The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2007-08 NFHS Supplemental Rules Interpreations: SITUATION 10. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/46930-2007-08-nfhs-supplemental-rules-interpreations-situation-10-a.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Aug 04, 2008 09:24pm

2007-08 NFHS Supplemental Rules Interpreations: SITUATION 10.
 
The rules interpretation in question is:

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)


This interpretation is pretty cut and dry. In fact, I have been a registered basketball official since 1971 and this has been the interpretation as long as I have been an official and even before I became an official. I don't feel like climbing up in the attic but I am pretty sure that this play has been in either the NFHS Casebook or the Nat'l. Bkb. Comm. of the U.S. and Canada Casebook in the past.

Just breakdown the play. Team A had control of the ball in its frontcourt; therefore the ball had frontcourt status. B1's deflecting of the ball did not did not change anything; Team A still had control of the ball and the ball still had frontcourt status. A2 then moved from Team A's frontcourt to Team A's backcourt; that means A2 court status is in Team A's backcourt. When A2 touches the ball he causes the ball to go from frontcourt to backcourt and also becomes the first player from Team A to touch the ball after Team A caused the ball to go from frontcourt to backcourt.

This is really a simple play and as I have said earlier in this post, this interpretation has been in effect for both high school and college for well over 45 years. I can't see any other ruling based upon the rules.


Why have I brought this play back to life. I have had some officials tell me that this ruling is nonsense and cannot be supported by rule. I haven't been able to find any previous threads concerning this play. Therefore, I am asking anybody who does not agree with this interpretation to please defend your position.

Thanks.

MTD, Sr.

Scrapper1 Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I haven't been able to find any previous threads concerning this play.

http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=38742

http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=39068

Nevadaref Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:34pm

It is nonsense. :p

That is because it doesn't follow the actual text of the rule.

9-9-1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.


In situation 10 was A2 or a teammate of his in contact with the ball BEFORE it gained backcourt status? NO. The first contact occurred simultaneously with the ball changing status from frontcourt to backcourt. That's not BEFORE and the rule requires BEFORE.

If the ruling in situation 10 were held to be correct, then the following play would also have be declared a backcourt violation:

A1 is holding the ball. He is standing on the center restraining circle in his backcourt exactly six feet from the division line. B1 is standing in the same place on the other side of the division line. Therefore the players are exactly twelve feet apart and in opposite halves of the court. A1 throws a pass intended for A2 who is located at the FT line in Team A's frontcourt, but B1 jumps and blocks the pass with one hand. He deflects the ball directly back to A1 who catches it. During the entire play A1 remained in the same spot on the floor and the ball never touched the court.

MTD, have you been calling backcourt violations on that play since 1971? ;)

Nevadaref Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:47pm

PS Scrapper cited two previous threads on this for you. I think that you are referred to in post #12 of the first thread. :D

Jurassic Referee Tue Aug 05, 2008 01:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
1) I don't feel like climbing up in the attic but I am pretty sure that this play has been in either the NFHS Casebook or the Nat'l. Bkb. Comm. of the U.S. and Canada Casebook in the past.

2) This is really a simple play and as I have said earlier in this post, this interpretation has been in effect for both high school and college for well over 45 years. I can't see any other ruling based upon the rules.


1) You can spend a year in your freaking attic and you'll never find anything to support that statement. There's NEVER been anything cited at ANY time ANYWHERE that will back you up.

2) And the correct call to be made when a defender moves laterally under an airborne opponent after that opponent has left their feet is a simple play too. That didn't stop the (very) odd official from screwing that call completely up also. The same type of official would call a violation on this play.;)

BktBallRef Tue Aug 05, 2008 08:18am

This ruling is nonsense and cannot be supported by rule.

The rule clearly says, "A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. "

The ball was last touched in the frontcourt by B, meaning that it was NOT last touched in the froncourt by A. It was touched in the backcourt by A.

Now, I am challenging MTD to PROVE that this interpretation has been in force for 45 years. You see, just you saying so doesn't mean didley. Put your money where your mouth is.

