The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interesting situation in a summer league game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/45815-interesting-situation-summer-league-game.html)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 25, 2008 01:20pm

[QUOTE=love2refbball]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.QUOTE]

if you "reset" the play does it now become a spot throw in?

No. Just repeat the original throw-in.

Raymond Wed Jun 25, 2008 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Almost (if you want it by the book)...

When the ball hit the R, it was not dead immediately: that was no different than if A1 was executing a bounce pass along the endline to A2 (referee is part of the court at the location of the referee). If after hitting the R, the ball remained on the OOB side of the line...A1, A2 or any other A player (who was OOB along the throwin boundary) could grab the ball and complete the throwin. However, the ball didn't remain OOB, it deflected inbounds. At that point, it became a throwin violation for not throwing it directly onto the court (it hit OOB...the ref...before going inbounds). The ball was dead when it bounced inbounds. The clock should have never started and B1's basket was with a dead ball. B's ball OOB nearest the violation.

That's my interpretation. The ball was live and 'R1' was part of the court where he was standing. If the ball riccochets back to A1 then after I gather my senses I resume my count.

JugglingReferee Wed Jun 25, 2008 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, of course they do. What else could they possibly have to say after you admit that, yes, the officials could have handled that play differently?

If the official was right, you back them 100%. If they screwed up, admit it.

Officials are human. They make mistakes. The good ones learn from it and don't repeat those mistakes. Coaches will accept that if you're honest and straight-forward with them. It works both ways too. They also have to accept it when you tell them that their behavior isn't acceptable either. And a coach going postal after an official makes a wrong call is never acceptable--anywhere.

Ok, that is fine. But it did seem that this answer is different than "[it] happens".

Nevadaref Wed Jun 25, 2008 03:13pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Almost (if you want it by the book)...

When the ball hit the R, it was not dead immediately: that was no different than if A1 was executing a bounce pass along the endline to A2 (referee is part of the court at the location of the referee). If after hitting the R, the ball remained on the OOB side of the line...A1, A2 or any other A player (who was OOB along the throwin boundary) could grab the ball and complete the throwin. However, the ball didn't remain OOB, it deflected inbounds. At that point, it became a throwin violation for not throwing it directly onto the court (it hit OOB...the ref...before going inbounds). The ball was dead when it bounced inbounds. The clock should have never started and B1's basket was with a dead ball. B's ball OOB nearest the violation.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
That's my interpretation. The ball was live and 'R1' was part of the court where he was standing. If the ball riccochets back to A1 then after I gather my senses I resume my count.

I agree with you guys. :)

NO DO-OVERS in NFHS basketball!!!

Nevadaref Wed Jun 25, 2008 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I have no idea either how the officials can really avoid having a play like this happen, under the circumstances described. I'll have to leave that explanation up to Juggler.

How about don't bounce the ball across the FT lane even in the back court?
I know that the NCAAW do it, but that the NCAAM do not.
In this case, perhaps the game was two-man, but I still would have gone over to the side of the basket where the thrower wanted to start. This would have made it much more unlikely that another player would step OOB behind me as I moved out of the way towards the corner.

Camron Rust Wed Jun 25, 2008 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
How about don't bounce the ball across the FT lane even in the back court?
I know that the NCAAW do it, but that the NCAAM do not.
In this case, perhaps the game was two-man, but I still would have gone over to the side of the basket where the thrower wanted to start. This would have made it much more unlikely that another player would step OOB behind me as I moved out of the way towards the corner.

Unless that player was stepping OOB in the corner you started on....

A1 receives the ball from the R on the left of the key at the lane line extended...takes 1 -3 steps to the right while A2 cuts to the corner on the side where the A1 started when A1 turns and throws the ball to A2.

Nevadaref Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Unless that player was stepping OOB in the corner you started on....

A1 receives the ball from the R on the left of the key at the lane line extended...takes 1 -3 steps to the right while A2 cuts to the corner on the side where the A1 started when A1 turns and throws the ball to A2.

That's why I said, "much more unlikely." :(

MidMadness Fri Jun 27, 2008 09:48am

What if the
 
ball hit off of R1 and landed out of bounds bofore it rolled onto the court?? Would that be an inbounds violation?? Same as touching out of bounds first when rollling it in??

Camron Rust Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness
ball hit off of R1 and landed out of bounds bofore it rolled onto the court?? Would that be an inbounds violation?? Same as touching out of bounds first when rollling it in??

Yep....hitting R1 and the floor are equivalent...so this one bounced OOB twice then rolled in. No different than than hitting only the R or the floor alone then bouncing/rolling inbounds.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1