Camron Rust |
Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:36pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
In this case he (CDR) was clearly angry
|
Perhaps, but for what....and there is no rule about being angry.
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
and out of control and
|
Again, no rule against it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
committed an unsporting act,
|
debateable to be sure, but was it really.
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
then looked directly at the official like he was waiting for the "t" signal.
|
Are your sure...or did the ref get his attention to say something to him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
I think calling a technical in this situation would have been a huge help to the game. it would preserve the integrity of the officials involved and the rules.
|
If they had called it, it would have detracted from the game. Instead of everyone talking about how Memphis threw the game away through turnovers and missed FTs, they'd be talking only about the T and the KU championship would have an asterisk by it for being decided by a marginal T.
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
Instead they gave a star player a break in special circumstances (nc game). I lost much respect for the crew of that game and their judgment. I think I'll have to give your replies here a second look if I follow your rationale posted here for not calling a technical foul. Sure it would have been a madhouse if he called the t, but instead the opposing team was cheated out of a legitimate free throw opportunity.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
By not calling the t we create these "spoiled" players and special rules for special times which ultimately erode the integrity, spirit and purpose of the game.
|
No, I wouldn't call it on any player under the same game situation....even at Varsity by a non-star player.
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckref
It's a technical every time I see it at the varsity level. the only exception would be a player making a hard dribble and catching it, not what we saw in the cdr example.
|
That is always "accepted" if that is the only action.
|