![]() |
|
|||
![]()
I'm still new to this game so I will need your expertise. In which situations can a player be allowed to take two steps to do the lay up? For example, while standing still, a player receives a pass, can such player take two steps to do the lay up?
Much thanks. |
|
|||
In your situation, two steps would be illegal.
Standing on both feet, if he lifts the left, R becomes the pivot. Stepping down with L is one step, and he now lifts R. If he returns R to the floor before passing, shooting, or calling a timeout, we have a travel violation. The two steps can come during a jump stop - the player is in the air, 'hops' on one foot, and is then allowed to 'hop' off of both feet. Also, if the player recieves the ball in mid-air, he can put down L, then R, and get two steps that way.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Quote:
rules (college & HS). I don't know about the pro rules or FIBA, but we got some of those types here that can help. In NCAA & NFHS rules the travel rule relies, generally, on the pivot foot. In your case the pivot foot is established when the first step is taken - it's the other foot. The pivot foot cannot be lifted before a dribble (not your play), nor can it be lifted and put back to the floor while the player holds the ball (your play).
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Ilove,
Here would be my advice to you on this situation. Know this rule but don't interrupt the flow of the game. If a player happens to take two and half or three steps on the way to the basket, use good judgement and maybe you could pass on it. I think one of the most important things to good officiating is creating a flow and little stuff like this can effect the flow greatly. |
|
|||
2 & 1/2 steps? While i know what you mean, there is no such thing in reference to penalties. Either you take two or three steps. 2 steps is the same penalty as two and 1/2 steps. I would however disagree with over looking an obvious travel. If I think it was a travel but, i an not certain a player traveled I will not call it. Three steps, hard to miss, i would call it, unless it was by the team getting beat by 20+ points.
__________________
foulbuster |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Now, if the player received the ball on the move, and you were not sure whether s/he received it just before or just after the (say) right foot left the ground, I'd agree that we'd "decide" it was after, the left foot becomes the pivot and the right foot can touch the ground again. To the original poster, don't think of the rule as "the number of steps that can be taken." Think of it as "allowable movement of the pivot foot." |
|
|||
Bob,
I agree with you and that is kind of the view I was getting at with the pivot situation. What I was trying to express is to not overthink a play like this. If you're not one hundred percent sure than pass on it and play on... |
|
|||
iref - while I certainly agree with the concept of selective callin, game flow, advantage/disadvantage, etc. ,etc., I also agree with Jurassic and Bob - those concepts are not good advice to give to a new official who is having problems understanding the rule to begin with...once he/she has figured out the basics - mechanics, rules, etc, - then we can (hopefully) move them on to those other little things that help you move up the ladder...but telling a new official to not call travel on this play could backfire on that new official quite badly...
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Apr 25th, 2002 at 02:22 PM] |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
I chuckled when I read your first post... then I saw you were serious. Oh, my! Since Ilovebasketball is new to this game, don't you think it may be easier to understand this Hoops thing without the exotic call? I think so. mick |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|