![]() |
|
|
||||
2018-19
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2018-19
October 10, 2018 Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented. Dr. Karissa L. Niehoff, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2018 SITUATION 1: A1 is dribbling the ball in frontcourt near the division line when B1 taps the ball away. The ball rolls into the backcourt where A2 is standing. A2 picks up the ball while in backcourt and starts a dribble. RULING: Legal play. The ball rolling on the floor when it crosses the division line has backcourt status; therefore, either the offense or the defense can recover the ball. (9-9-1 EXCEPTION) SITUATION 2: A1 is straddling the division line when the ball is deflected by B1 into the backcourt. A1 is able to reach out and take possession of the ball while still straddling the division line. RULING: Legal. A1 is in the backcourt and maintains that status when she takes possession of the deflected ball. Because A1 is in the backcourt, the official must start a 10-second count and maintain the count as long as the player is in the backcourt and in possession of the ball. (9-9-1) SITUATION 3: A1 throws a ball from the sideline, near the division line. A2 catches the ball while straddling the division line, fumbles the ball into the frontcourt and recovers the ball with one foot still in the backcourt. RULING: Violation by A2. While in player and team control in backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt. (4-21, 9-9-2) SITUATION 4: Players scramble for the ball with A1 touching the ball and the boundary line. RULING: A1 has created a violation by touching the boundary line and the ball at the same time, causing the ball to be out-of-bounds. Team B shall be given the ball at the spot nearest to the violation. (7-1- 1, 7-1-2, 7-2-2, 9-3-1) SITUATION 5: The ball is thrown from Team A’s own end line on a throw-in towards the division line. Offensive player A1 deflects the ball into the backcourt. RULING: The ball may be recovered in backcourt by the offensive team without creating a violation. (9-9-1) SITUATION 6: A1 has tucked the bottom of his/her shorts into the tights being worn. RULING: Illegal. The referee shall not allow the player to enter the game or direct the player to leave the game until the shorts are removed from inside the tights. After making the correction, the player may re-enter the game at the appropriate time for a substitution. The uniform should be worn as the manufacturer intended it to be. (3-5-5) SITUATION 7: Substitute A6 reports to enter the game to replace A1. A5, already in the game, is wearing a beige compression sleeve on her/his arm and leg. A6 is wearing a black headband and wristbands. RULING: A6 is not allowed to enter because the rule requires all teammates to wear the same allowable color sleeves, headbands and wristbands. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the color restrictions are corrected. (3-5-3) SITUATION 8: A loose ball is on the floor and A1 dives onto the floor and secures the ball while on her/his stomach. A1 then (a) rolls over, sits up and passes the ball; (b) while on her/his stomach passes the ball to a teammate. RULING: Illegal in (a) to roll over from the stomach; (b) legal action for the ball to be passed from that position. (4-44-5b) SITUATION 9: During warm-ups, the officials notice that some players have rolled the waistband on their shorts. What actions should be taken by the officials, if any, at this time? RULING: During the warm-up period, the referee should notify the coach of the infractions and ask that they be corrected immediately. If the corrections are not made and players attempt to enter the game with rolled waistbands, those players should not be allowed to enter the game prior to correcting the issue. If player(s) in the game have rolled waistband(s), they shall be directed to leave the game and may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute. No penalty is involved. The game should not be held-up to allow for the correction. (3-3-5, 3-5-5) SITUATION 10: The ball supplied by the home team does not meet the description of a ball with a deeply-pebbled, granulated surface and does not have the NFHS Authenticating Mark applied. RULING: The referee shall make the decision on whether the ball meets the specifications to be used for the contest. The referee may select a ball that meets the specifications, even if it is one from the visiting team. (1- 12-1c) |
|
||||
2019-20
SITUATION 1: A1 is waiting at the table to substitute into the game. The official recognizes the substitute is wearing pre-wrap tied in the back as a headband. RULING: The substitute is permitted to enter the game wearing the pre-wrap as a headband provided it meets all the guidelines for a headband. (3-5-4b)
SITUATION 2: A1 is wearing a ribbon to control her hair. RULING: Illegal. Ribbons are considered decorations and the athlete should not be allowed to enter the contest while wearing a ribbon in the hair. (3-5-4e) SITUATION 3: Members on Team A are wearing headbands that have two manufacturers’ logos. RULING: Team A members wearing headbands with two manufacturers’ logos should not be allowed to enter the contest until the headbands are removed. Headbands with one manufacturer’s logo should meet the headband requirements. (3-5- 4, 3-6) SITUATION 4: Team A is wearing a patch on its uniforms to honor one of its teammates who was injured in an accident. The patch is the school logo with his/her number on it. RULING: This is not legal. A commemorative/memorial patch may be worn on the jersey, provided it is not a logo or number, and must be worn above the neckline or in the side insert. Such patches shall not exceed 4 square inches. (3-4-2c) SITUATION 5: B1 is observed wearing a mouthguard, but no other member of Team B is wearing this type of equipment. RULING: This is legal (personal choice), but is not mandatory. (3-8) SITUATION 6: During the pre-game warm-up period, an official notices that A1 is wearing a religious medal on the end of a chain. RULING: The player shall be instructed that in order to wear the religious medal, the medal must be taped to the body and worn under the uniform. (3-5-4 EXCEPTION b) SITUATION 7: A player, for religious reasons, may not wear shorts. Would he/she be able to wear tights under the basketball uniform shorts or warmups instead of shorts? RULING: NFHS basketball uniform rules do not require that the uniform pants be “shorts.” Wearing tights below the uniform shorts would be legal. The player has the option of wearing long pants as the uniform “bottom” to be in compliance with NFHS rules as well. (3-4-5, 3-5-3) SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A’s head coach that A4 must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. The coach and A4 respond that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5-7) SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1) SITUATION 10: At halftime, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c) __________________ |
|
||||
2020-21
RULES BOOK CORRECTIONS: Page 66, 10-6 PENALTY – Within the penalty, Section 6 should be changed to read Art. 2.
