The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   double dribble or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49693-double-dribble-not.html)

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 03, 2008 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Thanks, my bad. For some reason, I was thinking of the play where the player is on the floor (on a knee, for example), sets the ball down, stands up, and is the first to touch the ball. 4-44-5B, 4.44.5B.

Yep, that one oddball exception to the rule, described in the case play, is the only time I know of that a player can travel without "holding the ball." It is only traveling because they said so.

I would consider setting the ball on the floor ("pushes the ball to the floor") while standing, moving the feet, then picking the ball back up to be a dribble as soon as the player picks up the ball again. However, if the player lifted his pivot foot before he placed the ball on the floor, he has traveled.

SamIAm Tue Nov 04, 2008 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 548323)
Thanks, my bad. For some reason, I was thinking of the play where the player is on the floor (on a knee, for example), sets the ball down, stands up, and is the first to touch the ball. 4-44-5B, 4.44.5B.

I thought maybe I had missed something.

SamIAm Tue Nov 04, 2008 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 548346)
Yep, that one oddball exception to the rule, described in the case play, is the only time I know of that a player can travel without "holding the ball." It is only traveling because they said so.

I would consider setting the ball on the floor ("pushes the ball to the floor") while standing, moving the feet, then picking the ball back up to be a dribble as soon as the player picks up the ball again. However, if the player lifted his pivot foot before he placed the ball on the floor, he has traveled.

BITS,
Hopefully you can help me out with this -

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

Camron Rust Tue Nov 04, 2008 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 548414)
BITS,
Hopefully you can help me out with this -

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

If you toss the ball up into the air and run and catch it without it hitting the floor, you have also traveled. (is that what AR200 says?)

SamIAm Tue Nov 04, 2008 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 548495)
If you toss the ball up into the air and run and catch it without it hitting the floor, you have also traveled. (is that what AR200 says?)

A.R. 200 paraphrased -
A1, after
1) receiving a pass
2) ending his/her dribble
jumps to attempt a try and voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court and is the first to touch the ball.
Ruling
1) traveling violation as A1 lifted their pivot foot before beginning a dribble.
2) double dribble as A1's throwing of the ball constituted the start of a dribble.

I guess my rule of thumb holds true as the pivot foot movement occured with A1 in possession of the ball.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 04, 2008 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 548521)
A.R. 200 paraphrased -
A1, after
1) receiving a pass
2) ending his/her dribble
jumps to attempt a try and voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court and is the first to touch the ball.
Ruling
1) traveling violation as A1 lifted their pivot foot before beginning a dribble.
2) double dribble as A1's throwing of the ball constituted the start of a dribble.

I guess my rule of thumb holds true as the pivot foot movement occured with A1 in possession of the ball.

Doesn't fit the question then since A1 was holding the ball at the time of the travel (lifting the pivot foot before releasing the dribble).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1