![]() |
Player Down - Rule and Your Philosophy
When a player goes down and appears to be injured no matter how severe it may or may not be ... what do you do?
I know there is a proper procedure to follow and I know everyone has their own philosophy here (right or wrong, but we know everyone sees and applies differently). What is your take on a player down? |
I can tell you that in our local kids rec league, we have an inviolate rule - if a player appears to be hurt, we immediately stop play and take care of the player - no exceptions and the game situation is irrelevant. We drill the following into everyone - officials, coaches and players alike - "Player safety is rule number one".
|
Quote:
If the play is transistioning to the other end, the T stops and stays with the player. That tells everyone, "We see him." As soon as team control ends or the offense stops pushing the ball, we kill the play. |
Quote:
[See BktBallRef procedure.] |
Safety First ...
Quote:
Also, regarding "team control ends", that means as soon as the shot is attempted, the official blows the whistle, while the shot is in the air. If the attempt misses, we go to the arrow, if the attempt is successful, the other team gets the ball, and is allowed to run the endline. |
I agree with BktBallRef's process when a player goes down.
However, I believe that BillyMac's procedure that read, "Also, regarding "team control ends", that means as soon as the shot is attempted, the official blows the whistle, while the shot is in the air. If the attempt misses, we go to the arrow, if the attempt is successful, the other team gets the ball, and is allowed to run the endline" is incorrect. Think about this situation: A1 goes down with a possible injury and Team B quickly transitions to a two on none break. B1 misses the lay up and B2 follows up and scores. I would never blow that play dead after B1's miss and go to the arrow. It wouldn't be fair. If we actually followed that procedure quoted above, there would be no reason why a player wouldn't "fake" an injury every time down the court. There would always be a chance that the team who had numbers would miss their shot attempt and that the arrow was pointing in favor of the "injured" player's team. |
Quote:
<u><b>NFHS rule 5-8-2NOTE:</b></u> <i>When a player is injured in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player's team or when <b><font color = red>the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal)</font></b> or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play.</i> Billy's advice was to follow the existing rules, as cited above. Your advice is to make up your own rules. Methinks the wise thing to do is to go with Billy. |
Quote:
|
If it's 2 on none, he shouldn't miss the layup, should he? :)
|
Along the lines of "fair solution, but not by the book" I have seen the opposing coach ask for a timeout in this situation which is granted by the official, but then reported as an official timeout. I suppose the timeout request could be considered to be the completion of the play, which makes it all good.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I think the rule could stand without that tripe. If the ball is in flight [with 5-on-4] and with the injured player out of harm's way, I would like to see play continue until it changes direction or until the ball backs away from the basket. |
Quote:
Unfortunately, what rules I personally like or dislike means diddly-squat when I put a whistle in my mouth. That was my point, Mick. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
With the citation of the NFHS rule by Jurrasic, I will have to agree with BiilyMac (even though it seems unfair).
Just for everyone's information, the NCAA Men's rule does read differently: Rule 5 Section 10 Art. 7: Suspends play after the ball is dead or controlled by the injured player's team or when the opponents complete a play after a player is injured. a. A play shall be completed when a team withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. Based on this citation, as long as the team continues to try to score, play is not suspended for injury. (Seems much more fair). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If your personal "common sense" happens to go directly against a plainly written rule, how then am I, say as your supervisor, going to be able to explain away your "common sense" when I get one of those irate post-game phone calls or e-mails? Do you really think that a league is going to accept an explanation that it was OK for an official to ignore that plainly written rule because he didn't think it was "fair"? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
This is the only fair solution. If the offensive team were allowed to continuously attempt shots they would be gaining a huge advantage from the other team's injured player. The way the rule is set up it allows the offense to attempt a shot they probably would have got if no player were injured and does not penalize the defensive team by not having 5 players available to rebound. |
Quote:
I've seen and witness coaches run out on the floor without being "PROPERLY BECKON" onto the court. Would you guys administer a technical foul to the head coach? What about a parent from the stand to check on his/her son/daughter? |
Quote:
|
In NFHS Rules, one would have to apply the rule properly, which means that the official would have to blow the play dead as soon as the shot attempt misses.
Trying to beat a dead horse, I believe that the NCAA Men's Rule cited earlier is a better way of handling this situation. Perhaps this will be one of the differences in the rules that NFHS and NCAA will one day place in alignment. |
Doesn't the rule say the official MAY blow the play dead when... and then list different options? If you don't think it's fair to blow it dead in a 2-on-none, then choose one of the other options, e.g. the ball is dead.
|
Team Contol Ends When ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
You are correct....it says may, not shall. So, that means the official has a choice. The official may kill the play at any of the listed times. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11am. |