FrankHtown Tue Aug 05, 2008 08:53am

[QUOTE=Nevadaref]
If the ruling in situation 10 were held to be correct, then the following play would also have be declared a backcourt violation:

A1 is holding the ball. He is standing on the center restraining circle in his backcourt exactly six feet from the division line. B1 is standing in the same place on the other side of the division line. Therefore the players are exactly twelve feet apart and in opposite halves of the court. A1 throws a pass intended for A2 who is located at the FT line in Team A's frontcourt, but B1 jumps and blocks the pass with one hand. He deflects the ball directly back to A1 who catches it. During the entire play A1 remained in the same spot on the floor and the ball never touched the court."

If you break the play down, it has to be called a backcourt violation. Consider:

A1 passes and it is deflected by B1. The ball now has frontcourt status since B1 touched it while in the front court. The deflection never touches the floor and A1 catches it while still standing in the backcourt. Who caused the ball to now have backcourt status? A1.

If A1 lets it bounce in the backcourt before touching it, then B1 would be the cause of the ball acquiring backcourt status, and A can touch it without penalty.

I don't know if I'd ever be quick or alert enough to call it, or if I'd want to explain it to a coach, but it does seem like a backcourt violation.

Adam Tue Aug 05, 2008 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It is nonsense. :p

That is because it doesn't follow the actual text of the rule.

9-9-1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

(snip)
If the ruling in situation 10 were held to be correct, then the following play would also have be declared a backcourt violation:

A1 is holding the ball. He is standing on the center restraining circle in his backcourt exactly six feet from the division line. B1 is standing in the same place on the other side of the division line. Therefore the players are exactly twelve feet apart and in opposite halves of the court. A1 throws a pass intended for A2 who is located at the FT line in Team A's frontcourt, but B1 jumps and blocks the pass with one hand. He deflects the ball directly back to A1 who catches it. During the entire play A1 remained in the same spot on the floor and the ball never touched the court.

MTD, have you been calling backcourt violations on that play since 1971? ;)

Nevada, how does your scenario fit the rule? No one from A touched the ball in the front court, ever. Situation 10 (I'll agree that it's a disaster) doesn't affect your scenario.

jdw3018 Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Nevada, how does your scenario fit the rule? No one from A touched the ball in the front court, ever. Situation 10 (I'll agree that it's a disaster) doesn't affect your scenario.

Someone from A touching the ball in the front court is not a critical part of Situation 10. The only critical parts are:

Team Control A
Ball has front court status
Deflected by B
Caught by A in the back court before the ball has bounced in the back court.

So, Sit 10 definitely applies to Nevada's scenario because the entire point of Sit 10 is to try to argue that the catching of a ball with front court status while standing in back court is tantamount to being both the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it in the back court.

Jurassic Referee Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
This ruling is nonsense and cannot be supported by rule.

The rule clearly says, "A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. "

The ball was last touched in the frontcourt by B, meaning that it was NOT last touched in the froncourt by A. It was touched in the backcourt by A.

That's a concise analysis of why that particular ruling should never have been issued. It simply does not have rules backing.

Adam Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
So, Sit 10 definitely applies to Nevada's scenario because the entire point of Sit 10 is to try to argue that the catching of a ball with front court status while standing in back court is tantamount to being both the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it in the back court.

It took me writing a response, reviewing it, posting it, re-reviewing it, and editing it; but the lightbulb went off.

Camron Rust Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
If you break the play down, it has to be called a backcourt violation. Consider:

A1 passes and it is deflected by B1. The ball now has frontcourt status since B1 touched it while in the front court. The deflection never touches the floor and A1 catches it while still standing in the backcourt. Who caused the ball to now have backcourt status? A1.

If A1 lets it bounce in the backcourt before touching it, then B1 would be the cause of the ball acquiring backcourt status, and A can touch it without penalty.

I don't know if I'd ever be quick or alert enough to call it, or if I'd want to explain it to a coach, but it does seem like a backcourt violation.


Good try, except for the fact that causing the ball to have BC status is NOT a violation. It is completely different than OOB situations.

Consider this player....A1 passes to A2. A2 misses the ball and it goes into the backcourt (A1 last to touch in the FC). Who caused it to go into the backcourt? A1. Is that a violation? No. It only becomes a violation if a player from A is the next to touch the ball. If B retrieves the ball, we keep playing. So, causing the ball to go the BC is not relevant.

