The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2000, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 106
Post

quote:
Originally posted by feeli99 on 02-20-2000 06:42 AM
My question, can a ref change fouls like he did even if he is sure of the foul situation of a player? A2 should have had three fouls in the book at that point but he only had two.


Most definitely. Rule 2.11.11 says that the referee, who has specific knowledge of a bookkeeping mistake, should have the mistake corrected immediately. "A bookkkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the referee approves the final score." This would include discrepencies that arise concerning the score, fouls, charged time-outs, and so on.

This is somewhat different from the "correctable errors" (Rule 2.10) that result from a rule having beein inadvertently set aside and that have a specific time frame during which they can be corrected.

Sounds to me like your partner made the right call and decision in correcting the scorebook. (Of course, you have to wonder if another player had been a foul erroneously recorded in the book that had not been assessed. You may never be able to totaly reconstruct--and undo--the damage caused by a bookkeeping mistake!)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1