The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   break plan, in air, throwin (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4556-break-plan-air-throwin.html)

Bart Tyson Wed Apr 03, 2002 09:21am

YOU ARE REEAALL FUNNY mick!

bob jenkins Wed Apr 03, 2002 10:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
player can run the baseline. Player runs from the OOB toward inbounds for a throwin. Goes air born from oob, i.e. last touched oob, now player is in air on the inbound side of the baseline. Before touching inbounds, releases the ball for the throwin to a teammate. Is this legal?
I think it's legal. I don't see anything in the definition of "designated spot" that it ends at the inbounds line.

RefMag agrees (in the April 2002 issue). I know that's not much support, given the mistakes that are often made, but it's something.

Bart Tyson Wed Apr 03, 2002 11:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
player can run the baseline. Player runs from the OOB toward inbounds for a throwin. Goes air born from oob, i.e. last touched oob, now player is in air on the inbound side of the baseline. Before touching inbounds, releases the ball for the throwin to a teammate. Is this legal?
I think it's legal. I don't see anything in the definition of "designated spot" that it ends at the inbounds line.


Bob, Either i am misunderstanding you or you have not read the definition of Designated spot. Help me out here.


bob jenkins Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:22pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:

Bob, Either i am misunderstanding you or you have not read the definition of Designated spot. Help me out here.

4-41-6 "The designated spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation"

You can read "depth" as meaning "from the sideline back to the wall". I choose not to put any "sideline" restriction on it.

If you put a restriction on it, then 9-2-1 would not allow you to leap over the court. But, 9-2-11 NOTE allows the offense to penetrate the plane -- again, not restricted to "arms or one foot", so you'd have a conflict between 9-2-1 and 9-2-11.

If you don't put the restriction on 4-41-6, then the rules aren't in conflict. 9-2-1 deals with "horizontal" movement, 9-2-5 deals with landing on the court before releasing the ball, and 9-2-11 NOTE says it's okay to leap over the court.

The NCAA rules are substantially the same.

Bart Tyson Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:29pm

Bob I don't think you read 4-41-6-Note. There is a restriction on the Designated throw-in spot. The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released.

Kelvin green Wed Apr 03, 2002 01:19pm

You have to keep foot on or over designated spot, but the spot is three feet wide, there is nothing about anything else. We alwyas tell the players you can go backwards as far as they want and their foot is always over the spot. since an offensive player can break the plane on the throwin I would think this play is legal. Now if someone figures out this is a great advantage the rule may change but I really cant see whay the advantage would be, to me I would rather stay over the oob areas so I can protect the ball...

DrakeM Wed Apr 03, 2002 01:44pm

Ok. So player A1 has the ball at his disposal, count is at
4 and he jumps into B1 who is defending the throw in.
P.C.?;) (Yeah, I know, I'm a smart a**, so I'll save you the
time.):D:p

dragonref Wed Apr 03, 2002 01:49pm

Given that you have to have one foot over or above the designated spot, then the designated spot can not extend into the playing court. Why? Because if you touch the floor inbounds you have commited a violation. The throw in spot extend backwards from the endline, but can not extend past the endline. You have to be able to put your foot down on the spot and you can't do that past the endline into the playing surface.

mick Wed Apr 03, 2002 02:02pm

The end line is a spot.
 
SITUATION #1: After the made basket, A1 has the ball for a throw-in along the end line. B1 fouls A2 at: (a) the division line; (b) the free-throw line closest to the throw-in; (c) along the sideline by A's bench; or (d) along the end line near A1. RULING: In (a) and (c) the ball is put in play at the out of bounds spot closest to where the foul occurred which is along the sideline. A throw-in along the sideline is always a spot throw-in. In (b) and (d) <Font Size = +3>the closest spot to the foul is the end line </font>where the original throw-in was taking place. In both situations the thrower will retain the privilege of running the end line for the throw-in. (7-5-7)


mick Wed Apr 03, 2002 02:05pm


The throw-in spot is out-of-bounds... otherwise they would call it the throw-to spot.

mick Wed Apr 03, 2002 02:32pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

But, 9-2-11 NOTE allows the offense to penetrate the plane -- again, not restricted to "arms or one foot" ...

...9-2-11 NOTE says it's okay to leap over the court.


9-2-11 Note says "penetrate the plane", <u>not</u> "leap over the court".

Kelvin green Wed Apr 03, 2002 02:45pm

going back to the original post. It had nothing to do with a designated spot. The player could run the endline... and ran forward and leaped. He doesnt need to keep foot on spot.

Drake is right, you have a chance at a foul more than anything.

Mick what is your definition of penetrate

from the miriam webster on-line dictionary

Main Entry: pen·e·trate
Pronunciation: 'pe-n&-"trAt
Function: verb
Inflected Form(s): -trat·ed; -trat·ing
Etymology: L penetratus, past participle of penetrare, from penitus deep within, far; akin to Latin penus provisions
Date: circa 1530
transitive senses
1 a : to pass into or through b : to enter by overcoming resistance : PIERCE c : to gain entrance to
2 a : to see into or through b : to discover the inner contents or meaning of
3 : to affect profoundly with feeling
4 : to diffuse through or into
intransitive senses
1 a : to pass, extend, pierce, or diffuse into or through something b : to pierce something with the eye or mind
2 : to affect deeply the senses or feelings
synonym see ENTER

In my mind you either penetrate or you dont... it's like being pregnant youre either pregnant or your not ( or your wife)

mick Wed Apr 03, 2002 03:03pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Kelvin green
[B]going back to the original post. It had nothing to do with a designated spot. The player could run the endline... and ran forward and leaped. He doesnt need to keep foot on spot.</b>

NFHS Situation #1 states the end line is a spot.

<b>
Mick what is your definition of penetrate</b>


from the miriam webster on-line dictionary

Main Entry: pen·e·trate
1 a :<u> to pass into <s>or through</s> </u>

That works... your words.

If you chose to violate the foot over the spot requirement, that's fine with me.
mick

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 03, 2002 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM
Ok. So player A1 has the ball at his disposal, count is at
4 and he jumps into B1 who is defending the throw in.
P.C.?;) (Yeah, I know, I'm a smart a**, so I'll save you the
time.):D:p

Can't be a PC because there is no player control(or team control)on a throw-in.Ball is alive,though,so I guess you could call a common foul.I'd probably lie my way out of this one--I'd find some kind of violation.:DHeckuva question,Drake!

Mark Dexter Wed Apr 03, 2002 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM
Ok. So player A1 has the ball at his disposal, count is at
4 and he jumps into B1 who is defending the throw in.
P.C.?;) (Yeah, I know, I'm a smart a**, so I'll save you the
time.):D:p

Not to wake sleeping giants, but:

FIVE SECOND CALL!!

:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1