The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Apr 24, 2002, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member

Question

I'm still new to this game so I will need your expertise. In which situations can a player be allowed to take two steps to do the lay up? For example, while standing still, a player receives a pass, can such player take two steps to do the lay up?

Much thanks.
Old Wed Apr 24, 2002, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member

In your situation, two steps would be illegal.

Standing on both feet, if he lifts the left, R becomes the pivot. Stepping down with L is one step, and he now lifts R. If he returns R to the floor before passing, shooting, or calling a timeout, we have a travel violation.

The two steps can come during a jump stop - the player is in the air, 'hops' on one foot, and is then allowed to 'hop' off of both feet. Also, if the player recieves the ball in mid-air, he can put down L, then R, and get two steps that way.
Old Wed Apr 24, 2002, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ilovebasketball
I'm still new to this game so I will need your expertise. In which situations can a player be allowed to take two steps to do the lay up? For example, while standing still, a player receives a pass, can such player take two steps to do the lay up?

Much thanks.
Not without dribbling the ball, according to NCAA & NFHS
rules (college & HS). I don't know about the pro rules or
FIBA, but we got some of those types here that can help.

In NCAA & NFHS rules the travel rule relies, generally, on
the pivot foot. In your case the pivot foot is established
when the first step is taken - it's the other foot. The
pivot foot cannot be lifted before a dribble (not your
play), nor can it be lifted and put back to the floor while
the player holds the ball (your play).
Old Thu Apr 25, 2002, 07:46am