SITUATION 1: Team A head coach has received a second direct technical foul. The coach is directed to leave the vicinity of the bench and go to the locker room. The team has no other adult personnel on the bench for this contest. RULING: Since there is no other adult school personnel available to supervise the team, the contest will be declared a forfeit. The score will stand if the opposing team is ahead. If the forfeiting team is ahead, the score will be recorded as a 2-0 forfeit. (5-4-1c) SITUATION 2: A1 is moving and catches the ball on one foot, then jumps and lands on both feet. The player then lifts the left foot and then returns it to the floor before releasing the ball to start a dribble. The official allows play to continue. RULING: The official should rule a travel on A1. When landing on one foot and then jumping and landing on both feet, the player does not have a pivot foot. If either foot is moved before releasing the ball to start a dribble, it is a travel. (4-44-2a, 3) SITUATION 3: A1, who is dribbling the ball, is intentionally fouled as the signal to end the third quarter sounds. The official administers the free throws as a part of the third quarter and starts the fourth quarter by awarding the throw-in at the spot nearest the spot of the intentional foul. Team B has the possession arrow. RULING: The official correctly administered the free throws as a part of the third quarter. The team will not get the benefit of throw-in at the division line because the quarter ended. No penalty or part of a penalty should be carried over to the next quarter or extra period except when a correctable error is involved. The fourth quarter should begin with a throw-in by Team B, which has the possession arrow. (4-19-3c; 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3) SITUATION 4: Team A has its school logo placed above the number on the jersey. The official rules the jersey illegal. RULING: The official is correct. The logo may be placed in the apex of the neckline on the front of the jersey or in the upper shoulder area on the front of the jersey or a corresponding area on the back or in the side insert. It may not be placed above the number. The name of the logo may be placed above the number, not the picture. (3-4-4a) SITUATION 5: B1 obtains a legal guarding position on A1, who is dribbling the ball near the sideline. There is no contact by A1 while B1 has both feet on the playing court. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the out-of-bounds boundary line, or (b) one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds boundary line when A1 contacts B1 in the torso. RULING: In (a), a blocking foul shall be called on B1. B1 may not be touching out of bounds. In (b), a player-control foul shall be called on A1; B1 had established and maintained a legal guarding position. (4-23-2, 4-23-3, 4-35-1) SITUATION 6: Team A (free-throw shooting team) has no players in marked lane spaces. Team B (non-shooting team) has (a) four players in the first and second marked lane spaces or (b) two players in the first marked lane spaces only. RULING: Legal in both (a) and (b). The shooting team is not required to have any players in marked lane spaces and the defensive team must only have the first marked lane spaces occupied. If a team does not occupy a marked lane space to which it is entitled, the opponent may occupy the space (within the number limitations). (8-1-4) SITUATION 7: Team A is playing with five players but has no remaining substitutes available when one of the players has an asthma attack. The coach is beckoned onto the floor. RULING: The player must leave the game unless a time-out is requested and granted to Team A with the player being ready to resume by the end of the time-out. The team may continue with fewer than five players if there are no substitutes available. An injured/ill player may return to the game after recovery. (3-3-6) SITUATION 8: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c) SITUATION 9: A1, while being defended, is driving from near the free-throw line extended toward the end line. A1 continues toward the end line and pulls up and goes airborne just before the boundary line with his/her momentum carrying him/her out of bounds. Just as A1 goes airborne, he/she passes off to a teammate across the lane and lands out of bounds. RULING: No violation. A player’s momentum, after performing legal actions on the court that results in taking him/her out of bounds is not a violation for leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason. However, if A1 purposely or deceitfully delays returning after legally being out of bounds to gain an advantage, a player technical foul would be assessed. (4-4-3, 9-3-3, 10-4-2) SITUATION 10: A1 fouls out of the game. The Team A coach talks to a substitute and within 15 seconds sends the substitute to the table to report in the game. A Team B player then requests a time-out. RULING: Since a time-out may not be granted until a disqualified player is replaced, the administering official should ask the substitute at the table if he/she is the replacement for A1. If so, the time-out may be granted. If not, the substitute shall remain at the table and the coach must still replace A1 within the specified timeframe before the time-out may be granted. (3-3-1, 5-8-3b, 10-6-2) |
