The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4289-travel.html)

Jay R Sun Mar 03, 2002 01:26pm

Please help. A4 with the ball is posting his man. A4 stops dribbling and his left foot is his pivot foot. Then he pivots towards the basket. He takes a step with his right foot and lifts his left foot and lays the ball in. Hope this is clear? Is this travelling? I thought so because he lifts the pivot foot.

mick Sun Mar 03, 2002 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Please help. A4 with the ball is posting his man. A4 stops dribbling and his left foot is his pivot foot. Then he pivots towards the basket. He takes a step with his right foot and lifts his left foot and lays the ball in. Hope this is clear? Is this travelling? I thought so because he lifts the pivot foot.
Once the player lifts his pivot foot, he is legal as long as neither foot retouches the floor before the ball is released.
So, you probably kicked that one.

ref5678 Sun Mar 03, 2002 02:02pm

mick is correct this would not be a travel

ump2604 Sun Mar 03, 2002 03:11pm

Ref5678 is correct and so is mike cause as long at his right foot doest touch again it isn't a travel.

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 03, 2002 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ump2604
Ref5678 is correct and so is mike cause as long at his right foot doest touch again it isn't a travel.
Need to read it again,ump.Whether it is the right foot or not is not really the full answer.If either foot comes down,it's a travel.Rules reference is R-4-43-3b.

Jay R Sun Mar 03, 2002 04:53pm

Once the player lifts his pivot foot, he is legal as long as neither foot retouches the floor before the ball is released.
So, you probably kicked that one.

Mick. My interpretation is that his right foot is still touching the floor while his pivot foot has now left the floor. I don't see how this is different than changing your pivot foot. I appreciate your comments.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 03, 2002 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
My interpretation is that his right foot is still touching the floor while his pivot foot has now left the floor. I don't see how this is different than changing your pivot foot.
You're interpreting it incorrectly.

4-44-3a
After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

If he hops on the non-pivot, then he's traveled. But the play that you describe is legal.

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 03, 2002 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
My interpretation is that his right foot is still touching the floor while his pivot foot has now left the floor. I don't see how this is different than changing your pivot foot.
You're interpreting it incorrectly.

4-44-3a
After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

If he hops on the non-pivot, then he's traveled. But the play that you describe is legal.

Please Mr. BasketballRef,Sir,could you answer the following?I get SO confused sometimes!
1)How long is the player allowed to stand on his non-pivot foot while holding the ball after he raises his pivot foot?
2)If he's standing on his non-pivot foot after he's raised his pivot foot,can he legally toss the ball back-and-forth between his hands without committing a violation?
3)If the ball comes to rest for 0.1 seconds on one of his hands while he is tossing the ball back and forth,is it now a violation?
4)If the player "drags" the ball while standing on his non-pivot foot,can you call him for an illegal"drag"?
5)If a player is "dragging" the ball while he is hopping on his non-pivot foot,is it still a violation if the ball is not touching either hand when the player's foot contacts the floor while hopping?
Thank you in advance for your expert help!

BktBallRef Sun Mar 03, 2002 07:00pm

1) The ball must be snapped before the 25 second play clock expires.
2) Not in Florida.
3) Yes, in Georgia, it is.
4) Sorry, I don't do drag queen jokes.
5) Hopping is not allowed.

I hope that helps!

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 03, 2002 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
1) The ball must be snapped before the 25 second play clock expires.
2) Not in Florida.
3) Yes, in Georgia, it is.
4) Sorry, I don't do drag queen jokes.
5) Hopping is not allowed.

I hope that helps!

I'm sorry,but I can't agree with you on #5.If it is not SPECIFICALLY covered in the rulebook,then it must be legal.Unless you REALLY want it to be illegal,of course!Then,it IS illegal!I agree with you on 1-4,though.

mick Sun Mar 03, 2002 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
<i>Once the player lifts his pivot foot, he is legal as long as neither foot retouches the floor before the ball is released.
So, you probably kicked that one. </i>

Mick. My interpretation is that his right foot is still touching the floor while his pivot foot has now left the floor. I don't see how this is different than changing your pivot foot. I appreciate your comments.

