The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt on throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/44047-backcourt-throw.html)

Raymond Fri May 02, 2008 08:51am

Backcourt on throw-in
 
A1 throw-in from frontcourt base-line. B1 deflects throw-in in f/c followed by A2, with f/c status, deflecting ball which then goes into backcourt. Can Team A retrieve the ball in the backcourt? Is there a difference between NCAA or NFHS since in NCAA there is team control on a throw-in?

I know that in both rule sets that if B1 deflects the throw-in A2 cannot jump from the f/c, catch the ball in the air, then land in the b/c because the throw-in ended when B1 deflected the ball and thus the b/c exemption would no longer apply.

Adam Fri May 02, 2008 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
A1 throw-in from frontcourt base-line. B1 deflects throw-in in f/c followed by A2, with f/c status, deflecting ball which then goes into backcourt. Can Team A retrieve the ball in the backcourt? Is there a difference between NCAA or NFHS since in NCAA there is team control on a throw-in?

No violation as team control was not established until after the ball made it to the backcourt.

Scrapper1 Fri May 02, 2008 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
A1 throw-in from frontcourt base-line. B1 deflects throw-in in f/c followed by A2, with f/c status, deflecting ball which then goes into backcourt. Can Team A retrieve the ball in the backcourt? Is there a difference between NCAA or NFHS since in NCAA there is team control on a throw-in?

You are correct that there is team control during a throw-in in NCAA (dumb rule), but there are exceptions in place so that your play is legal. (NCAA 4-3-5 and 4-3-6)

Raymond Fri May 02, 2008 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No violation as team control was not established until after the ball made it to the backcourt.

I can see that for NFHS. But in NCAA there is team control. And B1 deflecting the ball ends the throw-in. So I guess I'm more wondering if this would be a b/c violation in NCAA.

Ch1town Fri May 02, 2008 09:34am

I had a similar play last night in a HS spring league. A1 has a FC endline throw-in deflected into the BC by A3 then A3 runs to pick up the ball... I had nothing, well except a new 10 second count :D (much to the surprise of my 2 veteran partners). At the next TO my reply was simply "although the throw-in ended on the deflection, there is no team control on a throw-in, TC began when A3 possessed the ball".

I believe the same holds true in your sitch.

Not sure about NCAA...

bob jenkins Fri May 02, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I can see that for NFHS. But in NCAA there is team control. And B1 deflecting the ball ends the throw-in. So I guess I'm more wondering if this would be a b/c violation in NCAA.

No violation in NCAA

refguy Sat May 03, 2008 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
No violation in NCAA

Thank you Bob for all your hard work.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1