The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   official mistake (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49274-official-mistake.html)

just another ref Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 542385)
Do you really believe that? :confused:

So when it should be 1 and 1, but the official says, "2 shots" and then the shooter misses the first, what are you going to do if A2, B2, A4, and B5 all attempt to rebound and A4 gets the ball and scores?

Are you going to follow the casebook play and allow play to continue as normal or are you going to rule that the goal doesn't count because the ball was dead due to the official wrongly saying, "2 shots?" :eek:

I will do my best to follow the casebook play:
If all players on both teams go for the rebound, giving each team "equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound," then play should continue.
However, if even one player on one side or the other even hesitates before going for the rebound, then "the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage," and the play should be whistled dead as quickly as possible.
But even if somebody scores before the whistle, it doesn't count because the ball was already dead because:

"The ball becomes dead when it is apparent the free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw."

Raymond Fri Oct 10, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 541897)
It seems that no official blew the ball dead prior to the scoring of the goal as instructed in the case book play. Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled.

From the NCAA:

Ball in Play When Free Throw is Missed
A.R. 184. The official informs the players along the free throw lane that two free throws shall be awarded when a one-and-one bonus is in effect.
(1) While all other players remain inactive, A2 rebounds the ball and successfully scores a goal. The official discovers that he or she misinformed the players; or
(2) B2 rebounds the ball and passes it to the official, who is positioned out of bounds. The official discovers that he or she misinformed the players.

RULING: The official’s misinformation to the players caused the inactivity. As a result, in both (1) and (2), the ball shall be put in play with the use of the alternating-possession arrow. In (1), A2’s goal shall not count. A1 did attempt his or her merited free throw, so there is no error to correct. When any time has elapsed off the game clock and the official has knowledge of this time, he or she shall rectify the situation.(Rule 8-5, 4-53.2.d and 5-11.1)

Nevadaref Fri Oct 10, 2008 04:57pm

BadNews,
Thanks for furnishing the NCAA ruling. I happen to agree with it.

Now if we could get the NFHS to adopt the same, then we could justify cancelling the goal without a whistle.

just another ref Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 541897)
It seems that no official blew the ball dead prior to the scoring of the goal as instructed in the case book play. Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled.

I submit that the official killing the play is a mental event, like the granting of the timeout requested by the airborne player, and takes place instantly upon realization of the circumstances, not when the air is put into the whistle.
How about that?

eyezen Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:27pm

All I know is that you're already in a world of hurt by informing the players wrong information in a FT situation and one team is going to have to burn an arrow but now you're going to allow one team to take advantage of that mistake and score an uncontested two points and let it stand? :eek:

just another ref Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 542553)
All I know is that you're already in a world of hurt by informing the players wrong information in a FT situation and one team is going to have to burn an arrow but now you're going to allow one team to take advantage of that mistake and score an uncontested two points and let it stand? :eek:

Not sure where a "world of hurt" starts and ends, but let's put it this way. You give wrong information and cause a team to burn an arrow, nobody will remember it tomorrow. If your mistake results in an uncontested basket, it is likely to be remembered for a loooong time.

Nevadaref Sat Oct 11, 2008 01:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 542550)
I submit that the official killing the play is a mental event, like the granting of the timeout requested by the airborne player, and takes place instantly upon realization of the circumstances, not when the air is put into the whistle.
How about that?

Nice try, but that's the way it works in soccer, not basketball. ;)

The NFHS basketball rules very clearly spell out how the ball becomes dead in 6-7. One of those items is "...An official's whistle is blown."

It doesn't say that the official decides to sound the whistle.

Sorry, try again. :(

Adam Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:20am

I agree with Nevada, by rule, it's a tough sell to cancel the basket.
In practice, it would be a tougher sell (to my assigners) to let it stand.
In practice, I'm blowing my whistle when the ball is in the air off the rim; or, at the latest, as soon as a player has the ball and is making a move.

just another ref Sun Oct 12, 2008 01:52pm

So, as I understand it, it is conceivable that we may one day read in a Nevada newspaper:

"The winning basket was allowed to score when the official sneezed, causing him to be a split second late whistling the play dead."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1