Last to touch before it goes to the backcourt and first to touch after it goes to the backcourt are the two major elements to remember....and a single event can't be both before (last to touch) and after (first to touch) a reference point (going to the backcourt).

Adam Tue Aug 05, 2008 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Last to touch before it goes to the backcourt and first to touch after it goes to the backcourt are the two major elements to remember....and a single event can't be both before (last to touch) and after (first to touch) a reference point (going to the backcourt).

Unless, of course, we torture logic enough to render it unrecognizable.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Aug 05, 2008 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Someone from A touching the ball in the front court is not a critical part of Situation 10. The only critical parts are:

Team Control A
Ball has front court status
Deflected by B
Caught by A in the back court before the ball has bounced in the back court.

So, Sit 10 definitely applies to Nevada's scenario because the entire point of Sit 10 is to try to argue that the catching of a ball with front court status while standing in back court is tantamount to being both the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it in the back court.


JDW:

Go the the head of the class and collect a fine Cuban cigar.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Aug 05, 2008 01:44pm

The posters that have trouble with this ruling are missing the point that I thought was so obvious that it is not a violation for a player from Team A, which has control of the ball in its frontcourt, to cause the ball to go from Team A's frontcourt to a Team A's backcourt. The violation is being the first player to touch or be touched by the ball after the ball has regained backcourt status. A2's touching causes two things to happen simulanteously: 1) Causing the ball to return to the backcourt, and 2) being the first player to touch it after the ball returned to the backcourt. It is a pretty simple concept.

MTD, Sr.

Jurassic Referee Tue Aug 05, 2008 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
It is a pretty simple concept.

It is a simple concept. Unfortunately, it's <i>deja vu</i> all over again when it comes to you failing to understand simple concepts.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 05, 2008 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
A2's touching causes two things to happen simulanteously: 1) Causing the ball to return to the backcourt, and 2) being the first player to touch it after the ball returned to the backcourt. It is a pretty simple concept.

MTD, Sr.

Yep, seems pretty simple to me too.

Simultaneously is not the same as BEFORE.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 05, 2008 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by <STRIKE>Nevadaref</STRIKE> FrankHtown

If you break the play down, it has to be called a backcourt violation. Consider: ... (snip)


</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>


Just wished to make sure that no one attributed words to me that weren't mine simply because FrankHtown messed up the quote feature. ;)

Raymond Tue Aug 05, 2008 02:13pm

So A1 is in the front court, throws a pass, it's tipped by B1, and A2 catches the pass in the air while standing in the back court. This is now a backcourt violation?

Nevadaref Tue Aug 05, 2008 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
So A1 is in the front court, throws a pass, it's tipped by B1, and A2 catches the pass in the air whiling standing in the back court. This is now a backcourt violation?

While it doesn't meet the requirements of either 9-9-1 or 9-9-2, it is a violation according the logic set forth in last year's interp (sit 10).

Rather absurd, huh?

Where have you been for a whole year? :p

Raymond Tue Aug 05, 2008 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
While it doesn't meet the requirements of either 9-9-1 or 9-9-2, it is a violation according the logic set forth in last year's interp (sit 10).

Rather absurd, huh?

Where have you been for a whole year? :p

Good thing. I would have had a heck of a time explaining that ruling to a coach.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 05, 2008 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Good thing. I would have had a heck of a time explaining that ruling to a coach.

Might I suggest that you let MTD explain it to the coach for you? :D

Adam Tue Aug 05, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Might I suggest that you let MTD explain it to the coach for you? :D

Talk about prolonging a game....

Raymond Tue Aug 05, 2008 03:29pm

Well, here's unrelated play but it caused a lot of debate in camp among the observers, including the conference supervisor:

Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?

Adam Tue Aug 05, 2008 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
What is A2's status?

He's now playing defense as B is throwing the ball in.

Once A1 stepped out of bounds, he has to either throw it in or throw it to a teammate out of bounds. A2 is neither in bounds nor out of bounds, so it's a violation.

just another ref Tue Aug 05, 2008 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Well, here's unrelated play but it caused a lot of debate in camp among the observers, including the conference supervisor:

Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?

His status is he has committed a violation.

Ch1town Tue Aug 05, 2008 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Well, here's unrelated play but it caused a lot of debate in camp among the observers, including the conference supervisor:

Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?

