoot bonus. More likely however, the ball has already passed through the basket and is dead, unless the foul is deemed intentional or flagrant, it is ignored. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Note that the NBA rule isn't as simple as "can't take a charge while in the dotted semi-circle." |
Quote:
All this changed last season, and the rule in NCAA-W was replaced with language to the effect of "LGP can occur anywhere on the floor". So that defender under the basket can now draw a charge, no matter where they are standing and no matter where the offense started their path. I like this philosophy better, in that it takes away a level of judgement (was the defender far enough under the basket so that LGP doesn't matter?), and it takes away that possible "free shot" an offensive player might have on a defender who is occupying a legal spot on the floor. |
Here's the NFHS ruling
10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)
|
Quote:
FED - NCAA-Women Airborne Shooter exisits so this tends to be more common call however last year NCAAW specificall edited the rule book to remove the codicile that a player under the basket could only be charged with a blocking foul in such a situation. |
Quote:
The difference is that a common foul committed by an airborne shooter is not a player control foul under NCAAM rules. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Do I have that right, Scrappy? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
You kill me, Snaqs. |
Quote:
Go ahead and make that call. It's your funeral. |
Quote:
Or so I'm told. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
<font size=1>(Shhh...don't tell anyone - we're accidentally having fun.)</font size>
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As long as the reason is authorized, and I think "by design" is an authorized reason, it can't be called for a violation. |
Quote:
Now, perhaps in CA with their numerous earthquakes, this isn't really an issue? Quote:
|
Quote:
Something wrong with the building code? |
Quote:
The floor must extend at least 2 inches OOB on all four sides, otherwise you'd have no OOB lines. And with no OOB lines, what would we have to argue about? :eek: |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18am. |