![]() |
Interrupted dribble and OOB
I was perusing the rules (06/07 rules) and read:
Art. 6... During an interrupted dribble: a. A closely guarded count shall not be started or shall be terminated. b. A player-control foul cannot be committed. c. A time-out request shall not be granted. d. Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble d. has me wondering, can a dribbler, when an interupted dribbler ocurrs and while touching OOB touch/tip the ball? d. seems to indicate he can. Is there a rule or case play indicating this is illegal? |
During an interrupted dribble a player is not in control nor touching the ball therefore it is not a violation when they step OOB.
|
Quote:
It's that part that "doesn't apply." |
I re-read the dribble definition, "bat or push to the floor". The interrupted dribbler can not touch or bat the ball to the floor without it being a dribble, however they could tip/bat the ball to a teammate, or the ball could bounce off of them (leg or hip) for example while touching OOB.
(I know this is very unlikely in developed ball players.) I am just wondering. |
Are you asking that if during an interrupted dribble, the dribbler attempts to recover the ball but is standing on an OOB while simultaneously touching/tipping the ball... is that legal?
As in A1 while dribbling momentarily loses the ball. While attempting to recover the ball A1 is standing on a OOB line & contacts the ball? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
that's what thought you were asking & in that case see post #7
|
Quote:
|
7-1-2(a) 1
|
Quote:
Quote:
The exception you are referencing does not over-ride that fundamental rule. The exception you are referencing is there to differentiate from a dribbler who voluntarily goes OOB in betweens bats. You are over-thinking the rule. |
Quote:
Is there a rule or case play indicating this is illegal? Since no one came up this one that did not include OOB violation, which 6d says is excluded, I chalk this up to a minor error in the rules. |
It is, perhaps, a little vaguely worded. But I it seems that most of us understand that it's referring to 9-3-1 Note ("The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.").
Perhaps if it were worded thus: "d. The former dribbler does not commit an out-of-bounds violation if he/she steps on our outside a boundary while not touching the ball (See 9-1-3 Note)." |
Quote:
6d does not say a player with OOB status can touch the ball. The exception refers to a player leaving court who is not in contact with the ball. |
Did I See The Mythbusters Searchlight Image In The Sky ???
A little off topic, but just a reminder:
There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. There is a three-second count during an interrupted dribble. |
Quote:
Consider the definition of an interrupted dribble. "the ball is loose" or "it momentarily gets away from the dribbler." When the dribbler touches the ball, it is no longer an interrupted dribble, so the out of bounds violation does apply. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53am. |