The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
throw in

On a throw-in that is located OOBs in the FC of team B, B1 passes the ball to B3 who has left the front court and jumped into the air. B3 catches the pass and while still in the air throws the ball to a teammate in the backcourt. The official calls a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
On a throw-in that is located OOBs in the FC of team B, B1 passes the ball to B3 who has left the front court and jumped into the air. B3 catches the pass and while still in the air throws the ball to a teammate in the backcourt. The official calls a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
I'm curious. Are you not sure or are you offering quiz questions for newbies?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
quiz questions for all,
my season starts tomorrow so as I go through my review stuff I'm just spittin' out plays to see where they land.

others seasons begin in the comming weeks so it does us all good to see some wierd ones.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Never had this happen, but from what I remember that is a backcourt violation if the player catches the ball in the air and doesn't return to the floor in the backcourt before passing to a teammate in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
Why wouldn't it be a violation? Ball was controlled by a player established in FC (that is where he took off from) and passed to a teammate in BC.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:49pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
On a throw-in that is located OOBs in the FC of team B, B1 passes the ball to B3 who has left the front court and jumped into the air. B3 catches the pass and while still in the air throws the ball to a teammate in the backcourt. The official calls a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
violation.....B3 could land anywhere, but the exception on a throw-in or jump ball applies only to the first player to touch the ball.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
Why wouldn't it be a violation? Ball was controlled by a player established in FC (that is where he took off from) and passed to a teammate in BC.
Right, but if he doesn't pass the ball to the teammate he can land in the backcourt with the ball and he has not committed a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
was just responding to the OP scenario and not discussing alternatives, but good point in case there is confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
FWIW, this (passing the ball to another playher) used to be legal in NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
On a throw-in that is located OOBs in the FC of team B, B1 passes the ball to B3 who has left the front court and jumped into the air. B3 catches the pass and while still in the air throws the ball to a teammate in the backcourt. The official calls a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
We discussed this play just last week. Why the need to post it again?
study guide question
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 sec throw in Stan Basketball 13 Wed Feb 15, 2006 01:45pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw to First JCurrie Baseball 4 Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:25pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Ridgeben Basketball 14 Fri Oct 31, 2003 12:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1