The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2007-08 NFHS Supplemental Rules Interpreations: SITUATION 10. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/46930-2007-08-nfhs-supplemental-rules-interpreations-situation-10-a.html)

Ch1town Thu Aug 07, 2008 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball. 4-42-5

Remember this is on a made basket.

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?

BktBallRef Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:08am

Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, it is not enough for him to be OOB. "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundaryline." (7-5-7) If he's standing with one foot touching inbounds, he's not outside the boundary line.

If he isn't, then the pass is a throw-in.

A2 commits an OOB violation because he is OOB with the ball when the throw-in ends.

just another ref Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, he must be completely OOB (not touching inbounds).

If he isn't, then the pass is a throw-in.

A2 commits an OOB violation because he is OOB with the ball when the throw-in ends.

What he said.

Adam Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball. 4-42-5

If you have a moment, I'd appreciate the verbiage. Don't have my book handy.

My understanding is that this rule specifically states "a throwin ends when a throw-in pass...." If A1's intent is to throw to an OOB A2, the throwin hasn't ended. Of course, a throwin also ends when a violation is committed, so the throwin violation by A2 ends the throwin.

Raymond Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, he must be completely OOB (not touching inbounds).

If he isn't, then the pass is a throw-in.

A2 commits an OOB violation because he is OOB with the ball when the throw-in ends.

My purpose for posting the scenario is not whether or not it is a violation, but WHY it is a violation per a rules citation. At the time no one had a rule book handy and we (those who thought it was a violation) were having trouble articulating why it was a violation to the official in question.

just another ref Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If you have a moment, I'd appreciate the verbiage. Don't have my book handy.

My understanding is that this rule specifically states "a throwin ends when a throw-in pass...." If A1's intent is to throw to an OOB A2, the throwin hasn't ended. Of course, a throwin also ends when a violation is committed, so the throwin violation by A2 ends the throwin.


Doesn't matter what his intent was, if A2 is not completely out of bounds, then
7-5-7 a does not apply.

Any player of the team may .........pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary.

BktBallRef Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
My purpose for posting the scenario is not whether or not it is a violation, but WHY it is a violation per a rules citation.

BNR, as I edited above.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, it is not enough for him to be OOB. "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundaryline." (7-5-7) If he's standing with one foot touching inbounds, he's not outside the boundary line.

Adam Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Doesn't matter what his intent was, if A2 is not completely out of bounds, then
7-5-7 a does not apply.

Any player of the team may .........pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary.

BktBallRef's post (and yours here) sums up. This is the exact rule I was thinking of; the question is whether it's a violation on the thrower or the receiver. The difference is where the ensuing spot throwin will be.

Ch1town Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
BktBallRef's post (and yours here) sums up. This is the exact rule I was thinking of; the question is whether it's a violation on the thrower or the receiver. The difference is where the ensuing spot throwin will be.

Yes guys, thanks for the clarification, the player definitely can't be outside the boundary with one foot inbounds.

BktBallRef Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

Hey everybody isn't as experienced/knowledgable as you are, but I'm striving to get better though.
This question is NOT intended to but may or may not "amaze" you. I just want to know.

Do we have a violation on the receiver for catching the throw-in pass while standing OOB
or a throw-in violation for not passing the ball directly onto the court?

Scrapper1 Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Do we have a violation on the receiver for catching the throw-in pass while standing OOB
or a throw-in violation for not passing the ball directly onto the court?

This is a violation on the player catching the pass. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds before going directly out of bounds. He did that, because the ball touched another player, A2.

A2, however, violates when he touches the live ball while contacting the floor out of bounds.

The rules are in 9-2 for this one. I think it's 9-2-2, but I'm not sure.

Ch1town Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:39am

Thank you

Adam Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:54am

Works for me, too.

M&M Guy Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:03am

Me too.

BktBallRef Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Yes guys, thanks for the clarification, the player definitely can't be outside the boundary with one foot inbounds.

BktBallRef Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

Hey everybody isn't as experienced/knowledgable as you are, but I'm striving to get better though.
This question is NOT intended to but may or may not "amaze" you. I just want to know.

Do we have a violation on the receiver for catching the throw-in pass while standing OOB
or a throw-in violation for not passing the ball directly onto the court?

Don't be such a girl. :o

I didn't say there was anything wrong with the question or even asking such a question. The discussion amazed me because all one had to do was post the rule, which clearly says the teammate must not just be OOB but beyoind the boundary line. All it would have taken was for someone to open the rule book, whcih wasn't happening.

M&M Guy Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
The discussion amazed me because all one had to do was post the rule, which clearly says the teammate must not just be OOB but beyoind the boundary line. All it would have taken was for someone to open the rule book, whcih wasn't happening.

<font size=1>(ahem...post #42)</font size>

Ok, where's my damn cookie?!?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1