![]() |
Off Topic: Rules Question
I hate to bring up a real basketball / officiating question, so I apologize in advance for bringing an off-topic discussion to this forum:
Play: FED rules. A scores a basket with 4.8 seconds remaining. The score is now B:46, A:44. Team A is out of time-outs. Player B1 (stupidly) grabs the ball as it falls through the basket and throws the ball: (a) high in the air, (b) to the other end of the court, (c) out of bounds under A's basket and away from the court. Ruling:?? (Is there any penalty / delay warning to B? When (if ever) does the ball become live (what if A "fouls" during this sequence)?) |
Quote:
Did you mean to say that A1 grabs the ball and throws it? In that case, it's strictly the official's judgment. If it was intentional, you charge A1 with a technical and put the consumed time back on the clock. If it was simple confusion, you put the time back on the clock and let B run the endline for their normal throw-in. |
Quote:
C) I would start the 5-second count A) I need to mull that one over a little bit |
Quote:
Can you elucidate, Robert? |
If it's B1, and he never stepped OOB, immediate throwin violation (under the same case play that sticks them when they just start dribbling). Ball to A under the basket.
If it's A1, let the clock run. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Try to stay on topic, peanutgallery boy. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Team B isn't gaining any advantage through the dumb play of B1. Jmo.... |
why start the 5 second count -- there is less than that amount of time on the clock and the clock is not stopped.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
(a) you're probably gonna need an explanation for your actions post-game for somebody...and it's easier to explain the situation if everybody has seen a visual count. (b) if you're decide you're going to follow the course of action I suggested, proper mechanics have you showing the visual count. (c) You look like you actually might have a clue as to what you're doing if you show an immediate visual count. |
In A and C, I'm going to have a 5 second count going, and I'm going to let the clock run out. In B, technically this could be a throw-in violation, but unless it looks an awful lot like he was trying to initiate a play, I'm going to go with the 5 second count and let the clock run out.
And yes, I will be counting, because an awful lot of people will be looking at me as soon as B1 throws the ball to see what I'm going to "do about this." I want it to be entirely obvious what I'm going to do. |
Quote:
If a team scores with 7 seconds remaining in any period, do you begin a 10 second count once the ball has been inbounded? |
Quote:
7 seconds remaining, I'll make a visible 10 second count... in case of a TO & the clock keeps running then I have definite info with my count. |
Quote:
I'm JUST A COACH, so by definition I dont know the rules and should just shut up and eat my dead pets, but I believe there is a provision in the rulebook about just this scenario. under 5 seconds left, made basket by team A, team A losing with no Timeouts left. Intentionally trying to cause a delay of game whistle can be ignored by the officials and if it is egregious, the officials may call a technical foul. I don't have my rulebook with me at work (I'm lying, I'm JUST A COACH and I've never actually seen a rulebook) so I can't give a reference. The only provision is that the refs call it both ways... |
Quote:
-Josh |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Do you have a new whistle that I dont have?.. I want one with a clock on it! |
Quote:
|
I've got a count here as well, mainly to show everyone I'm not sleeping and that I know what's happening. Similar to the reasoning for the signal we're allowed to give when the ball handler is no longer closely guarded.
I'm still want to call the immediate throwin violation, but I see JR's point about no advantage being gained by the stupidity. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In all cases, I can see showing the 5 second count as soon as it leaves B1's hands to show that the official is on the play and that the game ain't over. I'd have no violation in any of the three cases if the time ran out with no player controlling the ball. |
Quote:
As soon as B1 throws the ball somewhere the official needs to make a decision. Part (c) seems to be the easiest to handle as the ball is now in a location from where the throw-in could be legally completed. In this case, the official merely continues the count and the game clock will expire. Parts (a) and (b) present a different problem. Namely, it is not possible to allow the game to continue if the ball comes down in bounds and is controlled by a player of Team A as the action of B1 cannot be considered a legal throw-in as he was not OOB when throwing the ball. Therefore, I believe that a throw-in violation must be called against Team B as soon as B1 throws the ball into the air anywhere over the playing court. Sound the whistle, stop the clock, and resume play with a throw-in to Team A on the endline with whatever amount of time remains. To do otherwise seems unfair to Team A imo. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
JT |
Quote:
|
Where's My Credit Card ???
Quote:
http://www.ump-attire.com/Merchant2/...nindicator.jpg |
Quote:
I love it. :cool: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
(no wonder you're such a cranky old ffffer) |
The Beehive State ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
http://www.calgary-city-maps.com/ima...garyFlames.gif |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42pm. |