The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2000, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 53
Post

I think there is more to this call (slapping the backboard "T") then just knowing the rule. If the ball goes in, and some guy slaps the backboard, why give him a "T". The bucket went in, so no coach (except some guy who lives by the rule book) would ever complain about this. It seems to me that unless you need to assess that "T" to remain in control of the game, you can let it go.

Now if the ball doesn't go in, and in your judgement, the player was not attempting to block the shot, then it should be called.

The one thing that worries me about this rule is the amount of judgement involved. If you were to call a "T" on team A for slapping the backboard, and a quarter later, Team B slaps, ball falls out, and you judge that it was in the attempt to block a shot that the backboard was hit - be prepared to take hell from the coach of Team A...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1