The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Intentional Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/44299-intentional-foul.html)

Scrapper1 Mon May 12, 2008 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
A1 is dribbling the ball and is intentional fouled by B1. After the foul has been called, A2 pushes B1 which results in an intentional technical foul.

How many FT's are shot, how and where is play resumed. What' s the High School and College ruling.

Same rulings for NFHS and NCAA-M. I don't know the women's ruling. False double foul. Penalize both fouls and administer in the order in which they occurred. A1 shoots 2 FTs with nobody on the lane. Then any member of Team B shoots 2 FTs with nobody on the lane. (One minor difference is that in NCAA, the same player from Team B must shoot both technical FTs. In NFHS, different players could shoot the technical FTs.) Then the ball is inbounded by Team B at the midcourt line.

Nevadaref Mon May 12, 2008 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
I know... It was just the first thing that popped into my head.
Hey here is another situation that happened in my rec game last night.

A1 is dribbling the ball and is intentional fouled by B1. After the foul has been called, A2 pushes B1 which results in an intentional technical foul.

How many FT's are shot, how and where is play resumed. What' s the High School and College ruling.

Try this brain buster.

NFHS:
1. A1 attempts two FTs with the lane spaces unoccupied.
2. Any member of Team B attempts two FTs with the lane spaces empty.
3. Team B is awarded the ball at the division line opposite the table.

NCAA Mens:
Is the same administration as NFHS because the foul by A1 is an intentional technical foul for dead ball contact.
(Team B does have the option to have the throw-in tableside if they wish.)

Dan_ref Mon May 12, 2008 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
NCAA Mens:
Is the same administration as NFHS because the foul by A1 is an intentional technical foul for dead ball contact.
(Team B does have the option to have the throw-in tableside if they wish.)

Maybe I'll learn something from you today.

I know the rule says the ball's put in play from the designated spot on either side of the division line.

Where does it say the option belongs to team B?

Nevadaref Mon May 12, 2008 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Maybe I'll learn something from you today.

I know the rule says the ball's put in play from the designated spot on either side of the division line.

Where does it say the option belongs to team B?

It doesn't, as you in your ever-patronizing manner are well-aware. Of course, you also know that the book doesn't provide any criteria by which the officials should make the determination of proper side of the court. I've also checked the casebook for some direction and found none. So the desire of the offended team is as reasonable a determining factor as anything else at this point.

I'll inquire with some people and see if I can get you a quality answer.

JRutledge Tue May 13, 2008 01:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I'll inquire with some people and see if I can get you a quality answer.

This is only something you would care about. ;)

Peace

Dan_ref Tue May 13, 2008 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It doesn't... (whining & speculation removed)

I'll inquire with some people and see if I can get you a quality answer.

Don't bother. An interpretation is that either coach can ask or the crew can decide on their own to move the ball tableside for whatever reason. The coach's request does not have to be honored. Of course this virtually never happens, but if it did anything you do would be within the rules as written.

Does anybody else have a different interpretation...? Or has anybody else even thought about this?

Raymond Tue May 13, 2008 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref

Does anybody else have a different interpretation...? Or has anybody else even thought about this?

Yeah, that coaches probably don't even realize they have the choice.

Dan_ref Tue May 13, 2008 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Yeah, that coaches probably don't even realize they have the choice.

That's for sure.

just another ref Tue May 13, 2008 10:44am

I'm out of my area and this is probably somehow a dumb question.......but, isn't NCAA point of interruption after all technicals?

bob jenkins Tue May 13, 2008 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
I'm out of my area and this is probably somehow a dumb question.......but, isn't NCAA point of interruption after all technicals?

Not after intentional or flagrant Ts

TRef21 Tue May 13, 2008 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Not after intentional or flagrant Ts

No way Bob... this is a good question. You would be surprised how many people would get this incorrect. The type of technical basically determines where the ball is put in play. Let's say the player doesn't push the opponent and you stick him for his language. Now where is the ball put back in play? Both rulings are different.

Adam Tue May 13, 2008 08:11pm

The type of T could also determine who gets the ball, not just where.

TRef21 Tue May 13, 2008 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
The type of T could also determine who gets the ball, not just where.

Yah I was just going to mention that. During the dead ball you can have an intentional technical, flagrant technical, team technical, personal technical, etc. All determine where the ball is put in play and who gets it.

Mark Padgett Tue May 13, 2008 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I don't know the women's ruling. False double foul.

In HS I went out with a girl who I found out had false doubles. It was definitely foul. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1