![]() |
Question: Who gets the Ball or the arrow?
When does a technical foul not follow with the team that shot FTs getting the ball at halfcourt opposite scorer's table?
|
When you're playing under NCAA or NBA rules.
|
When it is part of a double technical foul, which results in the ball being put back in play at the point of interruption (in which case there may not be any free throws).
|
Or at the end of the game (after the horn has blown and officials have not left the visual confines of the court) when a T is given and the FTs decide the outcome of the game.
Peace |
Or when it's part of, but not the last part of, some kind of false double foul. Simple example, you have a T on A1 for doing something T'able. While B1 is shooting the free throws, B's coach says something unsporting and gets whacked. Following B's free throws, A will then shoot two and get the ball at midcourt. So B shot two free throws, but did not get the ball.
I'm sure somebody will jump in with a far more interesting and colorful example. :) |
NFHS ... Team A gets Tech called on them while walking to the locker room after 1st half ...
How do we start second half? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
One more example.
When the T is the final action of a period. A1 fouls a shooting B1 as time expires. As the official is reporting, A coach earns a T. Shoot the shot(s) for the original foul, then shoot the shots for the T. Next period will begin with an AP throw-in. |
Quote:
You shoot the shots for the T before going to the locker room? Why not at the start of the 2nd half? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Note that in your play, the 4th quarter had ended. That means that time had expired, and any related activity, such as FTs for a foul that occurred during the 4th quarter, was completed. THEN the T was issued. In Snaqwell's play, time had expired (in the 2nd quarter), but the FTs had NOT been shot. So, the 2nd quarter was still going when the T was issued -- the T was part of the 2nd quarter, so the T was administered DURING the 2nd quarter. |
To assimilate the two plays, consider the following play:
Game is tied with time winding down in the 4th quarter. A1 shoots with time expiring and is fouled by B1 as the horn sounds. The shot misses. B1 immediately says something about the official's heritage, earning a T. You'll shoot the T first, followed by A1's shots if necessary. If this happened with an insurmountable point spread, no shots will be taken but all fouls (and ejections if they are flagrant) will be recorded. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00am. |