The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   spirit of the rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49570-spirit-rule.html)

Back In The Saddle Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546825)
1. The little lost lamb could have been "found" by A1 and received a long pass negating the pressure and count in the backcourt by intentionally going OB to get open.

"Could have" is not the same as did. Did would be an advantage; "could have" is not. IF that happens, blow the whistle. I would.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546825)
2. If this clearly illegal action is allowed without a whistle, then team B behind by two points with time running out is denied an opportunity to score to tie or even win the game. Yes, it was away from the ball - but we call fouls away from the ball all the time and work hard not to "follow" the ball all the time.

The "balance of play" the rules seek for is between the two teams; it does not include us. Arguing a team was disadvantaged because we didn't give them the ball when we could have is like telling your boss you were late for work because the police didn't give you an escort when they could have.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546825)
3. Absolutely, reasonable, knowledgeable and objective people would consider this to be an intelligent application of the rules, those with other agendas would not.

The reasonable, knowledgeable, and objective people here seem split on the issue. So you are right, some would. I do not. I don't see making this call, based on the description in the OP, serving the game.

gslefeb Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:39am

Question
 
I questions like this - I always think to the extremes to see if I would make the call:

If a player going in for a layup runs so fast after make the shot they leave the playing court - do you call this?

If someones foot is out of bounds standing elbow extended - do you call it?

If someone turns to jog up court on a change of posession to get into a set offense steps out of bounds - do you call it?

If someone trips and lands out of bounds.

Obviously there are times when an official would not call leaving the court, so it is never black and white.

My Call?
I would check to see if the Player gains an advantage - as that is the only scenerio in the case book. In what I read from the question - I would not call it.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546853)
IMO by ignoring this you are NOT properly calling the game in front of you.

How has that player NOT gained an advantage?

The onus is on identifing the advantage gained...not proving no advantage was gained.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546853)

sounds like you don't understand that the NFHS DOES want this called -
has even made it a point of emphasis.

I understand it perfectly...in the context of what is acutally happening on the floor and when it is intended to be applied....not some completely unrelated situation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546853)
But after reading all your posts I know it won't change the fact that you won't make the proper call.

You've skipped what I said then because I've said I have made this call ad will continue to make the call when situations occur that are like the NFHS cases presented.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546853)
I do find it disturbing that you can't see that A2 has gained an advantage. Further discussion on this point with you is completely pointless.

You've failed to identify any advantage gained by A2. Until you do that, I don't have anything to dispute.

M&M Guy Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gslefeb (Post 546858)
If a player going in for a layup runs so fast after make the shot they leave the playing court - do you call this?
...If someone trips and lands out of bounds.

gslefeb - both of these situations are expressly allowed, and there is no judgement needed. "Unauthoized" leaving the court only has to do with intentionally leaving the playing court during "normal" plays; the obvious example is a player going around a screen along a line OOB, instead of stopping, or taking the longer way inbounds. Falling OOB, or momentum carrying a player OOB, has never been a violation under this rule.

BillyMac Wed Oct 29, 2008 05:59pm

I'd Better Get Of Of The Lane, My Three Seconds Is Almost Up ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 546876)
"Unauthorized" leaving the court only has to do with intentionally leaving the playing court during "normal" plays; the obvious example is a player going around a screen along a line OOB, instead of stopping, or taking the longer way inbounds. Falling OOB, or momentum carrying a player OOB, has never been a violation under this rule.

I would also call the violation if the player leaves the lane under the basket to avoid a three second violation.

Adam Wed Oct 29, 2008 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 546957)
I would also call the violation if the player leaves the lane under the basket to avoid a three second violation.

That would be a three second violation, thought. :)

BillyMac Wed Oct 29, 2008 06:34pm

Three Seconds, Leaving Court, Same Penalty ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 546967)
That would be a three second violation.

Maybe years ago, before all the recent rules, and interpretations, about staying on the court. I definitely would have called three seconds in this situation during the years when the penalty for leaving the court was a technical foul. No way was I going to give a player a technical foul when I could get away with a three second call. But today, I'm probably going with a leaving the court violation, rather than a three second violation, even though the penalty is the same.

eyezen Wed Oct 29, 2008 07:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546825)
3. Absolutely,reasonable, knowledgeable and objective people would consider this to be an intelligent application of the rules, those with other agendas would not.

Count me as unreasonable, unknowledgable, unobjective, unintelligent and having an agenda because I am not calling this as described OP.

Adam Wed Oct 29, 2008 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 546825)
3. Absolutely,reasonable, knowledgeable and objective people would consider this to be an intelligent application of the rules, those with other agendas would not.

As I've said, I would never throw an official under the bus for making this call. That said, this may be the single most condescending thing written here in a long time.

BillyMac Wed Oct 29, 2008 07:42pm

It was an obvious advantage not intended by the rules ...
 
Last season, an offensive player avoids a screen by going out of bounds along the endline, almost knocking over my partner, who was the lead. He calls a violation on the offensive player for leaving the court. The funny thing is that a few minutes before this, when I was the lead, the same thing happened to me, by the same team, and I said to myself, without discussing it with my partner, "If this happens again, I'm calling the violation". First, and only time, I've seen this violation called, and I have no problem with the call. It was an obvious advantage not intended by the rules.

daveg144 Wed Oct 29, 2008 09:13pm

I am also not calling it as the play is originally described. Like others have said, if he receives a pass right after he steps in bounds, I blow the whistle.

