The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block / Charge Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49591-block-charge-situation.html)

Adam Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 548276)
I had this discussion in pregame over the weekend and this play was brought up
defender B3 is guarding A3 in the lane - as A1 drives to the basket A3 rolls down the lane line toward the low block B3 remains stationary and maintains his position in the lane sideways (hips and shoulders) toward A1, but having been sationary for several seconds prior to contact initiated by A1 as he drives toward basket?

B3 by rule never establishes "legal guarding position" as he never faced up to the offensive player, however B3 has had a stationary position for several seconds prior to any contatct and does nothing to inititate the contact, are you going to call this a block because of no LGP? :confused:

Good question. Are you saying LGP isn't relevant here? :D

OHBBREF Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 548279)
Good question. Are you saying LGP isn't relevant here? :D

For the moment I am going to keep my opinion of this play to myself, I am asking the question to see where it goes.

M&M Guy Mon Nov 03, 2008 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 548294)
For the moment I am going to keep my opinion of this play to myself, I am asking the question to see where it goes.

Chicken. :D

LGP (or lack thereof) has never been the sole requirement for being able to draw a player-control foul. It is only applicable in certain situations, mainly when the offensive and defensive players are moving. So a defender could certainly not have LGP, and still draw a player-control foul.

So, in your play immediately above, some of us (myself included), say A1 should be called for the player-control foul. Others have said there is no way A1 could be called for a player-control, because they did not have legal position (on the court). However, that is <B>not</B> the reason the case play states as why B1 is charged with a blocking foul - the reason stated is lack of LGP.

So, change the conditions of the case play slightly, and B1 could certainly draw the charge.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1