![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Breaking it down screen by screen you can clearly see the defender moving into the path of the airborne shooter while he is in the air. Also I don't see why his two feet being on the ground would be definitive of it being one way or the other. What if he had two feet planted and was leaning w/ his body into the shooter? As far as the "incidental contact" part goes that can be debated. I'm sure most contact on the court is incidental, but it's still a foul. |
|
||||
Quote:
1. Blocking foul. 2. no-call. Since a frame-by-frame analysis is required to determine which way to go, the "wrong" call is acceptable, IMO. Quote:
![]() It cannot be incidental and a foul. It's one or the other.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Incidental - happening or likely to happen in an unplanned or subordinate conjunction with something else. Accidental - happening by chance or accident; not planned; unexpected: an accidental meeting. What's the difference? |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Who is moving into the opponent--the offensive player or the defender? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't see that on this play. JMO. PS I truly appreciate all the work that you put into the pictures. It greatly enhanced the discussion. Thanks. |
|
|||
Quote:
p.s. I still think your blind as a bat. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
What you say is only for defending an opponent who is touching the court. Once the opponent goes airborne (both feet off the floor), the defender cannot move in any direction. He doesn't have to be a statue. Some arm or body movement is acceptable because he is a human being and not a robot, but he certainly cannot move his feet to a new location. Of course, I still believe that the defender got to his spot in time. Pictures 4 and 5 as posted by mu4scott are the critical ones. In Frame 4 the defender has arrived at his final location, has two feet on the floor, and is facing the opponent. One cannot tell for sure because the official's head is in the way, but it is my opinion that the offensive player's left foot is still in contact with the floor at this time. That's all that we need to establish to know that the defender's position is legal. As soon as the opponent's left foot leaves the floor the defender cannot move from that spot on the court. He can move his body, arms, head, etc., as long as he remains in that location. That is what I see in Frame 5. I do not see the defender moving to a new spot on the court. I see him fall backwards with his body to cushion/lessen the impending blow from the offensive player who clearly jumps into him. Whether there is enough contact to warrant a charge or not is up for debate, but no way can this be a block because the action of the defender was legal per the rules. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|