I'd like to believe the player is OOB but a violation must be called as he is simultaneously standing IB before passing the ball directly onto the court.

Camron Rust Tue Aug 05, 2008 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
The posters that have trouble with this ruling are missing the point that I thought was so obvious that it is not a violation for a player from Team A, which has control of the ball in its frontcourt, to cause the ball to go from Team A's frontcourt to a Team A's backcourt. The violation is being the first player to touch or be touched by the ball after the ball has regained backcourt status. A2's touching causes two things to happen simulanteously: 1) Causing the ball to return to the backcourt, and 2) being the first player to touch it after the ball returned to the backcourt. It is a pretty simple concept.

MTD, Sr.

Correct you are on this statement. However (in the Sit 10 from the NFHS), who was the last to touch the ball before the ball returned to the backcourt? B. There fore, there is no violation.

Raymond Tue Aug 05, 2008 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
I'd like to believe the player is OOB but a violation must be called as he is simultaneously standing IB before passing the ball directly onto the court.

The official on the court did not call a violation. He explanation was as follows:
  • A2 status was OOB. A2 then lifted his inbound foot and stepped completely OOB therefore maintaining his OOB status before passing the ball directly on to the court.

Most of us agreed that it was a violation but we were having a hard time articulating why to the calling official vis-a-vis a rule's citation.

Adam Tue Aug 05, 2008 04:14pm

Maybe I can piece it together at home with the rules cites, but here's my logic:

1. There are specific things A1 is allowed to do without violation. Once he releases the ball, it must do one of two things: go directly onto the court or go to a teammate standing out of bounds along the same endline.

2. The teammate was not standing completely out of bounds when he caught the ball, therefore it's a throwin violation.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 05, 2008 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
The official on the court did not call a violation. He explanation was as follows:

A2 status was OOB. A2 then lifted his inbound foot and stepped completely OOB therefore maintaining his OOB status before passing the ball directly on to the court. Most of us agreed that it was a violation but we were having a hard time articulating why to the calling official vis-a-vis a rule's citation.

a. A2 has OOB status. He is touching OOB with one foot that is all that is required. His status cannot be disputed and is not the issue here.

b. Once A2 catches the ball he must now follow the restrictions of the throw-in provisions. That includes 9-2-5: "... the thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court." By holding the ball and touching inbounds he violated that provision and thus committed a throw-in violation. Case Book play 9.2.5 confirms that touching the court inbounds is a violation.

just another ref Tue Aug 05, 2008 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref

"... the thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court."

The above confusion backs up what I have always thought, which is that this rule, like others could be better worded. One foot in and one foot out equals out of bounds status for the player, which can result in confusion. Suggestion:
The thrower shall not touch the inbounds area with the ball or any part of his person.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 05, 2008 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The above confusion backs up what I have always thought, which is that this rule, like others could be better worded. One foot in and one foot out equals out of bounds status for the player, which can result in confusion. Suggestion:
The thrower shall not touch the inbounds area with the ball or any part of his person.

True, but isn't that what the Case Book does? It seems that the Case Book makes this point quite clearly.

just another ref Tue Aug 05, 2008 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
True, but isn't that what the Case Book does? It seems that the Case Book makes this point quite clearly.

The Case Book does a lot, both to give practical examples of rules as written, and to expand the scope of rules to areas not mentioned at all in the rule book.
But this is an example, in my opinion, of language which does a poor job of delivering the intended message. When a thrower accidentally touches a toe inbounds, this would not for most people amount to "carrying the ball onto the court."

Nevadaref Tue Aug 05, 2008 06:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
When a thrower accidentally touches a toe inbounds, this would not for most people amount to "carrying the ball onto the court."

Shall we have a poll? :D

just another ref Tue Aug 05, 2008 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Shall we have a poll? :D

I'll give you a pole. :D

BillyMac Tue Aug 05, 2008 07:39pm

Waltz in D flat major, opus 64, No. 1, "Minute Waltz"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
I'll give you a pole.

How about a famous Pole?

http://re3.yt-thm-a04.yimg.com/image/25/m4/2843718530

Frédéric Chopin

jdw3018 Tue Aug 05, 2008 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
JDW:

Go the the head of the class and collect a fine Cuban cigar.