It's hard to judge intent.

That being said, if I've seen the same thing earlier in the game and either ignored it or said something to the player/coach and they do it again right at the end (as described in the original play), I'll blow the whistle right away.

Adam Wed Oct 29, 2008 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by daveg144 (Post 547001)
That being said, if I've seen the same thing earlier in the game and either ignored it or said something to the player/coach and they do it again right at the end (as described in the original play), I'll blow the whistle right away.

If you'd warned them, I can see it.

If you ignored it, I disagree.

Nevadaref Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 546818)
It may seem that way. But I'm actually very much of the mindset that a violation is a violation, however there are times and situations where calling a violation is just not an intelligent application of the rules. So I guess you could categorize my "philosophy" as call all violations that occur except in those fairly rare situations where it would make the game worse to do so. This sitch, IMHO, is one of those cases.
...snip...

So your original question is an important one; at what point do we call a violation that is very much unrelated to the game? And I'd like to pose that question back to you. I've explained some of the common criteria I apply. I very much respect your opinion, even if I don't always agree with it. So I ask you: What criteria do you apply? I'd like to know.

It seems that Camron and I are on opposite ends of the spectrum and have little chance of finding any middle ground for agreement. That's okay though. He will do what brings him success and I will strive to do the same. We disagree on this point as strongly as possible, but as a fellow official I wish him well.

However, BITS, it seems that you and I have grounds for discussion. So I will attempt to respond to your questions and points in the best way that I can. Perhaps you will be persuaded by my reasoning, but perhaps you will conclude that handling these situations in a different manner is best. Whatever conclusion you come to, I wish you the best.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 546818)
So let me ask you this...do you call every three seconds you see? Will you call it when it's the post player with his heel on the far lane line while the PG is trapped at mid court? Do you call borderline palms on the PG bringing the ball up court all by himself? Do you strictly call every travel, even the borderline ones when the receiver of a pass is still adjusting his feet when he gets the ball? Do you call a lane violation every time an inch of somebody's toe breaks the plane 1/2 second early? Do you call every instance of every violation every time no matter what? I don't believe you do. None of us call every one every time.

My answer to every question is no. Like you said, you already knew that. So what makes this play different?
It seems to me that there are two solid reasons that the situation in the OP needs to be called and the examples which you have provided above can be ignored.

1. As I have already posted, the NFHS has specifically stressed in past POEs and rule comments that leaving the court has become a problem and has directed the officials to make this call. They have even gone so far as to lessen the penalty in an attempt to encourage officials make a violation call for this and ensure that players remain inbounds during play. The NFHS even commented that coaches benefit the game by teaching their players to stay inbounds. Clearly the NFHS believes that this call enforces a principle (stay inbounds) that is for the betterment of the HS game. Therefore, ignoring this directive would seem to be a disservice to the game.

2. Running OOB/leaving the court is an obvious violation that everyone can see. There is a line painted on the floor and it is clear whether a player crossed it or not. This is something which can be objectively seen on video. By contrast all of the examples which you have posed above are subjective.

a. No one is keeping an individual clock on a player in the lane. There is no red light above his head that goes off when he has been in there too long. An official may not have been observing him right when he entered or may not be focused upon him due to more important action nearby. Also there is an allowance for a player who is making a move towards goal to remain in the lane for longer than the allotted three seconds. So three seconds is clearly not black and white.

b. Palming is clearly a judgment call by the official. Did the ball come to rest? Was the player's hand located to the side or on the underside? Does the hand location matter? No observer can say with 100% certainty that a violation did or did not occur here. It is a matter of opinion.

c. IMO Traveling is one of the most difficult calls in basketball (along with BI). Clearly seeing the timing of the catch, picking up the pivot, continuing to observe it during defensive pressure, and the all of that taking place while the players are moving rapidly up and down the court is tough. To top it off most spectators don't know the rules on traveling and think that actions which aren't violations are illegal. Having great certainty in a travel call is not easy. It is certainly possible and some are obvious, but many are not. I think that this is what allows some travels to be passed on without a negative impact upon the game.

d. With lane violations timing is everything. Some players are very good at timing their entry. The difficulty lies in the official having to observe two different things at once. The foot of the player in the marked the lane-space breaking the plane and the ball striking the ring or backboard. Is is really possible for a human to do that with great accuracy? Sure one can pause a video of the action and determine which happened first, but if it is that close, then one is not calling the obvious.

All of that said, I have been more mindful of traveling, palming, and lane violations since the NFHS made them each POEs last season. While I've tried to focus harder on these aspects of the game and properly penalize these violations when I see them, judgment is still required and they certainly cannot be classified as black and white like the crossing of a line on the court.

I really don't believe that adv/disadv is a concern with this play.
It seems that the NFHS has taken the stance that just as in the case of a thrower stepping over the line, no judgment is required here and a violation should simply be called, regardless of the position of the defense. I see this play ruling as having great similarity to the situation posed in the OP.

9.2.5 SITUATION: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

Anyway, I hope that provides clarification of my position and gives you something to consider.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1