Jay R.
Looks like BktBallRef answered nicely on my expansion of your play to exclude the illegal hop. ;)
mick

mick Sun Mar 03, 2002 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I'm sorry,but I can't agree with you on #5.If it is not SPECIFICALLY covered in the rulebook,then it must be legal.Unless you REALLY want it to be illegal,of course!Then,it IS illegal!I agree with you on 1-4,though.
JR,
Au contraire!
Hopping is specifically excluded in 4-43 by being not being specifically included in the "limits on foot mvements". ;)
mick

crew Sun Mar 03, 2002 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Please help. A4 with the ball is posting his man. A4 stops dribbling and his left foot is his pivot foot. Then he pivots towards the basket. He takes a step with his right foot and lifts his left foot and lays the ball in. Hope this is clear? Is this travelling? I thought so because he lifts the pivot foot.
this is a legal and bktballref answered this correctly. do not let the sarcasm from others steer you wrong. the player may lift his pivot foot and stand on his non-pivot for as long as he likes and is legal with the following exceptions:
exception 1. he may only stand in place for 3 sec. in the lane area.
exception 2. he may only stand for 5 sec. in a closely guarded situation.
exception 3. he may only stand for 10 sec. in the backcourt
of course there are probly other exceptions that i am not considering right now. if anyone thinks of any other exceptions chime in and send them.

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 03, 2002 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I'm sorry,but I can't agree with you on #5.If it is not SPECIFICALLY covered in the rulebook,then it must be legal.Unless you REALLY want it to be illegal,of course!Then,it IS illegal!I agree with you on 1-4,though.
JR,
Au contraire!
Hopping is specifically excluded in 4-43 by being not being specifically included in the "limits on foot mvements". ;)
mick

But if it not specifically included,then there is also no specific rule to say that it must be specifically excluded too!Therefore,you can specifically rule it as being specifically legal OR specifically illegal!That's my story and I'm sticking to it!

Jay R Sun Mar 03, 2002 09:27pm

Thanks guys. I'm a rookie ref and this is a good place to learn. Peace.

williebfree Sun Mar 03, 2002 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by crew
...Of course there are probly other exceptions that i am not considering right now. if anyone thinks of any other exceptions chime in and send them.
Exception #4.

He may NOT stand out of bounds for any bit of time while he is in possesion of the ball.

Just had to add another "obvious" one.... (Hee hee hee) :D

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 03, 2002 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by williebfree
Quote:

Originally posted by crew
...Of course there are probly other exceptions that i am not considering right now. if anyone thinks of any other exceptions chime in and send them.
Exception #4.

He may NOT stand out of bounds for any bit of time while he is in possesion of the ball.

Just had to add another "obvious" one.... (Hee hee hee) :D

C'mon,Willie.We're trying to be serious here!:D

mick Sun Mar 03, 2002 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
That's my story and I'm sticking to it!
JR,
If you are not in the paint, if you are not in the back court, and if you are not being closely guarded, but you do have gum on your non-pivot foot, then you better stick to it, or we're going "That way!"
mick

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 04, 2002 04:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
That's my story and I'm sticking to it!
JR,
then you better stick to it

I agree with everything you say,mick,so I guess you can say that the feeling is mucilage.

egausch Mon Mar 04, 2002 08:19am

Another thing to watch for!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Thanks guys. I'm a rookie ref and this is a good place to learn. Peace.
I see a lot of rookie/volunteer refs making the following call incorrectly. A1 ends his/her dribble. First foot down is the pivot foot, second foot comes down and is the foot that can move. After A1's second foot comes down he picks up his pivot foot. This is not a violation but is often called. The player can still legally pass or shoot.
EG


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1