MTD, Sr.

While I appreciate a good cigar, I also must add that I disagree with the interpretation.

Understanding the logic doesn't mean I agree with the logic. :D

JRutledge Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It is nonsense. :p

That is because it doesn't follow the actual text of the rule.

I find this statement odd based on your many previous comments. When I made the very same claim on a current POE, you said the rulebook includes the POE.

Why is this case any different? Please do not answer this, just a rhetorical inquiry.

Peace

Nevadaref Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:36am

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It is nonsense. :p

That is because it doesn't follow the actual text of the rule.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
I find this statement odd based on your many previous comments. When I made the very same claim on a current POE, you said the rulebook includes the POE.

Why is this case any different? Please do not answer this, just a rhetorical inquiry.

Peace

Huh? I don't recall anything of the sort. Do you have me mixed up with JR?

Please provide a quote/link.

JRutledge Wed Aug 06, 2008 01:27am

I can list
 
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Both the FED and NCAA rulesmakers are telling us that particular call has nothing to do with advantage/disadvantage, rough play or RBSQ. If we see 2 hands on a ballhandler, we are simply supposed to call a foul.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by You
I agree with the dinosaur. The NFHS is stating very clearly that two hands on = an advantage by definition, no judgment is necessary = a foul.

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by truerookie
Yes, I read the comments. I was making a statement not directly at anyone. So, I just find it hard to believe incidental contact even came into this discussion.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by You
Considering who brought it up, I don't. If you look back through the thread, you will see that Rut was the first one to mention incidental contact. He did so even though the new and past POEs from the NFHS explicitly state that hand-checking is not incidental contact. We don't even have to consider it when making that call. If the criteria provided are met (such as two hands on the opposing ballhandler), then a hand-checking foul is necessary. That is what the national governing body wants. They have decided how they want the HS game to be contested. They have set the standard for what is acceptable and what is not. On the other hand there is Rut with his own personal opinion which he seems to think trumps the thoughts of those on the national committee. He obviously believes that his view is better for the game, and thus chooses to ignore the direct statements of the NFHS committee.

Now these are your comments unedited (except for the red, underlining and bold print of course).

Peace

M&M Guy Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
a. A2 has OOB status. He is touching OOB with one foot that is all that is required. His status cannot be disputed and is not the issue here.

b. Once A2 catches the ball he must now follow the restrictions of the throw-in provisions. That includes 9-2-5: "... the thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court." By holding the ball and touching inbounds he violated that provision and thus committed a throw-in violation. Case Book play 9.2.5 confirms that touching the court inbounds is a violation.

While I agree with your end result, I disagree with how you got there. A1 didn't "carry the ball unto the court" because they passed it. It could be argued A2 didn't "carry" the ball unto the court because they were standing in one spot (with OOB status) when they received the pass.

However, wouldn't 7-5-7(a) cover this?: "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in, or he/she may pass the ball along the endline to a teammate <B>outside the boundary</B>.

Granted, a small, technical point. But who else would appreciate small, technical points the most? :p

just another ref Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:39pm

Actually this is not a throw-in violation at all but rather an out of bounds violation.

9-3-2: No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.

Adam Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Actually this is not a throw-in violation at all but rather an out of bounds violation.

9-3-2: No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.

It's an endline throw-in; could be either one.

just another ref Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It's an endline throw-in; could be either one.


The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball. 4-42-5

Ch1town Thu Aug 07, 2008 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball. 4-42-5

Remember this is on a made basket.

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?

BktBallRef Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:08am

Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, it is not enough for him to be OOB. "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundaryline." (7-5-7) If he's standing with one foot touching inbounds, he's not outside the boundary line.

If he isn't, then the pass is a throw-in.

A2 commits an OOB violation because he is OOB with the ball when the throw-in ends.

just another ref Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, he must be completely OOB (not touching inbounds).

If he isn't, then the pass is a throw-in.

A2 commits an OOB violation because he is OOB with the ball when the throw-in ends.

What he said.

Adam Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball. 4-42-5

If you have a moment, I'd appreciate the verbiage. Don't have my book handy.

