The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dealing with Coaches (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49753-dealing-coaches.html)

freddie_g2001 Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:29pm

Dealing with Coaches
 
Hello to all out there. I believe that every good Official does a self evaluation on his/her strengths and weaknesses. I know my biggest weakness on the floor is dealing with Coaches. I have really worked very hard on trying to improve in this area, but I was hoping to get some good "One liners" in dealing with coaches. I realize that every official is different and things that work for one official may not work for others. If anyone has ever worked Junior College games at New Mexico JC, Coach Voit is very tough on Officials. He wants a call every time down the floor. Good thing is he doesn't discrimenate. I believe he tries to work every Official he's ever seen. Anyway, I was wondering how to deal with a guy like that. I will stand by for any tips or methods. Thanks in advance for your help. freddie_g2001.

bob jenkins Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:35pm

See the "responding to coach speak" (and similar) threads.

OHBBREF Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 549084)
See the "responding to coach speak" (and similar) threads.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ach-speak.html

this one

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 07, 2008 02:09pm

BillyMac has a document he posts occasionally on this topic.

icallfouls Fri Nov 07, 2008 03:37pm

Now that coach Voight knows that you are looking for comebacks to his statements, and now he has the links to those statements, and the bulk of your name freddie, you might need to start a new list of one-liners :D

HitEmCold Fri Nov 07, 2008 06:38pm

I have been reading this forum and it helps me, as a coach, see the game the way an official does. I do have a question related to this topic, How should a coach handle a situation when an official makes a call and gives an explanation, but is wrong on the ruling? What is appropriate during the game? After the game? Should the official be made aware of the rule?

Curious to see what yall think.

Adam Fri Nov 07, 2008 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HitEmCold (Post 549165)
I have been reading this forum and it helps me, as a coach, see the game the way an official does. I do have a question related to this topic, How should a coach handle a situation when an official makes a call and gives an explanation, but is wrong on the ruling? What is appropriate during the game? After the game? Should the official be made aware of the rule?

Curious to see what yall think.

This is going to largely depend on a few things. What level of ball is this? Are the officials assigned by an area "assigner"? Are they hired by the AD, rec director, etc.? If they're assigned, you're best bet is to contact their assigner after the game; probably through your AD if you're looking at a school sponsored league.

If it's a rec league, AAU league, YMCA league, etc., you're better off approaching the director afte the game.

If, and only if, you have a really good raport with the official, you might be able to challenge it during the game. I highly recommend against this, however.

If you have a decent raport with the official, you might be able to bring it up after the game; perhaps in the form of a friendly wager.

HitEmCold Fri Nov 07, 2008 09:03pm

Thanks for the input snaqwells, since this is a school based ABA league I didn't want to push the issue hard, I did however want the call to be right the next time and unless the official is made aware of the rule, he could continue to make the same error. I have known him for several years and respect him, I will probably talk to him on a personal level sometime unless I don't get a chance to before he officiates another game of ours, then I will talk to him before the game. I tried to discuss it during the game but he didn't seem to eager to talk, so I just put it behind me for the remainder of the game.

Adam Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:02pm

There aren't a lot of good options for discussing rules during a game. If he's right or if he's wrong, you've got to go with it.
How he accepts your approach will depend on a few things, so I can't tell you how he'll take it. It's always (in my opinion) best to ask bring it up to him in a casual social setting, if you have the opportunity. Even before a game can sometimes be a poor way to start off a game.

I know what you're saying, though, in wanting the call to be right.

Can I ask what rule he got wrong?

bob jenkins Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HitEmCold (Post 549165)
I have been reading this forum and it helps me, as a coach, see the game the way an official does. I do have a question related to this topic, How should a coach handle a situation when an official makes a call and gives an explanation, but is wrong on the ruling? What is appropriate during the game? After the game? Should the official be made aware of the rule?

Curious to see what yall think.

"Could we both look that up after the game? One of us in going to learn something."

Adam Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 549215)
"Could we both look that up after the game? One of us in going to learn something."

You ever use this with a coach, Bob?

