![]() |
Continuous motion?
A1 begins his shooting motion. The court is used for multiple sports and A1 steps on a non-boundary marking. The official mistakenly blows his whistle, believing that A1 stepped out of bounds. A1 continues the shooting motion and the ball enters the basket. Score the basket?
|
Inadvertent Whistle. Unfortunately, play would stop immediately. Continuous motion should not apply based on the rule.
Peace |
Continuous motion applies to a shooter and a foul by B. I don't see a B foul in this scenario.
I don't see counting the basket unless you're going to apply 2-3. |
And his/her coach would likely thank you as any line for another sport that is close enough to be confused with the real boundary line is likely a very long, low-odds shot.
|
Quote:
|
You're all too smart and too fast. I was thinking this would get somebody who forgot that continuous motion only applies when the whistle is for a foul by the defense.
|
Quote:
|
This is a college gym in Northern Wisconsin. I think Mick has said he has ref'ed here before.
http://www.nbbc.edu/images/athletics_header.jpg If you look, there is a line about 1 foot closer than the real FT line. I saw 2 violations in a tourny last year for a FT shooter shooting fron the "14" foot line. You cannot tell from this pic very well, but the whole gym is a nightmare of lines. |
Sorry Coach, I Left My Seeing Eye Dog In the Car ...
We have many courts in our area that have lines close to, parallel to, and the same width, and color, as the division line and endlines. No matter how often I work at these sites, and note these lines in the pregame with my partner, we still inadvertently blow the whistle occasionally. All we can do is say "Sorry", and give the ball back to the team that didn't go back court, or didn't go out of bounds.
|
Someday I'll Give This A Try ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Ya ever wonder what architect of the gym steps back after it's done and says "yeah, that looks good!?" |
Quote:
Makes a guy dizzy. http://www.clicksmilies.com/s1106/sp...smiley-024.gif The designer should be beaten with a wet noodle. |
Quote:
|
For anyone watching the WNBA Conference Finals last night this is close to what happened.
A1 attempts a layup on the right side of the basket, which misses the rim because of B1's defense. The ball careens off the backboard to the left side of the basket where A1 grabs the rebound and attempts another try. As A1 is in her shooting motion B2 fouls A1. At the same time the Lead and the Center official blow their whistles. The C has a travel and the L has a foul. The C was calling a traveling violation for catching her own shot attempt when it didn't hit the rim (NBA\WNBA rule). The crew came together and they called it an inadvertent whistle and gave the ball to Team A under the basket. The L must have told the C that B1 tipped the shot which allowed A1 to catch the missed shot. The made basket and the foul did not count. So if we have an inadvertant whistle at the same time as a whistle for a foul during a shot with continuous motion what do we do? I would think that this is not the way to handle it for High School & College (I don't know the rules for the NBA so I'm not going to speak on if they got it right or not). I would think that the whistle for the foul is what stopped the clock and NOT the inadvertant whistle. So the basket and foul should count and play resumed as normal after the free throw. What does everyone think and did anyone see this? |
Didn't see the game, nor am I officiating at that level. But as you describe the play perhaps they determined the whistle for the alleged travel violation occured just prior to the whistle for the foul.
In this scenario on the HS level, I would think we should handle it the same way. A classic example of what came first the incorrect travel call or the the foul. Sounds like good team officiating! |
Quote:
The players didn't know that the whistle blown was for a foul or for a travel. They assumed it was for a foul. The inadvertent whistle did not effect the players on this play. Why penalize the offense on this play when we can ignore the inadvertent whistle and penalize what actually took place. |
Once again, IMO perhaps they determined the whistle for the alleged travel violation occured just prior to the whistle for the foul...
In that case had the shot attempt not yet been released then POI is to give the team the ball back. If it had indeed been relaease, you might've seen a FT attempt. |
If the whistles were blown at approximately the same time, the foul had to have happened before the IW.
Even if the phantom travel happened first, the ball didn't become dead for this until the whistle blew; which was after the foul. IMO, you'd have to go with the foul here rather than the IW. |
Mark Padgett Has Left the Building ...
Quote:
|
Seems to me that this would be like an end of quarter scenario. The shooter is in the act of shooting, so what happens next depends on when the horn (whistle in this case) goes off.
If the shot has been released before the horn (whistle) goes off, the ball is not dead. If the basket is made, count it and shoot 1. Otherwise shoot 2. If the shot has not been released, the horn (whistle) kills the ball. But the shooter was fouled in the act of shooting and is entitled to two free throws. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am. |