The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   double dribble or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49693-double-dribble-not.html)

stripesrus Mon Nov 03, 2008 02:47pm

double dribble or not
 
player A1 passes the ball to player A2. A2 catches the ball and has full
control of the baall in both hands. But as he/she catches the ball, A2
is off balance and places the ball on the floor (with both hands on the
ball) to catch his/her balance. A2 then stands up and dribbles.

Is this double dribble or not?

Adam Mon Nov 03, 2008 02:48pm

Not a double dribble.

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 03, 2008 02:50pm

No illegal dribble.

stripesrus Mon Nov 03, 2008 02:51pm

Dbl dribble
 
Why not! please explain. or tell me where to look in the rules book.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stripesrus (Post 548277)
Why not! please explain. or tell me where to look in the rules book.

There used to be a note in the "Dribble" definition, but that note has been moved to the casebook. It is in 4.15 COMMENT: "It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once."

stripesrus Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:03pm

dbl dribble
 
Thanks for your answers. I am new to this sight and found my answers from some of the posted back threads on this same subject.

It is not a dbl dribble according to rule 4-15-4.

jritchie Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 548280)
There used to be a note in the "Dribble" definition, but that note has been moved to the casebook. It is in 4.15 COMMENT: "It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once."

What if the player was OOB for a throw in and did the same thing??

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stripesrus (Post 548281)
It is not a dbl dribble according to rule 4-15-4.

As I posted above, stripes, it is no longer part of rule 4-15. If you want to go and actually read it yourself, you won't see it there. You'll have to go to the casebook.

Adam Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stripesrus (Post 548277)
Why not! please explain. or tell me where to look in the rules book.

It's not illegal because I can't find a rule that makes it illegal. Look in the book and find the rule that governs illegal dribbles. This player does nothing illegal; assuming he hasn't moved his pivot foot.

If he puts the ball down, moves, then picks it up again; it's a travel. But touching the ball to the floor is not considered a dribble.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie (Post 548283)
What if the player was OOB for a throw in and did the same thing??

You mean the player simply touched the ball to the ground? Perfectly legal, unless he touches it to the inbounds part of the court (and some people would argue that even that would be legal). Remember that the dribble rules are not in effect during a throw-in. So the thrower-in can dribble, catch the ball, dribble again as many times as he wants, within 5 seconds.

Adam Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie (Post 548283)
What if the player was OOB for a throw in and did the same thing??

Where does the ball touch the floor? In bounds or out of bounds?

If the ball touches in bounds, it's a throwin violation.
If it touches out of bounds, keep counting.

SamIAm Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 548286)
...

If he puts the ball down, moves, then picks it up again; it's a travel. But touching the ball to the floor is not considered a dribble.

Help me understand how this is a travel. Are you presuming that A1 has already used their dribble?

Adam Mon Nov 03, 2008 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 548305)
Help me understand how this is a travel. Are you presuming that A1 has already used their dribble?

Thanks, my bad. For some reason, I was thinking of the play where the player is on the floor (on a knee, for example), sets the ball down, stands up, and is the first to touch the ball. 4-44-5B, 4.44.5B.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 03, 2008 06:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 548288)
Where does the ball touch the floor? In bounds or out of bounds?

If the ball touches in bounds, it's a throwin violation.
If it touches out of bounds, keep counting.

Correct.
Touching it to the floor inbounds constitutes carrying the ball onto the court. That's a violation per 9-2-5.

Adam Mon Nov 03, 2008 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 548341)
Correct.
Touching it to the floor inbounds constitutes carrying the ball onto the court. That's a violation per 9-2-5.

Thanks, I was starting to question my reading comprehension.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 03, 2008 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Thanks, my bad. For some reason, I was thinking of the play where the player is on the floor (on a knee, for example), sets the ball down, stands up, and is the first to touch the ball. 4-44-5B, 4.44.5B.

Yep, that one oddball exception to the rule, described in the case play, is the only time I know of that a player can travel without "holding the ball." It is only traveling because they said so.

I would consider setting the ball on the floor ("pushes the ball to the floor") while standing, moving the feet, then picking the ball back up to be a dribble as soon as the player picks up the ball again. However, if the player lifted his pivot foot before he placed the ball on the floor, he has traveled.

SamIAm Tue Nov 04, 2008 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 548323)
Thanks, my bad. For some reason, I was thinking of the play where the player is on the floor (on a knee, for example), sets the ball down, stands up, and is the first to touch the ball. 4-44-5B, 4.44.5B.

I thought maybe I had missed something.

SamIAm Tue Nov 04, 2008 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 548346)
Yep, that one oddball exception to the rule, described in the case play, is the only time I know of that a player can travel without "holding the ball." It is only traveling because they said so.

I would consider setting the ball on the floor ("pushes the ball to the floor") while standing, moving the feet, then picking the ball back up to be a dribble as soon as the player picks up the ball again. However, if the player lifted his pivot foot before he placed the ball on the floor, he has traveled.

BITS,
Hopefully you can help me out with this -

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

Camron Rust Tue Nov 04, 2008 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 548414)
BITS,
Hopefully you can help me out with this -

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

If you toss the ball up into the air and run and catch it without it hitting the floor, you have also traveled. (is that what AR200 says?)

SamIAm Tue Nov 04, 2008 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 548495)
If you toss the ball up into the air and run and catch it without it hitting the floor, you have also traveled. (is that what AR200 says?)

A.R. 200 paraphrased -
A1, after
1) receiving a pass
2) ending his/her dribble
jumps to attempt a try and voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court and is the first to touch the ball.
Ruling
1) traveling violation as A1 lifted their pivot foot before beginning a dribble.
2) double dribble as A1's throwing of the ball constituted the start of a dribble.

I guess my rule of thumb holds true as the pivot foot movement occured with A1 in possession of the ball.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 04, 2008 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 548521)
A.R. 200 paraphrased -
A1, after
1) receiving a pass
2) ending his/her dribble
jumps to attempt a try and voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court and is the first to touch the ball.
Ruling
1) traveling violation as A1 lifted their pivot foot before beginning a dribble.
2) double dribble as A1's throwing of the ball constituted the start of a dribble.

I guess my rule of thumb holds true as the pivot foot movement occured with A1 in possession of the ball.

Doesn't fit the question then since A1 was holding the ball at the time of the travel (lifting the pivot foot before releasing the dribble).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1