|
||||
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2021-22
CORRECTIONS:
RULES BOOK: Page 72, SHOT CLOCK – STATE ASSOCIATION ADOPTION: THE SHOT CLOCK OPERATOR SHALL: 6b(vii); After a held ball occurs during after an unsuccessful try… CASE BOOK: Page 4, Rule 1, GAME BALL 1.12.3 SITUATION: RULING: Yes, the home team shall… SITUATION 1: Team A members are wearing white jerseys which have (a) a manufacturer’s logo in the apex of the neckline; (b) a paw print in the apex of the neckline. RULING: (a) Illegal – technical foul charged directly to the head coach; (b) legal. COMMENT: Manufacturer’s logos are allowed to be placed no more than 5 inches below the shoulder seam on the front of the jersey. The apex of the neckline is reserved for a school or conference logo/ mascot. (3-4-2a, d; 10-6-4) SITUATION 2: A player from Team A is wearing a religious head covering (a) secured around the head/face with no added fasteners or abrasive materials; (b) secured with bobby pins; (c) tied together in a knot behind the head. RULING: (a) Legal; (b) and (c) illegal. COMMENT: Players may wear head coverings for religious reasons that fit securely and are free from abrasive materials. There is no longer a need for state association approval. Bobby pins, barrettes and extensions that tie in a knot are not permitted. (3-5-4d, e) SITUATION 3: A1 sets a stationary screen within the lateral field of vision of a stationary opponent (B1) without leaving space for B1 to avoid the screen. RULING: Legal screen. COMMENT: If the screener is set within the field of vision of the stationary opponent, the screener may establish a screen as close to the opponent as desired. (4-40-3) SITUATION 4: A1 sets a stationary screen on a stationary B1 from behind. B1 takes one step backwards before making contact with the screener. RULING: Legal screen. COMMENT: If the screener is set outside the field of vision of a stationary opponent, the screener must allow the opponent one normal step backward before contact is made. (4-40-4) SITUATION 5: A1 attempts to set a screen on B1 who is moving laterally. A1 establishes a stationary screening position which does not allow B1 to avoid contact by stopping or changing direction and contact is made. RULING: Illegal screen. COMMENT: When screening a moving opponent, the screener shall allow the opponent both time and distance to avoid contact by stopping or changing direction. The speed of the player to be screened will determine where the screener may take position, which will vary between one to two normal steps or strides from the opponent. (4-40-5) SITUATION 6: Player A1 is moving in the same path and direction as B1 who is attempting to set a screen on A1. A1 stops to legally guard B2. B1 overruns A1 and makes contact before establishing position for the screen. RULING: Illegal screen. COMMENT: When screening an opponent who is moving the same path and direction as the screener, the player behind is responsible if contact is made because the player in front slows up or stops and the player behind overruns his/her opponent. (4-40-6) SITUATION 7: A1 sets a legal screen outside of the visual field of B1. B1 attempts to avoid contact by stopping – due to B1’s speed, contact is made with the screener. B1 continues by moving around the screen after contact. RULING: Incidental contact. COMMENT: In cases of screens outside the visual field, the opponent may make inadvertent contact with the screener and if the opponent is running rapidly, the contact may be severe. Such a case is to be ruled as incidental contact provided the opponent stops or attempts to stop on contact and moves around the screen. (4-40-7) SITUATION 8: A1 sets a legal screen on B1. B1 grabs A1 by the arm in order to pull through the screen and maintain defensive positioning on the other side of the screen. RULING: Illegal use of hands. COMMENT: A player may not use the arms, hands, hips or shoulders to force through a screen or to hold the screener and then push the screener aside in order to maintain a guarding position on an opponent. (4-40-8). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2024-25 | Indianaref | Basketball | 1 | Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:57am |
2024-25 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 0 | Thu Oct 17, 2024 02:47pm |
NFHS Past and Present Rules Interps (Rules Changes through 2024) | Robert E. Harrison | Baseball | 14 | Fri Mar 15, 2024 04:50pm |
Past POE Archive | Freddy | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jan 03, 2017 07:53pm |
Added another audio pre-game to the archive. | ca_rumperee | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 16, 2008 07:35pm |