![]() |
This is exactly the reason nfhs should change the rule to match the college level ruling where there is team control when OOB. This would clear up so much of the confusion. This play is messed up all of the time because of the confusion! We just talked about it on sunday in our meeting and it was told that "no team control on the throw in, if you have a double foul during it, go to the arrow!" So now we will have to go back and touch on that play again!
|
Quote:
Changing one the most basic definitions of the game is a bad idea. We shouldn't be messing with our basic definitions and the "Basketball Fundamentals" because of one play that happens once a season. Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's my personal opinion that the NCAA acted too quickly because they wanted to include throw-in fouls as team control fouls. (Which is not the worst idea ever. I don't think it's completely necessary, but I can see the reason for wanting it.) The easiest way to do that seemed to be to have team control during throw-ins. So that's what they did. Of course, they then had to make lots of other changes (like to the backcourt rule), that made it not really so easy, after all. A better way to accomplish what they wanted to do would have been simply to change the definition of team control fouls to include throw-in fouls. Just like for a PC foul after the ball has been released. Is there really player control? No. But we still consider it to be a player control foul. I think this would've been a better solution to the team control foul issue. But nobody asked me. :shrug: |
Quote:
Of course in FIBA rules there's team control during a throw-in (and you can't pass in the backcourt if the throw-in is in the frontcourt). Ciao |
Quote:
|
Quote:
MUST NOT BE TO BAD OF A CHANGE IF THE NCAA THOUGHT IT WAS A GOOD IDEA! [/QUOTE]This is exactly the reason your board needs a new interpreter. :D[/QUOTE] I surely wouldn't argue with that one! :) New Assignor this year, going to be fun! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
6-4-3g needs to be re-written to provide additional clarification for the throw in. Whether that constitutes including the exception for throw-ins within 6-4-3g or just directing the reader to 4-36-2b, I couldn't care less, but the rule is misleading as it is currently written.
|
I would have to agree Fiasco!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
"Use the AP arrow when there's a double or simultaneous foul and there no team control " But if you look at the other part of the book it says unless it's a free throw or a throw in! |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am. |