My understanding is that this rule specifically states "a throwin ends when a throw-in pass...." If A1's intent is to throw to an OOB A2, the throwin hasn't ended. Of course, a throwin also ends when a violation is committed, so the throwin violation by A2 ends the throwin.

Raymond Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, he must be completely OOB (not touching inbounds).

If he isn't, then the pass is a throw-in.

A2 commits an OOB violation because he is OOB with the ball when the throw-in ends.

My purpose for posting the scenario is not whether or not it is a violation, but WHY it is a violation per a rules citation. At the time no one had a rule book handy and we (those who thought it was a violation) were having trouble articulating why it was a violation to the official in question.

just another ref Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If you have a moment, I'd appreciate the verbiage. Don't have my book handy.

My understanding is that this rule specifically states "a throwin ends when a throw-in pass...." If A1's intent is to throw to an OOB A2, the throwin hasn't ended. Of course, a throwin also ends when a violation is committed, so the throwin violation by A2 ends the throwin.


Doesn't matter what his intent was, if A2 is not completely out of bounds, then
7-5-7 a does not apply.

Any player of the team may .........pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary.

BktBallRef Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
My purpose for posting the scenario is not whether or not it is a violation, but WHY it is a violation per a rules citation.

BNR, as I edited above.

In order for A1 to pass the ball to A2 in this situation, it is not enough for him to be OOB. "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundaryline." (7-5-7) If he's standing with one foot touching inbounds, he's not outside the boundary line.

Adam Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Doesn't matter what his intent was, if A2 is not completely out of bounds, then
7-5-7 a does not apply.

Any player of the team may .........pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary.

BktBallRef's post (and yours here) sums up. This is the exact rule I was thinking of; the question is whether it's a violation on the thrower or the receiver. The difference is where the ensuing spot throwin will be.

Ch1town Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
BktBallRef's post (and yours here) sums up. This is the exact rule I was thinking of; the question is whether it's a violation on the thrower or the receiver. The difference is where the ensuing spot throwin will be.

Yes guys, thanks for the clarification, the player definitely can't be outside the boundary with one foot inbounds.

BktBallRef Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

Hey everybody isn't as experienced/knowledgable as you are, but I'm striving to get better though.
This question is NOT intended to but may or may not "amaze" you. I just want to know.

Do we have a violation on the receiver for catching the throw-in pass while standing OOB
or a throw-in violation for not passing the ball directly onto the court?

Scrapper1 Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Do we have a violation on the receiver for catching the throw-in pass while standing OOB
or a throw-in violation for not passing the ball directly onto the court?

This is a violation on the player catching the pass. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds before going directly out of bounds. He did that, because the ball touched another player, A2.

A2, however, violates when he touches the live ball while contacting the floor out of bounds.

The rules are in 9-2 for this one. I think it's 9-2-2, but I'm not sure.

Ch1town Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:39am

Thank you

Adam Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:54am

Works for me, too.

M&M Guy Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:03am

Me too.

BktBallRef Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Yes guys, thanks for the clarification, the player definitely can't be outside the boundary with one foot inbounds.

BktBallRef Sometimes the discussions on here amaze me.

Hey everybody isn't as experienced/knowledgable as you are, but I'm striving to get better though.
This question is NOT intended to but may or may not "amaze" you. I just want to know.

Do we have a violation on the receiver for catching the throw-in pass while standing OOB
or a throw-in violation for not passing the ball directly onto the court?

Don't be such a girl. :o

I didn't say there was anything wrong with the question or even asking such a question. The discussion amazed me because all one had to do was post the rule, which clearly says the teammate must not just be OOB but beyoind the boundary line. All it would have taken was for someone to open the rule book, whcih wasn't happening.

M&M Guy Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
The discussion amazed me because all one had to do was post the rule, which clearly says the teammate must not just be OOB but beyoind the boundary line. All it would have taken was for someone to open the rule book, whcih wasn't happening.

<font size=1>(ahem...post #42)</font size>

Ok, where's my damn cookie?!?

Ch1town Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Don't be such a girl. :o

I'll work on it :rolleyes:

BktBallRef Thu Aug 07, 2008 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
(ahem...post #42)

Ok, where's my damn cookie?!?

No cookies....Have some M&Ms instead.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
I'll work on it :rolleyes:

Good! :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1