![]() |
Quote:
|
There is absolutely nothing wrong with the physical position of the defender on his hands and knees. That is not what any official should penalize.
The problem here is the tactic of purposely adopting that position with the intent to put his opponent in a dangerous situation. Simply put the idea of the defender is to do something unfair and unsafe. That cannot be allowed and must be penalized. I would not penalize based upon the physical contact which may or may not take place in this specific case. I would penalize based upon the mental process undertaken by the defender. His conciously chose to do something not within the spirit of fair play. That meets the definition of an unsporting foul. Thus the penalty that I select is an unsporting technical foul and it occurs as soon as the defender adopts this position, but I may withhold the whistle to allow the opponent to finish his scoring play and then enforce the penalty. So again any physical contact is not the central issue. I know that the criticism of this method of handling the situation is going to be that an official cannot read the mind of a player or that one doesn't know if the defender is injured. In answer to that I say that it can quickly be determined whether the player is hurt or not, and while an official can never know exactly what a player or coach is thinking reasonable determinations of such can be made from their actions. Afterall, that is why we get paid the big bucks! ;) |
Quote:
From some rookie clown who obviously hasn't figured out which end of the whistle to blow yet? You didn't learn a damn thing, did ya? You also still haven't learned what was really important about the whole situation that you originally posted either, have ya? Hint.....it ain't some once-in million, might-never-happen situation. It's about a new official that very obviously doesn't know some very basic rules relating to illegal contact. Lah me....peanut gallery.....:rolleyes: |
Quote:
Here's what you need to do: 1. Admit that you F'd up the situation. -- No big deal. We all have at one time or another. That's how experience is gained. 2. Learn from it. -- Study the rules regarding displacement and do a better job in the future of calling PC fouls for that so that the situation does not degenerate into a mess.-- This is the key step. You will be an improved official if you take something positive from this bad experience. Good luck. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Mark Padgett Somehow, I don't think being on your hands and knees qualifies as being in "legal guarding position". What do you guys think? :confused: </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE> Quote:
If that doesn't do it for you, the defender could establish INITIAL LGP and then does not have to keep both feet on the floor or continue facing the opponent in order to maintain it per 4-23-3. Turning away or ducking is specifically allowed. |
Quote:
Why? |
Quote:
You put some VERY experienced and intelligent officials in a "peanut gallery"... calm down and LISTEN to these veterans. If you want to trade barbs...trust me...you are messing with the best here. LISTEN to these veterans...IMO, you will become a better official. |
Quote:
Consider the source and just ignore. It's all just meaningless rhetoric anyway, as you previously said. |
My opinion: The "entitled to any spot on the floor" and the related "dives for the ball and A trips over the prone player" rules / cases are for instances where basketball plays are being made.
Dropping to the hands and knees in the situation described is not a baketball play. I'd penalize as Camron suggests in post #14. |
Quote:
I think I can live with the unsporting T, as it is not too much different than the "barking dog" play. And, if that's the case, I wouldn't need to wait to see if anyone gets injured, or if there's any contact at all. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Defenders who "flop" are surrendering their legal guarding position. Any contact with a defender in an illegal guarding position is a block. If you can determine the defender intentionally undercut the offensive player than you may consider an intentional foul. |
Quote:
Players without LGP are not always responsible for contact. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07pm. |