The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49365-throw.html)

surehands Wed Oct 15, 2008 09:34am

Throw in
 
B2 has the ball for an end line designated spot throw in. B2 attempts to pass to a teammate in the far corner of her frontcourt where the sideline and end line meet. After the pass has been released , defender A4 jumps from the court, crosses the plane of the end line in the air, intercepts the pass on the out of bounds side of the end line, and throws it back onto the court before touching down out of bounds.
I say this is a tech on A4 for breaking the plane and making contact with the ball in the air out of bounds. Isn't touching the pass out of bounds the same as if the thrower isholding the ball?

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 15, 2008 09:50am

Are you asking about NFHS rules or NCAA rules?

You get different results on this play, depending on the ruleset. In neither case is it a technical foul, however. In order to be a technical foul, the defender must make contact with the ball while it's still in the inbounder's hands or while it is being passed to another teammate who is also out of bounds.

In NFHS, your play is perfectly legal. We got a clarification on this a few years ago. Once the throw-in pass is released, the defense may break the plane and make contact.

In NCAA-M, it's a violation for the defender to break the plane before the throw-in pass crosses the boundary plane.

surehands Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:03am

Where canI get info on your High School clarification?

tjones1 Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:26am

And it's a question the NFHS asked this year... ;)

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 543252)
where cani get info on your high school clarification?

nfhs 10-3-10

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 543229)
B2 has the ball for an end line designated spot throw in. B2 attempts to pass to a teammate in the far corner of her frontcourt where the sideline and end line meet. After the pass has been released , defender A4 jumps from the court, crosses the plane of the end line in the air, intercepts the pass on the out of bounds side of the end line, and throws it back onto the court before touching down out of bounds.
I say this is a tech on A4 for breaking the plane and making contact with the ball in the air out of bounds. Isn't touching the pass out of bounds the same as if the thrower isholding the ball?

A4 jumped from inbounds. Whle airborne, A4 is inbounds until A4 touches OB. When A4 touched the ball while airborne, the throw-in was completed as it is legally touched by an inbounds player. The ball remains live when A4 directed the ball back to the court.

No technical foul. Perfectly legal.

jdmara Wed Oct 15, 2008 01:48pm

Not to hijack the post but....

If the offense would catch such a pass (that never crosses the endline), is that a violation? For some reason, in the far recesses of my brain, I believe that's a violation for not passing the ball directly inbounds. True?

-Josh

CoachP Wed Oct 15, 2008 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 543329)
Not to hijack the post but....

If the offense would catch such a pass (that never crosses the endline), is that a violation? For some reason, in the far recesses of my brain, I believe that's a violation for not passing the ball directly inbounds. True?

-Josh

No rule quote here at work, I'm sure someone here will get it, but, yes, it is a violation.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 15, 2008 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 543335)
No rule quote here at work, I'm sure someone here will get it, but, yes, it is a violation.

from an old set of the rules....but I don't think the text for this one has been changed at all...

RULE 7 - OUT OF BOUNDS AND THROW-IN
SECTION 6 THROW-IN ADMINISTRATION

<DD>ART. 1 . . . (snip) The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane.
</DD>

Adam Wed Oct 15, 2008 05:56pm

The text hasn't changed, but it's now under 7-6-2. Last sentence of that article.

jdmara Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 543383)
The text hasn't changed, but it's now under 7-6-2. Last sentence of that article.

Does that mean the ball call be a legally be touched after any part of the ball is inbounds or the entire ball is inbounds? Hate to be picky but it's going to come up in my mind anyways lol

-Josh

Camron Rust Thu Oct 16, 2008 02:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 543442)
Does that mean the ball call be a legally be touched after any part of the ball is inbounds or the entire ball is inbounds? Hate to be picky but it's going to come up in my mind anyways lol

-Josh

That point is not specified....it could even be after the center of the ball passes the throw-in plane.

Nevadaref Thu Oct 16, 2008 03:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 543232)
Are you asking about NFHS rules or NCAA rules?

You get different results on this play, depending on the ruleset. In neither case is it a technical foul, however. In order to be a technical foul, the defender must make contact with the ball while it's still in the inbounder's hands or while it is being passed to another teammate who is also out of bounds.

In NFHS, your play is perfectly legal. We got a clarification on this a few years ago. Once the throw-in pass is released, the defense may break the plane and make contact.

In NCAA-M, it's a violation for the defender to break the plane before the throw-in pass crosses the boundary plane.

Excellent answer.

I've posted on this difference numerous times in the past.

Legal play in NFHS per 9-2-10. The key words are: "...until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass."
Under NCAA rules 9-5-3 says that it is a violation for breaking the plane before the ball crosses the boundary.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 16, 2008 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 543473)
Legal play in NFHS per 9-2-10. The key words are: "...until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass."

Thanks for the citation. I knew there was a specific rule covering it, but I couldn't remember where.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1