The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2002, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 391
Player A1 gets whistled for a push on B1. B1 reacts rather unfavorably, and grabs A1 and tosses him to the ground. Intentional foul. Turns out that the original foul on A1 was his 5th. Who shoots the foul shots for the intentional foul, A1 or his replacement. We let A1 shoot 'em, and I think we got it wrong
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2002, 11:20pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,545
Question Interesting question.

Quote:
Originally posted by Danvrapp
Player A1 gets whistled for a push on B1. B1 reacts rather unfavorably, and grabs A1 and tosses him to the ground. Intentional foul. Turns out that the original foul on A1 was his 5th. Who shoots the foul shots for the intentional foul, A1 or his replacement. We let A1 shoot 'em, and I think we got it wrong

I think I would have a T if what you discribed happen, then anyone can shoot the FTs.

But the play you discribed as happened, I think it has to be the sub if you call a T.

Good question.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2002, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
First, let's clarify. This would be an intentional technical foul for dead-ball contact.

Once A1 has his fifth foul, he can no longer be a player and can, therefore, not shoot FT's. If A's FT's were from a personal foul, his replacement shoots. For the T, any player (including the sub) can do so.

__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2002, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Mark is right. A1 has 5 so he is out and cannot participate in any free throws. Since the ball was dead, you can't have a simple intentional on B1. By rule it has to be a technical foul (and if it was really bad, you could eject B1 for a flagrant technical). In the play you describe, it does NOT have to be the sub that shoots the T. Any player from A (except A1 or any other disqualified player) can shoot the technical free throws (including a sub).

Z
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1