HitEmCold Sat Nov 08, 2008 06:46am

The official said an inbounding player cannot cross the plane of the base line or sidelines when inbounding the ball. From my results in looking up this rule, the inbounding player does not have plane restrictions, these restriction apply to the defense. He made this call four times, we were struggling with the press be applied by the defense and the official making the wrong call.

bob jenkins Sat Nov 08, 2008 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 549216)
You ever use this with a coach, Bob?

I have said, "I'll look that up after the game." And, guess what? The coach has been right (this happened twice in my first year or so).

Adam Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HitEmCold (Post 549241)
The official said an inbounding player cannot cross the plane of the base line or sidelines when inbounding the ball. From my results in looking up this rule, the inbounding player does not have plane restrictions, these restriction apply to the defense. He made this call four times, we were struggling with the press be applied by the defense and the official making the wrong call.

Ouch. One thing you might be able to do, having a decent raport with the official, is a variation of Bob's latest post here. The big fat caveat, however, is that you'd have to do it quietly so only he hears you. Suggest he look it up after the game. If he gives a positive answer, that may be all you need to do.

mbyron Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:28am

Snaq: you've used it twice in this thread. The word is 'rapport'. ;)

Mark Padgett Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 549257)
Snaq: you've used it twice in this thread. The word is 'rapport'. ;)

And the "t" is silent, just like the two "t's" in "Colbert Report". :)

Adam Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 549257)
Snaq: you've used it twice in this thread. The word is 'rapport'. ;)

Thanks, I knew it didn't look right.

Adam Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 549261)
And the "t" is silent, just like the two "t's" in "Colbert Report". :)

That's funny, just like the comedy is silent.

BillyMac Sat Nov 08, 2008 02:14pm

Who You Gonna Call ? Mythbusters ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HitEmCold (Post 549241)
The official said an inbounding player cannot cross the plane of the base line or sidelines when inbounding the ball. From my results in looking up this rule, the inbounding player does not have plane restrictions, these restriction apply to the defense. He made this call four times, we were struggling with the press be applied by the defense and the official making the wrong call.

A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.

The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.

The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.

HitEmCold Sun Nov 09, 2008 06:10pm

Today I approached the official who made this call. My timing could have been better, it was about five minutes before our game started when I noticed he was there to work our game. I truly did my best to bring the subject up in a friendly, non attacking way. I simply told him I went home and looked up the rule, and the inbounding player does not have a plane restriction. His reply was, "O.K., I will be sure to call you out on every mistake you make coaching today." I told him I thought he might respond like that, but I wasn't trying to disrespect him, and didn't know any other way to bring it up. I let him know I do respect him for being a great baseball coach( he coached my son), and all he does for youth sports in our community.

He actually called a decent game, was fair, and never called the inbounding player for breaking the plane.

Adam Sun Nov 09, 2008 06:28pm

He was kind of an a$$ in how he responded.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 549426)
He was kind of an a$$ in how he responded.

Yep. Which, IMHO, usually indicates either an ego of epic proportions, or significant insecurity, and sometimes the one is just a cover for the other. Hopefully he looked it up himself after the game.

TheOracle Mon Nov 10, 2008 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HitEmCold (Post 549165)
I have been reading this forum and it helps me, as a coach, see the game the way an official does. I do have a question related to this topic, How should a coach handle a situation when an official makes a call and gives an explanation, but is wrong on the ruling? What is appropriate during the game? After the game? Should the official be made aware of the rule?

Curious to see what yall think.

If you believe that the officials aere getting a rule wrong, you need to let them know that. If I was coaching, I would tell them nicely that I think they are getting the rule wrong. I would then ask the supervisor of officials after the game about it. By telling the officials they got the rule wrong, you give them the opportunity to get together and fix it. By going to the supervisor after the game if you still believe they are wrong, you get conformation that they are correct, or the officials will be penalized for not getting it right. Most importantly, if the officials did get the rule wrong, and did not get it fixed when you pointed it out, they'll never forget it or get it wrong again the the future. That's in everyone's best interest.

None of this needs to be heated. It happens.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1