![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Camron and NevadaRef are both correct. And my comments only refer to NFHS Rules because I do not have the time to address NCAA Rules at this moment. NFHS R4-S18 (Fighting): Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur when the ball is dead or live. Fighting includes, but is not limited to combative acts such as: ART. 1: An attempt to strike, punch or kick by using a fist, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether contact is made. ART. 2: An attempt to instigate a fight by committing an unsporting act that causes a person to retaliate by fighting. NFHS R4-S19 (Foul): A foul is an infraction of the rules which is charged and is penalized. ART. 1: A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead. NOTE: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter. ART. 5: A technical foul is: a. A foul by a nonplayer. b. A noncontact foul by a player. c. An intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter. d. A direct technical, charged to the head coach because of his/her actions or for permitting a player to participate after having been disqualified. e. An indirect technical, charged to the head coach as a result of a bench technical foul being assessed to team bench personnel, or a technical foul being assessed to a team member for dunking or grasping the ring during pregame warm-up or at intermission. NFHS R10-S3 (Player Technical): A player shall not: ART. 8: Be charged with fighting. [My comments: This is not be be intepreted to mean that a player shall not be charged with a technical foul for fighting, but that a player is prohibited from fighting and the player does fight, the player is to be charged with a flagrant technical foul. I know the wording makes no sense.] PENALTY: (Art. 8) Flagrant foul. The results would be the same in Casebook Play 8.7 Situation A, because in this case the fouls by A2 and B1 is a double foul. But one can see how confusing the rules are if only B1 and swung and hit A2. B1's contact is definitely flagrant in and of itsself. But one part of the rules say that a fighting foul is a technical foul while another part of the rules is silient about it. Therefore, in the scenario I just gave, whether we treat this foul as a personal foul or as a technical foul is important becasue it determines who will shoot the free throws and where Team A will get the ball for the throw-in part of the penalty. It is my personal opinion that the NFHS should completely re-write the rules per fighting. I think that there are rules in place to handle flagrant actions by players. But that is the subject of a new thread. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
MTD,
It seems that you make this entirely too complicated. The executive summary is: 1. Contact during a live ball is a personal foul. 2. Contact during a dead ball is a technical foul if it is deemed intentional or flagrant and ignored if it isn't, unless the contact is by or on an airborne shooter (in which case it is a personal foul). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|