The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 08:46am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
A1 is driving ... jumps gathers the ball and appears to be landing on two feet (jump stop) ... while in the air B1 hacks A1 - before he lands. WHISTLE ... foul. Ball on baseline ... correct call? Or should he be awarded two shots?

Continuous motion?

Player never attempted the shot ... but, what if player had attempted the shot after the jump stop?
Break the play down. You've got two possible separate and distinct acts made by the dribbler;
1) he gathers the ball and makes a jump stop.
2) after making the jump stop, he goes into the "act of shooting"...i.e. he jumps to shoot the ball.

If the player is fouled during (1), he's fouled while ending his dribble. So, in the play above, B1 hacked A1 when A1 was ending his dribble. Ergo, it's a common foul.

If the player is fouled during (2)....i.e. when he jumps after completing the jump stop, he is fouled in the "act of shooting". Ergo, 2 shots(unless he jump-stopped outside the arc).

You end the dribble by jump-stopping. After you end the dribble, you can pass, shoot, or call a TO.

Make sense?

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sat Mar 22, 2008 at 09:14am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1